Man On The Moon: The End Of Day

  • Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Sep 15, 2009
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 284

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisP.
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    This album is fantastic!I mean is dope!this alternative rap thing is hot stuff.I mean I prefer hardcore but this shit is different.Anyway the album has a lot of good songs like "Alive" and "My World".Also the singles are dope too.Althiugh few songs are a bit boring the whole thing is impresing.Good work Cudi!!
  2. JoshB
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Best Hip Hop Album of the year. The lyrical content, subject matter, production, and delivery are all a breath of fresh air for the genre.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    cudi's flow is a rare style now a days. The chances of finding a great artist with the nicest flow today is 1 in 1Trillion. Kid Cudi is one of the few artists who are going to bring Hip-hop to the Top Of the Food Chain
  4. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Honestly, I don't really understand how people can even consider this album to be "mainstream music". How many of the songs from this album have you heard playing on the radio (with the exception of Day n Nite)? None, and it's not because they suck either. With that said, this is easily one of my favorite albums of all time and one of the most genuine lyrically. Cudi may not be forHonestly, I don't really understand how people can even consider this album to be "mainstream music". How many of the songs from this album have you heard playing on the radio (with the exception of Day n Nite)? None, and it's not because they suck either. With that said, this is easily one of my favorite albums of all time and one of the most genuine lyrically. Cudi may not be for everybody, but this is a spectacular album. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best debut album i have ever heard, Kid Cudi and his team (Emile, Pain Pat & Dot Da Genius) can't do no wrong. If you though Kid Cudi's was just an one-hit wonder because of Day N' Nite you were wrong, most the songs on this album are much better.
  6. AlexG.
    May 31, 2010
    10
    This album is what hip hop should be about. He just talk about life and the struggles of it. More people should listen to this album. In my opinion it is one of the best hip hop albums of the decade. Hip Hop needs to veer away from gangster rap and there should be more rappers like Kid Cudi. Guys like Gucci Mane, Plies and Soulja Boy don't know how to rap or how to even write good This album is what hip hop should be about. He just talk about life and the struggles of it. More people should listen to this album. In my opinion it is one of the best hip hop albums of the decade. Hip Hop needs to veer away from gangster rap and there should be more rappers like Kid Cudi. Guys like Gucci Mane, Plies and Soulja Boy don't know how to rap or how to even write good lyrics. I could wrtie a better song. Expand
  7. RealTalk
    Sep 17, 2009
    3
    I loved A Kid Named Cudi but this album is a huge disappointment. Cudi's not a good rapper so he has to make up for it with catchy songs with high school-level woe is me lyrics.... which worked for the mixtape. But this album is so boring it's hard to tell songs apart. Repetitive, boring subject matter and corny narration by Common make this CD waaaay pretentious.
  8. MikeC
    May 2, 2010
    0
    Unoriginal, boring, leaves something to be desired.
  9. ErikP.
    Sep 19, 2009
    3
    For those of you out there that believe this is not just another mainstream album are sorely mistaken. This is pure, utter radio music that is meant for radio. If you think this music is deep you must not be listening to the correct tunes. All of you who rated this album with high esteem need to go to an Underground Hip Hop website and search all their artists. Listen to them one by one For those of you out there that believe this is not just another mainstream album are sorely mistaken. This is pure, utter radio music that is meant for radio. If you think this music is deep you must not be listening to the correct tunes. All of you who rated this album with high esteem need to go to an Underground Hip Hop website and search all their artists. Listen to them one by one and you will find people who really deserve a major album release. Kid Cudi is as mainstream as it gets. He's Lil Wayne with different icing. Get a clue! Expand
  10. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    My only issue with this masterpiece is Common's narrating. It's distracting and rather annoying. Also Common's segment in Make Her Say. I guess I just thought Common was useless and actually hurt the album. But otherwise everything about this album is amazing. It has hope, heart, love, happiness. It makes you see the light in this dark world.
  11. May 15, 2011
    5
    i was feeling skeptical about this album. but it wasnt horrible. i thought it had a few good songs on it. his rapping ability is weak. 5 out of 10 because it could have been better.
  12. OrianW.
    Jun 6, 2010
    10
    Cut the B.S, I have to start off by saying, if you dont have this CD go and pick up a copy, NOW!!! If not at least go on youtube and listen to the tracks on MOTM!! I know alot of people dont really consider Cudder a rapper, but in fact he is. Just not sure if he could be considered a lyricist like Nas or Rakim. Although their is no denying that he makes G.O.O.D music. My favorite track on Cut the B.S, I have to start off by saying, if you dont have this CD go and pick up a copy, NOW!!! If not at least go on youtube and listen to the tracks on MOTM!! I know alot of people dont really consider Cudder a rapper, but in fact he is. Just not sure if he could be considered a lyricist like Nas or Rakim. Although their is no denying that he makes G.O.O.D music. My favorite track on MOTM is SOLO DOLO, amazing song, it got even better when I actually brought the album cause the final studio version had more emotion, (Violins, etc). The replay value is there, but songs like Enter Galactic, Hyyer, etc. get boring. Alright didnt mean to sound like a first class groupie, but seriously go buy this album. Expand
  13. JonoJ.
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    He's produces a different kind of rap and thats wat is so exciting about him, this is a good album.
  14. Joel
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    Great experience, can be listened to multiple times, definitely a step in the right direction for hip hop. Sometimes I was wondering what he was going for with his voice. Still a great album.
  15. Twizzle
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best albums of 09. If you are a fan of hip hop you would know that this is different than most in this genre but that's what makes it such a great album. If you're into artists like Kanye West or any one similar with a futuristic sound or different than the usual, then I guarantee you will love Kid Cudi. If you read this, you can probably tell that i usually This is one of the best albums of 09. If you are a fan of hip hop you would know that this is different than most in this genre but that's what makes it such a great album. If you're into artists like Kanye West or any one similar with a futuristic sound or different than the usual, then I guarantee you will love Kid Cudi. If you read this, you can probably tell that i usually don't give reviews but this album is just that good. Just give it a listen. Expand
  16. dustinb.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Really a great album, especially for his first!!! anyone who says he is just a mainstream lil wayne type is sorely mistaken. cudi makes music that goes deeper than mainstream and anyone who claims he's not "hardcore" enough needs to realize that hip-hop is not about being hard. overall this album is one of the best in recent years in any genre.
  17. RodericR.
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    An incredible debut album, unique and powerful. This guy has a seriously good future ahead of him.
  18. AmosD
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Great album, basically everything good about kanye without any of the bad. The desicion to include Ratatat was pure genius. You can tell Cudi is actually a songwriter.
  19. DustinB
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    such a good cd! finally an upside for hip hop, instead of that soulja boy style crap that is labeled "hip-hop". the cd is a multi listen and it shows that hip-hop isn't dead.
  20. JustinM
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    What are these critics on? because he doesnt say the F word or how much he makes every 2 seconds its not a good album huh. This album is full of real lyrics and deep thoughts obviously too deep for the critics. This is new fresh and very good for a debut album. Cudi has a master piece on his hands this is one of the best Albums i have heard in a long time.
  21. tylere.
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    This album is the best i have heard this year and maybee even the best in years it is one of the only albums i can listen to the whole thing and not get bored i have literally already listened to the whole album almsot 100 times and i just put it on my mp3 last week....Amazing Kid cudi is much more talented and emotionally moving then drake lil wayne and jay-z, but not quite better than outkast!
  22. DevarreaGilchrist
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    This album truly is a classic, it's a breath of fresh air that the industry has needed.
  23. JesseH.
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    This album is an amazing debut for Kid Cudi. I have little to no complaints with the quality of the album. The lyrics are meaningful (albeit rather silly in "Make Her Say") and the music is incredible for modern rap music. He is surprisingly mature with his songwriting skills and lyricism. My only complaint is the overuse of singing. Some songs do not fit nicely with his voice at all, and This album is an amazing debut for Kid Cudi. I have little to no complaints with the quality of the album. The lyrics are meaningful (albeit rather silly in "Make Her Say") and the music is incredible for modern rap music. He is surprisingly mature with his songwriting skills and lyricism. My only complaint is the overuse of singing. Some songs do not fit nicely with his voice at all, and though they are great lyrically and musically, his vocals take away from them. A few songs have great vocal talent in him, but still there are two or three that I tend to skip. Regardless, this album is a buy for sure. Expand
  24. J-LL.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Incredible, the reason why I still buy CD's.
  25. MikeyJ.
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    One of the best rap albums in a while. I'm quite unsure as to how you can compare cudi to wayne, or call this cd mainstream. He doesn't rap about bitches and rims, instead its about true feelings and the everyday struggle of being a human being.
  26. GabrielT
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    Most mainstream rap these days is garbage comprised of stupid lyrics and generic beats. This album is filled with more meaningful lyrics and fresh beats. Highly recommended.
  27. E.J.d.
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    This isn't the typical mainstream, harcore, gangster, pop bottles, party-startin record that most radios now a days play. This is an album that speaks real everyday emotions that people can relate to. Not everybody enjoys the $100,000 rims and grills evoked in mainstream hip hop. Kid Cudi shows us real music through his emotions and embraces the lyricism concept that Hip Hop has been This isn't the typical mainstream, harcore, gangster, pop bottles, party-startin record that most radios now a days play. This is an album that speaks real everyday emotions that people can relate to. Not everybody enjoys the $100,000 rims and grills evoked in mainstream hip hop. Kid Cudi shows us real music through his emotions and embraces the lyricism concept that Hip Hop has been neglecting. This is something different because people can relate to it. This shits for real and well worth 15 bucks. Fuck the New York Times and Rolling Stone. They've been hypnotized by the piece of shit hip hop in mainstream today. Expand
  28. JayP
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    By far my favorite album this year. Just shows that critics aren't the best guides when looking into music or any other art genre. Lester Bangs hated Led Zeppelin and I hate Rush. To each his own.
  29. ManuelR.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Instant classic. gotta hear it to believe it. nothing like it. This is what hip-hop has been waiting for.
  30. DanA.
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    This album is an instant classic. The production is above and beyond, lyrics are great, and the presentation overall is just great. If it really remains with ridiculous Metacritic reviews like the terrible Rolling Stone and New York Times reviews holding it at a low metascore, then it will be sad. There is no reason albums like Tha Carter III should have high metascores but Kid This album is an instant classic. The production is above and beyond, lyrics are great, and the presentation overall is just great. If it really remains with ridiculous Metacritic reviews like the terrible Rolling Stone and New York Times reviews holding it at a low metascore, then it will be sad. There is no reason albums like Tha Carter III should have high metascores but Kid Cudi's album doesn't. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. This first official release is a soul searcher and may require more patience than your everyday debut. Still, the chilly, complicated Man on the Moon perfects the futuristic bleak-beat hip-hop Kanye purposed a year earlier, and rewards the listener with every tripped-out return.
  2. It’s spacey, adventurous, and ridiculously intriguing if only because it’s so different.
  3. Cudi turns out to be that rarest of rap phenomena: a hyped upstart who really does represent a promising new phase in the genre's evolution.