User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. stompiedj
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    perfect
  2. WaltM
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    Will Oldham performs some of his most pastorally seductive songs sung with the utmost of poignant fragility. "Hard Life" has remained my current favorite song for some 2 years now. Short and bittersweet...
  3. AndeeG
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    how ever, it is a really great album. great songs with a great voice!
  4. MathieuC
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Once Again, Pitchfork is incredibly wrong. This is a wonderful record, juste good songs, a warm sound, a touching voice and it's wonderfully recorded. You feel like your sitting next to Oldham singning you his song. One of the best disc in my collection.
  5. davidw
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    I can't stop playing this CD.I have never been that big of a fan of Oldham and any of his incarnations, so I hesitated buying this CD. I purchased it based on the strength of the review in Uncut and I am glad I did. This is the best of 2003 so far will definately end up on my to 10.
  6. beng
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    incredible. the most beautiful album i've ever heard, no questions asked.
  7. bretta
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Esential listening
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. A good album that finds Oldham retreating from the layered solemnity of his most recent releases in favor of a mood that is as intimate and delicate as it is bittersweet and biting.
  2. 80
    It doesn't matter whether we're spying through his windows when he's so clearly spying through ours, his peculiarly stilted narratives and ageless music fusing into universal images of loneliness. [Feb 2003, p.94]
  3. His most poignant and accessible work to date. [Feb 2003, p.96]