User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    As a big fan of Wale and Rick Ross, I was curious to how this album would stand out and how Meek Mill, Omarion and Stalley would hold their own. Fortunately none of the tracks are duds, but my biggest issue is none of them really stand out either. Power Circle and This thing of ours are my favourite tracks on the album (and probably the overall best as well). So if you like any of theAs a big fan of Wale and Rick Ross, I was curious to how this album would stand out and how Meek Mill, Omarion and Stalley would hold their own. Fortunately none of the tracks are duds, but my biggest issue is none of them really stand out either. Power Circle and This thing of ours are my favourite tracks on the album (and probably the overall best as well). So if you like any of the MMG artists, I would suggest you pick this up. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    What a classic. Finally Stalley gets to put his talents to the test. Stalley & Meek Mill were major contributors to the compilation. I was a little upset that Gunplay didnt get to be on the album alot after being on the label for 3 years. But overall the album was a classic. Looking forward for the third one.
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    MMG's work ethic is unparalleled with other crews in hip hop, consistently showcasing all members and letting their talent and pure passion reach us through lyrics and delivery.
    This collaborative effort presents quality, chemistry and dedication.
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    7
    Self Made Vol. 2 is a great album. Rozay, Meek Mill, and Wale were expected to deliver and they did just that. The other members of MMG did a good job as well, but Stalley and Omarion were overplayed. Many of these songs don't have radio sound and some of the tracks sound similar. This track is missing features from the likes of Drake, 2 Chainz, and Usher. This album is a good place holderSelf Made Vol. 2 is a great album. Rozay, Meek Mill, and Wale were expected to deliver and they did just that. The other members of MMG did a good job as well, but Stalley and Omarion were overplayed. Many of these songs don't have radio sound and some of the tracks sound similar. This track is missing features from the likes of Drake, 2 Chainz, and Usher. This album is a good place holder for the anticipated Ross and Meek albums. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    4
    I like to call this "Club" or "Car" or "Workout" music. This is nothing to SIT and have an easy listen. It just really caters to it's underground genre, but at the same time adds a tone that all the high school kids will like.
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    4
    I'm a fan of both Wale and Meek Mill, but this fell short big time for me. Best track is "Actin Up", but even there, the hook is awful and then French Montana turns in an awful guest appearance. This album is not worth anybody's time.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    This album has a song for every rap lover. there are different types of hip hop on this and even omarions singing. rick ross has proven that his artists are the hottest in the game right now!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    40
    The track ["Power Circle"] and the entire album seems to lose its air after he [Gunplay] makes his exit. [Aug 2012, p.59]
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    60
    In large part, this compilation is underwhelming--there are exceptions, but the creativity is lacking and, to some degree, that's surprising, considering some of the talent on the roster.
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Self Made 2 is an interesting mix of in-house and all-star, and another reason to take Ross the ring-leader seriously.