Memory Almost Full

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 163

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddW
    Aug 1, 2007
    1
    Geez, Paul, just how many hundreds of millions of dollars do you need? Is your divorce from Heather really that expensive that you have to totally whore yourself and align yourself with Starbucks? I know Mr. Child Molester is now selling Beatles' songs to keep baby's backsides clean, but hitching your star to a wagon like Starbucks? Armageddon is truly nigh. John Lennon was Geez, Paul, just how many hundreds of millions of dollars do you need? Is your divorce from Heather really that expensive that you have to totally whore yourself and align yourself with Starbucks? I know Mr. Child Molester is now selling Beatles' songs to keep baby's backsides clean, but hitching your star to a wagon like Starbucks? Armageddon is truly nigh. John Lennon was right when he said the only thing you did was yesterday. Expand
  2. RMaison
    Jun 16, 2007
    2
    I have a hard time with it. One of the reasons is the production or perhaps the mastering (where they squashed the life out of most all of the songs). "Chaos" was much better produced, remixed and mastered to my ears.
  3. NovakG
    Jun 11, 2007
    1
    Dear Dave,YouAreNotOnlyONE who feels,and HEARS,that Macca is just the shadow of his -previous- Genius.The words for his new songs are so banal,that it hurts!!!!He SHOULD NOT play new music anymore,even though he is still excelent live.Remember LIVE 8?
  4. PhilW
    Jun 14, 2007
    2
    I miss John Lennon SOOOO much. So does this album. The lyrics are so simple-minded they're painful to listen to, the music rehashes the worst of his previous post-Beatles stylings and his inconsistent, often reedy vocals wouldn't get him out of the local ballrooms on American Idol. This performance would be disappointing from a lesser talent but is mortifying, even insulting I miss John Lennon SOOOO much. So does this album. The lyrics are so simple-minded they're painful to listen to, the music rehashes the worst of his previous post-Beatles stylings and his inconsistent, often reedy vocals wouldn't get him out of the local ballrooms on American Idol. This performance would be disappointing from a lesser talent but is mortifying, even insulting coming from McCartney. Expand
  5. TomG.
    Jun 26, 2007
    1
    I grew up listening to the Beatles as a teenager, and I've enjoyed Paul's work since. This album, however, were it not produced by Paul, would never have made it to market. It will wilt and die and never receive air time, and our ears will be the better for it. Not just disapointing, it is horrible.
  6. ArtS
    Jun 4, 2007
    0
    Wow, what a bore
  7. DaveM
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Who Is Paying Off These Reviewers To Give "Memory Almost Full" Good Reviews? ... Starbucks I Guess. This Album Is Horriable! And It Pains Me To Say That, Having Been A Huge Macca Fan Since First Seeing Him On The Ed Sullivan Show ... Sir Paul Should Be Ashamed Of Himself For Putting out Such An Unlistenable CD. I gave It 3 Listenings Just To Be Fair ... I can't Be The Only One Who Who Is Paying Off These Reviewers To Give "Memory Almost Full" Good Reviews? ... Starbucks I Guess. This Album Is Horriable! And It Pains Me To Say That, Having Been A Huge Macca Fan Since First Seeing Him On The Ed Sullivan Show ... Sir Paul Should Be Ashamed Of Himself For Putting out Such An Unlistenable CD. I gave It 3 Listenings Just To Be Fair ... I can't Be The Only One Who Feels Like This. Expand
  8. MarisolG.
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    It's not just you, David M. I'm very disapointed indeed.
  9. AlbertF
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    If you're an old songwriter who wants to preach, do it with a catchy melody and a nice guitar riff. In recent releases, Neil Young said "Let's Impeach the President", but the song is so fun, even Bush fans could sing along. Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens) told us that "You can't bargain with the truth, for one day you're gonna die", but the melody is so beautiful, you forget If you're an old songwriter who wants to preach, do it with a catchy melody and a nice guitar riff. In recent releases, Neil Young said "Let's Impeach the President", but the song is so fun, even Bush fans could sing along. Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens) told us that "You can't bargain with the truth, for one day you're gonna die", but the melody is so beautiful, you forget you're being preached to. Unfortunately, Sir Paul's latest release has a lot of preaching and not much fun. His message is upbeat as usual - "I'm divorced and getting old, but I'm grateful for what I've got, and I'll just be happy." His melodies are uncharacteristically complex and difficult for the listener. His vocals, however, are as great as ever. He's still making an album every two years, so maybe he will return to straight rock on the next one. Expand
  10. Ryan
    Jun 7, 2007
    1
    Sorry, Paul is out of touch and style nowadays. I wanted to leave starbucks when they started playing his music in there. not only that, he got a bad attitude towards women, like his ex-wife. What a way to split up! calm down, idiot.
  11. JasonK.
    Jul 19, 2007
    2
    This is not nearly as good as Chaos and Creation. "Nod Your Head" is embarrassing, and there are worse. I wouldn't recommend.
  12. CookieS
    Aug 3, 2007
    2
    I have been a Beatles fan for 34 years and I'm sad to say that I thought that Memory Almost Full was complete drivel. I found the first listen almost painful and when I attempted the 2nd listen my daughter flashed me a look that said she thought that I had lost my mind and was ready for a retirement home. I couldn't get this CD out of the player fast enough... Sorry Paul, I love I have been a Beatles fan for 34 years and I'm sad to say that I thought that Memory Almost Full was complete drivel. I found the first listen almost painful and when I attempted the 2nd listen my daughter flashed me a look that said she thought that I had lost my mind and was ready for a retirement home. I couldn't get this CD out of the player fast enough... Sorry Paul, I love you guy, but surely you can do better than this tripe. Expand
  13. HeatherM.
    Jul 3, 2007
    0
    Vile
  14. pkreider
    Jun 18, 2007
    0
    do not waste your money
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Missing, thankfully, are the twee Paulie-isms that often insult our intelligence, making Memory Almost Full that rare thing, a modern-day Paul McCartney you can listen to without wincing.
  2. It's a way more focused album than usual.
  3. By McCartney's recent standards, the album justifies the pop eccentricity he pursues so imperturbably.