Mezmerize - System Of A Down
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 388 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 388

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2011
    10
    It is very hard to find people that work that well together to create one of the greatest bands in the world. Mezmerize is one high point of System of A Down. Most of their previous work is phenomenal. This album is flawless throughout every chord, beat, and word. This album has a bit of a new sound to it compared to Toxicity and Steal This Album!. From the beginning of the album with the calm "Soldier Side - Intro" leading into the intense, heavy "B.Y.O.B.", to the end with the depressing "Lost In Hollywood", and just about everything in between, this album is one of the many amazing albums this band has to offer. The best tracks are "B.Y.O.B.", "Revenga", "Cigaro", "Radio/Video", Violent Pornography", "Question!", and "Lost In Hollywood". Buy it now!!! Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    Mezmerize is pretty good, No denying it. I enjoyed most of the tracks off it but the tracks dont really have the originality that the songs from previous albums did and they sounded too much alike.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Behind TOXICITY, this is System of a Down's best album. A lot of the songs, as with the band's other work, are really, really cool, but the only ones truly worth listening to are "B.Y.O.B" and "Question!".
  4. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    I just didnt like this album. Its nothing like the System of old and IMO they changed for the worst. They are far too mainstream now and this is just a generic album.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    System of a Down suceeds in this album but drifts away from their meaningful songs and sing mostly about cruel sex and ruthless partying and drugs. It also lacks any songs that would be potential hits. Still its a fun album to listen to depending on who you are.
  6. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    A more melodic compared to previous album with some great songs like "lost in hollywood", "question" or "soldier side" which are more molodic sort-of prog.rock/alt.metal. Other good hard-rocking songs are "violent pornography" and "old-school hollywood". You will also find a few "stupid" tracks (in my opinion) like BYOB or the cocaine one but they have to please their all-time fans so no problem.
  7. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    Very diverse album with an anti-establishment theme to it. Every song tells a great story and melody-wise, it's the best metal album I've ever heard. Daron's shrilling vocals mixed with Serj's power deep vocals creates an amazing sound. You have to pick this album up. Highlights of this album include "B.Y.O.B.", "Radio/Video" and "Lost in Hollywood" and the low point of this album is probably "Old School Hollywood", but that song's not even bad. It's experimental, much like the rest of the album but it's still great. Expand
  8. May 29, 2012
    7
    Mezmerize is a good album by system of a down, it's about the same of hypnotize, well, it may be a little worse, because of the dreadful song called: Old school Hollywood, and even if it is taking the mick out of pop music (which I don't know if it is or not) it's still bad. Lost in Hollywood was great, but it wasn't good enough to be the last song of system of a down ever. But B.Y.O.B, Revenga, Question! and Sad statue were good, well they weren't just good, they were brilliant! But, I have to say, the two albums: Hypnotize and Mezmerize weren't as good as toxicity, which is the best system of a down album. Expand
  9. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Same as Hypnotize, BYOB,violent you know what,and This you know what makes me feel like I'm on this song are main reasons why I like this album.
  10. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Mezmerize features System Of a Down at its craziest but also its smartest. Every track is something very different from the last, a sign that the band has lost none of its creativity.
  11. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This is by far, SOADS best album. Every single track up until the hollwood section is a metal fans heaven. Of course the without the inclusion of B.Y.O.B and Cigaro this album would not have reached as far as it did, but as its stands this is pure brilliance
  12. May 10, 2013
    10
    I am unsure whether I could call this my favorite SOAD album that is a really tough question they are all good but this one was great. I don't really have a negative view of any songs on this album they are all really good. The songs range from soft (Lost in Hollywood) to loud (This Cocaine Makes Me Feel on Top of This Song) and they are all perfectly done. If you love SOAD you will love this I would encourage anyone else to listen too. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2010
    7
    Average album overall. Not SOAD's best album but still a heavy album. B.Y.O.B, Cigaro, Radio/Video and Violent Pornography really make the album worth listening to.
  14. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    To a surprising degree, Tankien and the crew prove that they still have yet the skill to craft another great album. The album starts with punches and lyrically-brilliant introduction songs, and as the album progresses, the band delved into more of an emotional, looming atmosphere. From the insanity from Cigaro to the emotional and thick atmospherical songs like Sad Statue and Lost in Hollywood, this is without a doubt the best offering from System, this is a must-buy for those looking for the different kind of music we can only expect out of System of a Down. If you're a fan of the series, you need not look any further that the purchase button on your iTunes store; this is a masterpieces of a rock album. Reccomended Songs:
    1) Sad Statue
    2) Question!
    3) Lost in Hollywood
    4) B.Y.O.B.
    5) Cigaro
    Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll be left wondering why other bands aren't so daring.
  2. Mezmerize doesn't fail to be unique.
  3. It's heavy and hooky. [20 May 2005, p.73]