Migrant - The Dear Hunter
Migrant Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced with producer Mike Watts, the fifth release for the indie rock band led by Casey Crescenzo is the first that is not a concept album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. While Migrant is Casey Crescenzo’s most accessible record ever, it’s also his most honest and real Dear Hunter LP yet.
  2. 80
    At times lushly orchestral and at others achingly stark, Migrant is the masterfully actualized first chapter in the true story of the Dear Hunter--the band. [May 2013, p.88]
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    Although thematic unity and incredibly elaborate composition is rarely bad, the most important element in popular music is superior songwriting, and Migrant is bursting with it.
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    What makes Migrant interesting is that it's finally giving him the opportunity to simply cut loose and write whatever songs come to mind, and though fans might miss the conceptual hooks of his past work, the album is solid enough to stand all on its own.
  5. 60
    The meandering, navel-gazing second half diminishes the succinct and undeniable power of the first.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    Migrant is a beautiful album that ebbs and flows with orchestral rhythm and tongue lashing lyrics. This was the first album I found of The Dear Hunter and I must say its the type of album that makes you want more instantly. This album can be frantic at times but in complete contrast it can also be a goodnight lullaby. I can't really say if fans of previous records will be fond of this album but if you are feeling the monotony of modern music and want something with passion and soul then maybe Migrant is an album you should right click up next on your playlist. Expand