Mind Over Matter - Young the Giant
Mind Over Matter Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Southern California indie rock band was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 83
    Singer Sameer Gadhia's bro sincerity and movie-villianish vocals make for liberating melodrama, even without the primal scream. [31 Jan/7 Feb 2014, p.104]
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Mind Over Matter has a fuller, brassier sound than this group’s debut, and especially emphasizes the guitars of Jacob Tilley and Eric Cannata.
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    74
    As with the self-titled release, Mind Over Matter front-loads its more accessible tunes.... Unfortunately, the album’s latter half is a little more hit and miss, with everything being competent enough in isolation, but arguably unengaging when amassed together.
  4. Sophomore albums always find bands trying too hard, struggling to live up to their magnum opus and Mind Over Matter has all the hallmarks of exactly that.
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    60
    When they nail the postmodern smash-up thing, it's explosive, inventive rock.... The flip side is tracks like the limp Tears for Fears rewrite "Camera."
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    60
    They've found a capable formula that will appeal to many, but some more personality would go a long way to seal the deal.
  7. 42
    Young the Giant are a technically proficient group who no doubt shred through these tracks during live performances, but the over-production is an impediment to enjoying the individual performances.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I wasnt a huge fan of YTG's first album. I loved Cough Syrup, My Body, and Apartment but that was about it. However this album is a great change. The band has refined their sound and every song on this album us wonderful. Anagram is my favorite. Not sure why the reviewers harp on them so much. This is one of my favorite albums ever made in my opinion and will be for a very long time. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    I was a big fan of young the Giant's first album, with its laid back sound meshing well with the energized powerful hits that were all over the radio and beer ads, and I am similarly enthralled with this addition to their catalogue. People seem to assume that the key to success and progress is a sound that changes album by album, but in this case I think that expanding on their original work was the right move. This album ebbs and flows well in terms of tempo and general feeling. From the fast and upbeat anagram onward into It's about time, the opening salvos of the album are confident and triumphant.
    Though Mind over matter has a cool sound and a few cool vocal moments, by this point the album borders on the repetitive, however they quickly remedy that by jumping into the slower, tranquil Firelight, which is a surprising and welcome development. The album is rounded out well by the ending tracks including one of my personal favorites, teachers. This song starts of sounding like a typical YtG offering, but becomes a seriously good, bombastic vocal rollercoaster with excellent backup instrumentals to keep it rolling. Generally an excellent 2nd album all things considered.
    Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Young The Giant's second album is really impressive. So often sophomore albums are extremely disappointing but in no way did YTG disappoint. They could have easily produced an album that is similar to their first but instead they chose to develop their sound while maintaining their original voice. It is a thoroughly enjoyable album from start to finish. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    I loved Young the Giants first album, it admittedly had its fair share of problems but it was solid rock,n roll; This album is the same case. I think they could have gone for a more raw live sound with less production and synth/polished guitars but nonetheless it was a Great album Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    This is a pretty impressive indie pop/rock album, and "It's About Time" will probably be one of my favorites songs of 2014. The lyrics have a decently interesting running theme & YTG feels a lot more full of attitude & energy than they did before. Unfortunately I do feel Mind Over Matter is held back by a track sequencing that puts the weaker tracks back to back & kills the momentum right in the middle. 77/100

    (To see my full review, look up "Spin It! Reviews" on YouTube.)
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    3
    Young The Giant's first album was good. Very good, at that. Their sound wasn't anything new, but it was still good rock n roll. Mind Over Matter is a different story. I got super excited when the singles for this album started coming out, but was quickly disappointed. I finally listened to the whole album when it came out and it was a huge let down. There was no musical or artistic development. They stripped away all the depth and texture that made their first album interesting and made it a sterile, lackluster project. They do have chops though, I'll give them that. The vocal range on the album is impressive and there are some complex guitar hooks here and there that make it interesting a points, but the overall artistry and songwriting is sub-par. I expected a lot more from a band that had massive potential to make a great sophomore album, but I guess the slump is real. Collapse