Mine Is Yours

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    On Mine Is Yours they take flight at last: the distinctive Willett is excellent throughout and the songs almost all snap and bite. [Feb. 2011, p. 114]
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    70
    Unlike Robbers and Cowards and Loyalty to Loyalty, the Kids have taken a completely different angle on their music writing, taking a similar road to that of Arcade Fire's The Suburbs by adding a slice of pop to their sound.
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    80
    Nathan Willett digs deep into fractured relationships for inspiration and the resultant openness, coupled with King's deft nurturing of Willett's soul-searching, has created the finest Cold War Kids album yet.
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    There's a give and take at work on Mine Is Yours, one that fans of their earlier work will either love or hate.
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    63
    Longtime fans are apt to be disappointed by the change in direction, which for sure renders the band less unique.
  6. Jan 27, 2011
    75
    On Mine Is Yours, everything is bigger. King's reverb-tinged production puts the focus on the band's surprisingly tender melodies and slow-burn rock arrangements; the result is 11 melodic, economical tracks that deliver huge hooks without sacrificing instrumental dexterity.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    82
    After uniting with Kings of Leon/Modest Mouse vet Jacquire King, the band has emerged with a set that's more inviting than its first but just as catchy.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    Awesome album! I LOVED Loyalty To Loyalty and Robbers & Cowards and I thought this one was just as amazing. I'm not sure why they're gettingAwesome album! I LOVED Loyalty To Loyalty and Robbers & Cowards and I thought this one was just as amazing. I'm not sure why they're getting such low reviews, but I couldn't care less. Music is purely subjective anyway. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    2
    What the hell happened?!?! I mean.......seriously, what the hell just happened?!?!? This can't be the Cold War Kids. This is the freakingWhat the hell happened?!?! I mean.......seriously, what the hell just happened?!?!? This can't be the Cold War Kids. This is the freaking Kings of Leon with a better singer. Awful. Pantently, mesmerizingly, stupefyingly awful. Someone ship this producer off to the south Pacific or something. He's ruining perfectly good bands. Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    This was the most anticipated album to start 2011 and it didn't disappoint me at all. I wouldn't say that this album is necessarily perfect,This was the most anticipated album to start 2011 and it didn't disappoint me at all. I wouldn't say that this album is necessarily perfect, but they have polished their angst on this record. It is very reminiscent of their previous albums and that's exactly what I was looking for. If you love the Cold War Kids, I'm sure you'll love this album. Full Review »