Mine Is Yours

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    60
    For better or worse, this album is polished and mature -- words that never would have described Cold War Kids' music before.
  2. 50
    The lack of thematic diversity strikes another blow. Certainly, songs about being unhappy with relationships are nothing unusual. However, the ability to write anything meaningful or refreshing about the subject is quickly exhausted on Mine Is Yours.
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    50
    Mine Is Yours occupies an unremarkable middle ground somewhere between their bluesy, abrasive tendencies and the kind of staidly proficient indie-rock that surely wasn't part of the plan to begin with.
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    82
    After uniting with Kings of Leon/Modest Mouse vet Jacquire King, the band has emerged with a set that's more inviting than its first but just as catchy.
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    80
    Nathan Willett digs deep into fractured relationships for inspiration and the resultant openness, coupled with King's deft nurturing of Willett's soul-searching, has created the finest Cold War Kids album yet.
  6. 40
    Essentially, throughout the course of Mine is Yours, the band trades every characteristic that made them so charismatic for its commercial counterpart.
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    70
    Unlike Robbers and Cowards and Loyalty to Loyalty, the Kids have taken a completely different angle on their music writing, taking a similar road to that of Arcade Fire's The Suburbs by adding a slice of pop to their sound.
  8. Jan 25, 2011
    63
    Longtime fans are apt to be disappointed by the change in direction, which for sure renders the band less unique.
  9. Mojo
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    Former soul-punks return with rough edges removed and hearts on sleeves. [Feb. 2011, p. 99]
  10. 30
    Mine Is Yours? You can keep it, thanks.
  11. Jan 26, 2011
    39
    More streamlined than their older music, Mine Is Yours' relative simplicity allows its songs to more transparently deal with love lost and found.
  12. Feb 1, 2011
    40
    Willett pledges his love in the face of obstacles in the same way that the guitars get loud in a Nickelback song. It passes for emotion in the absence of anything spontaneous or unrehearsed.
  13. Q Magazine
    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    On Mine Is Yours they take flight at last: the distinctive Willett is excellent throughout and the songs almost all snap and bite. [Feb. 2011, p. 114]
  14. Jan 25, 2011
    50
    On their third album, the Cali quartet swing for the fences - it's as if CWK, once a sharp band with retro leanings, have been gorging on Springsteen and Kings of Leon.
  15. Jan 20, 2011
    40
    Having set the bar incredibly high with their earlier work, Cold War Kids falls prey to the expectations game; beyond its forgettable mediocrity, Mine Is Yours is also a crushing disappointment.
  16. Jan 26, 2011
    50
    A couple of songs succeed on their own terms, like "Finally Begin"--destined for a rom-com trailer--but most float unmemorably down the highway of not-quite-modern rock.
  17. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    There's a give and take at work on Mine Is Yours, one that fans of their earlier work will either love or hate.
  18. Feb 1, 2011
    33
    For the most part, Mine Is Yours is the bland sound of a band trading identity for ambition.
  19. Jan 27, 2011
    75
    On Mine Is Yours, everything is bigger. King's reverb-tinged production puts the focus on the band's surprisingly tender melodies and slow-burn rock arrangements; the result is 11 melodic, economical tracks that deliver huge hooks without sacrificing instrumental dexterity.
  20. Uncut
    Jan 24, 2011
    60
    Mine Is Yours is the sound of a band itching to make their breakthrough. [Feb 2011, p.81]
  21. Under The Radar
    Jan 27, 2011
    40
    Cold War Kids seem to be aiming for something more akin to Kings of Leon, and the songs bear this out. [Year End 2010, p.69]
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    Awesome album! I LOVED Loyalty To Loyalty and Robbers & Cowards and I thought this one was just as amazing. I'm not sure why they're gettingAwesome album! I LOVED Loyalty To Loyalty and Robbers & Cowards and I thought this one was just as amazing. I'm not sure why they're getting such low reviews, but I couldn't care less. Music is purely subjective anyway. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    2
    What the hell happened?!?! I mean.......seriously, what the hell just happened?!?!? This can't be the Cold War Kids. This is the freakingWhat the hell happened?!?! I mean.......seriously, what the hell just happened?!?!? This can't be the Cold War Kids. This is the freaking Kings of Leon with a better singer. Awful. Pantently, mesmerizingly, stupefyingly awful. Someone ship this producer off to the south Pacific or something. He's ruining perfectly good bands. Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    This was the most anticipated album to start 2011 and it didn't disappoint me at all. I wouldn't say that this album is necessarily perfect,This was the most anticipated album to start 2011 and it didn't disappoint me at all. I wouldn't say that this album is necessarily perfect, but they have polished their angst on this record. It is very reminiscent of their previous albums and that's exactly what I was looking for. If you love the Cold War Kids, I'm sure you'll love this album. Full Review »