Mirage Rock - Band of Horses
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    6
    Don Henley does Don Henley better than Bidwell. And if you want to listen to The Band you will listen to The Band. A Band of Horses album should be A Band of Horses album. So.... is it? Sadly, Mirage Rock confirms the bump in the road of promise that Infinite Arms hinted at. A first listen of "Slow Cruel Hands of Time" sums up the lackadaisical roller coaster ride that Mirage Rock never quite takes you on. Lovely acoustics that force you to anticipate the soaring melodies and vocal delivery of "Funeral" and "Great Salt Lakes" (and maybe even "Is There A Ghost") that sadly never come. The first 30 seconds amounts to the last 30 seconds, and you leave the theme park feeling dissapointed. Will this album find its way into your weekly rotation? Probably. Will it become a grower that you find yourself going back to even though you aren't happy and/or comfortable with it? Maybe. All in all, this band is capable of so much more. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    2
    The magic was completely gone from the lackluster, uninspired mess of an album. From the overly-poppy and bland Knock Knock, to the droning and painful Shut-In Tourist, it just felt like they stopped trying on this album. The atmospheric rock landscape Band of Horses created in their debut album Everything All The Time, has been fading more with each successive release, but with this latest offering, it just fell completely off the table. If you're into boring, buy this album. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    The new record from indie rockers Band of Horses 'Mirage Rock' has its moments, it has a unique change of sound to it from their folksy roots to a more power pop structure. This record and most of the song just end up being a disappointment.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    Band of horses has never ceases to impress me. Infinite Arms represented a change in song writing as well as a developmental period in their career. I am glad to see they are continuing to experiment, including some experimental vocals that are quite successful. In the end this album has highs and lows. The highs, such as Knock Knock, Everything's Gunna Be Undone, and Slow Cruel Hands of Time outweigh the lows, the lyrics. Unfortunately, lyrically this album is a step in the wrong direction. Certain lyrics elicit a face palm, however the musically this album is quite good. Do not expect to hear the same style of music as their 1st two albums, you will not find it. However, with an open-mind and a couple of listens it is apparent that Mirage Rock is a welcome addition to the Band of Horses collection. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This album is a treasure. It is one of the better albums that I have heard in quite a while. Each song is a distinctive story in own right but even more impressive as a body of work. The songs are lush and rich with attention to detail and song structure. At points you feel as if Neil Young is being channeled and at others, America or CSN or Bob Dylan even. The vocals are dead-on perfect. Ben Bridwell's voice (as well as Robin Peringer) are fine tuned at this point in their respective careers and the harmonies are... flat-out... awesome. I highly, highly recommend this album not just to Band of Horses fans, as they will undoubtedly find it great, but to music fans in general. From start to finish, it's gold. In particular, listen to Knock. Knock, Heartbreak on the 101, Slow Cruel Hands of Time, Dumpster World. Plus, if you appreciate drums - which you should as they are the most important instrument in the band (sorry to the rest but it's the truth), Sera Cahoone kicks the sh!t out of the songs. Ass-kicking good. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    Well, this band has changed and continues to change, but I LOVE every step of their growth. The funny thing about this album though, is that the title track (and all the best stuff) is on the bonus disc, which you can only get with the deluxe version. So I don't think Columbia did the band a great service by issuing the album this way. Anyway, LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT. For all you alt. freaks, well too bad. Go listen to some old angry obtuse noise stuff. This is real. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed this album, though i can see where some of the fans and critics are coming from. I don't think it deserves to be panned, but it definitely isnt there very best work. Still, a great band.
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    To keep it short, this is one giant turd of an album. A totally unlistenable mish-mash of cheese, twang and dopey, uninspired lyrics (see "Dumpster World"). Band of Horses' music has been on a sharp decline since the departure of Mat Brooke and I think "Mirage Rock" is finally rock bottom.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    Ben Bridwell's voice remains a beguiling instrument in both high and low registers, and there are moments of stark beauty.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    30
    Fourth album Mirage Rock is a bungled mess of poor production and half-assed songwriting.
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    The songs work as robust individuals, as well as in the dynamic context of the album's sequencing; up-tempo rockers connect with sparse 'n' sullen twangers. [No.91, p.53]