Mole City

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Oct 1, 2013
    60
    Over 24 songs they constantly tremble on the brink of collapse yet they also manage to turn in such laser-guided songs as You Can Stay But You Gotta Go and Double Deuce. [Oct 2013, p.96]
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    60
    Quasi are more turbulent in spirit, especially here on Mole City, a wayward, asymmetrical double album that sees them returning to the two-piece format after a period with Jicks bassist Joanna Bolme.
  3. 60
    At its best, it’s vintage Quasi.... But at its worst, you find yourself checking the tracklist to see just how much more of the record is left.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    A double album of prickly rock-outs, pugilistic odes, and utterly eerie ambient entr’actes bridging an anthology of lyricism that shunts your earbud-plugged head toward the mirror to take a good long look (and listen).
  5. Dec 4, 2013
    60
    Mole City is effective and enjoyable on several levels. What's missing in most tracks is some sizable degree of tension, something not so much applauded as internalized. [Nov-Dec 2013, p.97]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    4
    Old-fashioned rock music. I would have liked that album if it was released 8 or 9 years ago. I was into that kind of music back then. Maybe inOld-fashioned rock music. I would have liked that album if it was released 8 or 9 years ago. I was into that kind of music back then. Maybe in the future i'll like it more. But now, it's just okay. It didn't catch my attention or imagination in any kind of way. It wasn't exciting enough. Full Review »