Mondo

  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2012
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. May 16, 2012
    60
    Mondo serves as much as an introduction to a promising new as it does a reminder of a major producing talent.
  2. May 9, 2012
    60
    Mondo is that rare case of judge by cover, or what you see is exactly what you get.
  3. May 7, 2012
    60
    It's unclear if the sentiments are intended as poignant or as punch lines. But on a set wired with this much sonic wit, the sincerity question may be moot.
  4. May 4, 2012
    60
    It only fails in that its broad pallete means when Mondo is good, it can be very good. When it fails to hit the mark however, it's pretty average fare.
  5. May 4, 2012
    46
    A cautionary tale of what happens when a "hit record" forgets to actually include hits.
  6. Q Magazine
    May 4, 2012
    40
    A lot of the songs are too eager to please... when they stop trying too hard - like on the woozy, out of phase Holes - they create something far odder and infinitely more interesting. [May 2012, p.96]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 22, 2015
    9
    I must say that after coming back to this album after a good year or two, it still has the energy and catchiness that makes me smile. It's aI must say that after coming back to this album after a good year or two, it still has the energy and catchiness that makes me smile. It's a shame that critics rate it not so well. I mean, this album really deserves to be named one of the best made indie pop releases in the 10's to date. Perfectly produced, delicate yet exuberant. Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Great album that you will listen to over and over. Pretty much all of the songs are awesome, save for maybe American Daydream. I really do notGreat album that you will listen to over and over. Pretty much all of the songs are awesome, save for maybe American Daydream. I really do not feel that song at all. Full Review »