Mosquito - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Mosquito Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the New York rock trio features production from Nick Launay, James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem, and Dave Sitek of TV On The Radio.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. 91
    They have crafted a sound that is new for them and unique in its context, but that falls neatly into what we have come to expect from a trio whose power and creativity runs consistently unchecked.
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    In the rural wasteland of southwestern Texas, producers Dave Sitek (of TV On The Radio fame) and Nick Launay brought life to an album that's challenging and conceptual, yet also playful and raunchy.
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    As much as it recaptures some of their buccaneering early spirit, it also shows off some explosive new tricks too. [May 2013, p.108]
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    Ultimately, Mosquito sees the band reenergised, trying new things and, generally, succeeding.
  5. They’re still capable of brilliance (particularly on the opening and closing tracks), but too much of Mosquito is bogged down by tongue-in-cheek frivolity.
  6. 70
    Those looking for a cool album to throw on as invigorating background music will be delighted. Those who want a little more substance with the style should cherry-pick a few chosen tracks which spotlight why Yeah Yeah Yeahs still impress a decade down the road.
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    The Yeahs’ curiosity ultimately got the better of them, and what we’re left with is an album that bears a lot of attributes with the creature it’s named after: it doesn’t follow a set path, makes a lot of noise in your ears, but its ultimately something you’ll want to swat away and get rid of because of just how badly it annoys you.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    I don't know what happened to people ears and taste as the don't appreciate the great talent of yeah yeah yeahs and run like idiots behind music of bieber and gaga shame on you people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    This is a gem that's criminally underrated.
  3. Apr 20, 2013
    A different sound than their previous albums, i don't see a radio/tv hit song in this album but there are some great songs such as Under the Earth, Subway, Despair that will get into you. Nice album cover as well. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    I love the yeah yeah yeahs but this isn't thier best album.... This album is very avereage from them. The songs on the album are okay and it doesn't draw me in like the sings on the last three albums. I been waiting for yeah yeah yeahs to come out for years now........ I'm not upset with the album,.....or I'm not super excited about having the album, Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs really tried to get everyone excited for this new album. I was very excited. After seeing that strange and somewhat disturbing album cover, I knew the album would be quite interesting. It wasn't quite what I had expected. It was much more boring than I thought. Even with the collaborations in production with James Murphy and the guy from TV on the Radio, the album falls short for me. Not to say that the album sucks, but I just wanted a little bit more. The highlights are: "Sacrilege". Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    After hearing their amazing lead single, Sacrilege, with its rousing chorus and gospel choir, this album would be onto a winner. Unfortunately, it seems to go a bit downhill after the great opening. Tracks like Subway and Always are too boring and These Paths consisted of silly background effects that ruined the song. But songs like Mosquito, Slave, Area 52 and Buried Alive make up for that with their punchy tunes and dark tones. I have to say, I expected something a bit more uptemp and anthemic considering the title, cover art and lead single. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2013
    Pretty boring. The magic contained in their previous 3 masterpieces is gone. I like bands who change their sound with every new release, just like they did on their previous releases, but this one, was a pretty boring change. I almost fall sleep while listening to this. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews