Mosquito

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    60
    Maybe it’s a struggle to really get your teeth into Mosquito because of the track listing; the three song dry patch after Mosquito is a huge problem considering the ease these days of being able to find something more interesting to listen to.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    Mosquito may conjure a similar frenzy to the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' previous three albums, but it paints a disjointed picture of the band's turbulent history, on an already messy canvass
  3. 60
    The payoffs don’t always resonate with the pineal, which should be the one thing worth counting on from the band.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    The problem is, for a band whose name echoes with the affirmative, none of this feels like a definitive lunge towards some loftier height, either artistic or commercial.
  5. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    Mosquito is not without highlights, but it requires some patience to unearth them, because when this record is bad, it's loudly, brazenly bad.
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    60
    Divided between these sorts of small successes and outright failures, Mosquito is nowhere near a coherent album, which at this stage in the band's career feels like a refreshing return to form.
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    60
    So, all in all: not a bad album, but most of the time it’s more harmless midge than lethal mosquito.
  8. Mojo
    Apr 9, 2013
    60
    It feels like a reaction to the concise, clear-headed It's Blitz; wild-eyed hoopla, in that spontaneous, occasionally brilliant, occasionally patchy kind of way. [May 2013, p.90]
  9. 40
    With the experiments being so hit and miss you’re left looking for familiar thrills, but even when delivering these, the band sound so much like there are motions to be gone through that you just aren’t inclined to feel engaged.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I don't know what happened to people ears and taste as the don't appreciate the great talent of yeah yeah yeahs and run like idiots behindI don't know what happened to people ears and taste as the don't appreciate the great talent of yeah yeah yeahs and run like idiots behind music of bieber and gaga shame on you people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    6
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs really tried to get everyone excited for this new album. I was very excited. After seeing that strange and somewhat disturbingYeah Yeah Yeahs really tried to get everyone excited for this new album. I was very excited. After seeing that strange and somewhat disturbing album cover, I knew the album would be quite interesting. It wasn't quite what I had expected. It was much more boring than I thought. Even with the collaborations in production with James Murphy and the guy from TV on the Radio, the album falls short for me. Not to say that the album sucks, but I just wanted a little bit more. The highlights are: "Sacrilege". Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This is a gem that's criminally underrated.This is a gem that's criminally underrated.
    ,,,,,,,,..............................................................................................................
    Full Review »