Move Like This - The Cars
Move Like This Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After ending a 22-year hiatus in 2010, the legendary rock band returns on this reunion album, featuring their familiar mix of psychedelic pop and new wave.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 83
    The reunited new-wave icons don't really enchance their legend much on their first album in 24 years -- nor do they disgrace it with such clipped, hook-heavy tunes as "Blue Tip" and the driving "Keep On Knocking." [13 May 2011, p. 63]
  2. May 13, 2011
    They have come remarkably close to achieving the contoured crispness and in-your-face immediacy of their greatest achievement. [Jun 2011, p.79]
  3. 70
    Move Like This is indistinguishably a Cars album. Not since their breakup in '88 has anyone sounded remotely close.
  4. 60
    For a band that many hoped might come roaring back from Where Are They Now? purgatory with engines in overdrive, this is bound to be a letdown.
  5. Jun 7, 2011
    Not here the gliding elegance of Drive, but an almost self-conscious rewrite of that brilliant debut's mechanical pop rock. [July 2011, p. 106]
  6. May 20, 2011
    Move Like This doesn't so much rebuild the Cars' old engine as take the classic model for a cruise in the country.
  7. May 3, 2011
    Out of retirement -- and on to the hard shoulder. [June 2011, p. 93]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    The latest from The cars fails to disappoint, it's terrific!

    So many of the so-called professional reviewers giving this album less than an
    8 were not even born when this band was in their prime that the age bias is obvious. It's notable that none of the art in the packaging shows current photos of the band as an obvious attempt to avoid new fans knowing that these guys could be their grandparents. Does it matter? Of course not.

    As far as the music goes, it is clearly a testament to the staying power of the new wave pop The Cars pioneered back in the late 70's and early 80's. Not unlike any other style of music like Rap or Country, if you don't care for this style, you won't like the music.

    As a fan who first loved The Cars back when they debuted, I can say that this album is more than just a nostalgia trip and is worth a listen. The beats and melodies are tight, the lyrics just as obtuse and simplistic as ever - that's a good thing. Just don't look for any mindless, insulting odes to ho's and bottles of the latest flavored spirit here.

    I won't give you a song by song rundown, just listen to the record.
  2. May 15, 2011
    I was very impressed with this album. I've always been a casual Cars fan and picked up this album hoping for a couple good tunes. I came away enjoying the whole album experience very much though. This album is classic Cars and a fun listen the whole way through. The album kicks off with the great "Blue Tip" and then calms down for the excellent "Too Late". "Keep on Knocking" is a great rock and roll track with a very catchy chorus. "Sad Song" could easily fit on Candy-O and is probably the best song on the album. "Take Another Look" and "It's Only" flesh out the album strong before the underwhelming and probably weakest song on the album "Hits Me" finishes it up. Overall a great record for Cars fans and rock music fans alike. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    Very relieved to say this album doesn't rely on 'name' or past successes. The songs on here are quite good and the album holds up on it's own. Nice job fellas and welcome back! Having said that, the one thing I'm a bit disappointed is I was expecting to consider this the 'album without Ben'. Instead it's the 'album without Elliot'. Very sad about that, as he was always my favorite ingredient in the Cars songs. He has solos on Keep on Knocking and one 'cough and you'll miss it' solo on Hits Me. That's it. Not nearly enough for a talented player of his calibur. But, still this is a great record. And unlike some other long awaited releases I've purchased, this is one I'll actually be listening to a lot. Expand