User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LouisK
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    This is the kind of album you will listen for months without ever getting bored of. It's complete, simple but melodically innovative; their most accomplished work yet.
  2. yapyap
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    Very well done.
  3. Justin
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    Great album, probably the best since Young Team but the two can't really be compared. Mogwai have evolved a lot, but this album is consistent and appropriately heavy. Anyone who likes post-rock or instrumental indie should pick it up.
  4. aland
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    sublime
  5. rpmacpherson
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    the critiques of this album take two forms: either it's too unlike the bombastic, longwinded early albums or too similar to their prettier albeit tamer later work. i happen to think it mixes and refines the best of both eras all the while offering a few big surprises (tracks 2-4). if any band other than mogwai made this album, these nostalgic critics would absolutely be fawning over the critiques of this album take two forms: either it's too unlike the bombastic, longwinded early albums or too similar to their prettier albeit tamer later work. i happen to think it mixes and refines the best of both eras all the while offering a few big surprises (tracks 2-4). if any band other than mogwai made this album, these nostalgic critics would absolutely be fawning over it. fans of their entire catalog will likely be pleased, and i think some new ones will be won over. BTW, i saw them live last week and they rocked my skin off. Expand
  6. BrianR
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    This album is the future.
  7. CarlS
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    all you folks who are disappointed in this album and don't think it lives up to their other stuff are wrong, completely and utterly wrong. This album is damn near perfect, and contains some of Mogwai's finest work. I mean how the hell can you not get amped up by Glasgow Mega-Snake? and how can Friend of the Night not give you shivers during the piano parts? Travel is Dangerous? all you folks who are disappointed in this album and don't think it lives up to their other stuff are wrong, completely and utterly wrong. This album is damn near perfect, and contains some of Mogwai's finest work. I mean how the hell can you not get amped up by Glasgow Mega-Snake? and how can Friend of the Night not give you shivers during the piano parts? Travel is Dangerous? Folk Death 95? both awesome tracks. Those of you who didn't like this album are seriously missing out. Expand
  8. OttoZ
    Oct 21, 2006
    9
    Hypnotic and interesting, artful and always cool.
  9. PhilBeast
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    C'mon what else is out there that is a patch on this. Maybe not a masterpiece, but you've got to compare with the competition....
  10. AlwaysWinning
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    Sorry [Anonymous] but Mogwai are hardly post rock. Did someone tell you they were post rock and did you believe them. Anyway, great album, but I prefer Happy Songs.
  11. Simon
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Mogwai have ditched those build-ups that we're all used to hearing from them, for a more straigh-up-no-noise type noise that works a treat. Songs like 'Auto Rock' and 'Friend of the Night' are Mogwai at their best. There's still that viscereal sound that attacks your ears, it's just hits you quicker than expected, because of the shortness of the songs. Mogwai have ditched those build-ups that we're all used to hearing from them, for a more straigh-up-no-noise type noise that works a treat. Songs like 'Auto Rock' and 'Friend of the Night' are Mogwai at their best. There's still that viscereal sound that attacks your ears, it's just hits you quicker than expected, because of the shortness of the songs. Amazing album. Album of the year thus far. Expand
  12. TylerT
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    Among their best albums, i would reccomend listening to it front to back rather than picking songs out... It, however, is no young team or Rock action.
  13. AlexS
    Mar 18, 2006
    9
    Mogwai's best, but still lacks something.
  14. MickH
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    2006 is probably the year with the best CD releases for a long time! Mr. Beast is probably the best of the best!
  15. May 13, 2011
    9
    Very consistent and fun album. They're really showing off their strengths as a band going into different styles of music.This is essentially them making a fluid pop album. There is a weak link or two in the 2nd half of the record but overall an above average release.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. A more straightforward affair than previous works, and as such suffers from predictability.
  2. Ten years after they first assaulted us, Mogwai remain as vital as ever.
  3. If you like Mogwai for the sounds they make, for their instrumental dynamic and ebbing/flowing moodiness, you'll probably like Mr Beast - there's certainly little to object to. But if you love Mogwai... perhaps Mr Beast isn't for you.