Mr. Hollywood, Jr. 1947

  • Record Label: Spin Art
  • Release Date: Aug 2, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RandyC
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    May take a few listens to get one's head around some of the sophistocated rhyme schemes and the period theme, but Penn's typically brilliant melodic structure and hooky chord patterns captivate relatively quickly. Fascinating imagery and meticulous production makes it more than just another example of great Beatlesque pop, but it's that, too! Another masterpiece of May take a few listens to get one's head around some of the sophistocated rhyme schemes and the period theme, but Penn's typically brilliant melodic structure and hooky chord patterns captivate relatively quickly. Fascinating imagery and meticulous production makes it more than just another example of great Beatlesque pop, but it's that, too! Another masterpiece of "literate, thinking person's pop" from one of the leaders of that sub-genre; easily one of the top 5 albums of 2005. Expand
  2. MichaelA
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    This is easily Michael Penn's most "difficult" album. But it could also prove to be his most rewarding. I love this album more each time I spin it. The two halves are equally stunning, and when I'm listening to one, I can't wait to get to the other. The production and mixing is also varied, interesting, and unique as far as singer-songwriter albums go. Don't fret about This is easily Michael Penn's most "difficult" album. But it could also prove to be his most rewarding. I love this album more each time I spin it. The two halves are equally stunning, and when I'm listening to one, I can't wait to get to the other. The production and mixing is also varied, interesting, and unique as far as singer-songwriter albums go. Don't fret about the "concept album" tag, either; the beauty of Michael Penn is that the song means something no matter how deeply you take the wordplay. Killer melodies, great lyrics... Michael Penn is an underappreciated treasure and Mr. Hollywood, Jr., 1947 shows why. Expand
  3. meg
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    Another masterpiece from one of the best singer-songwriters around.
  4. DennisK
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Fantastic songs, beutiful instrumentation. My one knock on this disc is that I think Michael would benefit from an outside producer (to help with maybe some sonic diversity, as well as the overall mix & mastering). That's really being nitpicky though, as this is an incredible album, both lyrically and musically.
  5. KellyS
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    fantastic
  6. JanaL
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Best Yet.
  7. SpencerL
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Masterwork from one of the best Power Pop artists around.
  8. MikeC
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Michael Penn views the year 1947 as a turning point in modern history. A Google search of the year and some of the album titles will attest to this. Consequently, his obsession with this particular year has led to this deliciously melodic album that improves with each and every listen. There is even a postscript song at the end to whet our appetite for the next release! Another milestone Michael Penn views the year 1947 as a turning point in modern history. A Google search of the year and some of the album titles will attest to this. Consequently, his obsession with this particular year has led to this deliciously melodic album that improves with each and every listen. There is even a postscript song at the end to whet our appetite for the next release! Another milestone for one of America's great singer/songwriters. Expand
  9. CindyG
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    After nearly two months of repeated listenings, this album continues to reveal itself to me. MHJ 1947 is one of the most finely crafted pop albums of the year. And it's pretty darn hooky too.
  10. AdamW
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Layers upon layers of both sound and meaning yield rewards even after repeated listenings. The "1947 concept album" stuff has been overblown. You don't have to be a history buff to enjoy melodic songcraft with an intelligent edge.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Penn’s most unified sounding record.
  2. When it works, like on the rousing, sentimental opener "Walter Reed," "On Automatic" and "Mary Lynn," Penn knocks the ball into the bleachers, but there's an over-flow of mid-tempo pieces about halfway through that bring the record to a standstill.
  3. Blender
    80
    Happily, this structure is as mercifully loose as Penn's melodies are tight. [Aug 2005, p.113]