User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    I don't want to sound like a total pedant, but Ian Cohen has bashed out this sort of "review" before (his hatchet-job of FOTL comes to mind), so just ignore his opinion when it oozes onto this site. Mumps, etc itself though - bloody great. Lyrically engaging, musically accomplished and brilliantly sequenced, I find it to be a more than worthy addition to the Why? catalogue.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    This album kills it. I really kind of expected this album to be the sound we'd hear after Alopecia. Definitely one of the most listenable Why? albums for me. Everyone is doing their thing so well, and there are so many fun and surprising moments. Nice one.
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    Wait until the reissue in 10 years time and pitchfork will give it a 10 out of 10.
    You can't take pitchfork seriously.
    Their score for this album is just a troll review to get attention.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    6
    The first tracks were more or less forgettable, regrettably, but I did enjoy the bit of spunk in Johnathan's Hope, Strawberries and Sod in the Seed, though not enough for more than five or six listens. Most of the choruses, much like many of the songs, on this album sound pretty strained or are simply not that good, especially when they try to sound catchy. Despite all this, I reallyThe first tracks were more or less forgettable, regrettably, but I did enjoy the bit of spunk in Johnathan's Hope, Strawberries and Sod in the Seed, though not enough for more than five or six listens. Most of the choruses, much like many of the songs, on this album sound pretty strained or are simply not that good, especially when they try to sound catchy. Despite all this, I really enjoyed of the second half of the album, except for Thirst which I thought was lyrically bad and, once again, had a bad chorus. Kevin's Cancer and Distance both sound like what the first half of the album could have been and should have been; more refined, sharper instrumentals and overall better production. Finally, I LOVED the closing three tracks on this album Bitter Thoughts, Paper Hearts, and As A Card all sounded like Elephant Eyelash grade hip-hop with that dark touch that I loved in Alopecia. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Give this album a chance, the Pitchfork review doesn't do this album justice. This album was what I wanted to hear after "Alopecia". It isn't quite as cohesive as the previous two albums, but the organic, multi-layered sound will keep you captivated. Give it a chance.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I have loved WHY? for 5 years and find all of their records equally incredible. The lyrics, the production, and the instrumentation make the songs sound like nothing else that is being released today. Each record creates its own genre from elements of hip hop, rock, pop, folk, and experimentation that keeps an active listener wanting more. After following the evolution fromI have loved WHY? for 5 years and find all of their records equally incredible. The lyrics, the production, and the instrumentation make the songs sound like nothing else that is being released today. Each record creates its own genre from elements of hip hop, rock, pop, folk, and experimentation that keeps an active listener wanting more. After following the evolution from Oaklandazulasylum to Elephant Eyelash and from Alopecia to Eskimo Snow, this new record sounds like everything an avid WHY? fan could hope for. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    40
    It's a process, not a product--frustratingly inarticulate when it matters most.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    90
    Wolf is as honest and, in a greater sense, as generous a songwriter as we have, and Mumps, Etc. may be his finest gift yet.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    37
    Lifeless and boring.