Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. 75
    The effortlessly supple brand of bar-stool blues dances equally well with the soul-drenched hip-shaker ''Out Go the Lights'' and the punked-up juggernaut ''Street Jesus.'
  2. 70
    Dimension delivers because of Joe Perry.
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Aerosmith returning to the sound and fury of its '70s halcyon days is a welcome time warp.
  4. 70
    [On Music] the band aggressively reclaims every last one of its trademarks through the decades.
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    When it good, Music From Another Dimension! captures Aerosmith in all their shiny, glittering glory.... However, at over an hour in length, the party begins to sag after a while. [3 Nov 2012, p.52]
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    While some of this uneven material has been reheated from past writing sessions, Aerosmith are genuinely fighting to reclaim their soul.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    Overall, Dimension has some solid moments and no outright duds, but it works better as the basis for a playlist than as a start-to-finish album.
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    Music from Another Dimension! is no worse than Nine Lives. It may lack a single as immediate as "Fallin' in Love (Is Hard on the Knees)"--or the subsequent "Jaded" from 2001's Just Push Play--but it faithfully follows Aerosmith's '90s blueprint, getting nothing wrong but never quite feeling right.
  9. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    The usual forehead-slapping decisions are here: goopy Eighties production, tired synth horns, a Diane Warren ballad.... The best thing about Music From Another Dimension! is the chance to hear Joe Perry and Brad Whitford play guitar.
  10. Nov 5, 2012
    60
    The album's eight winning cuts would be more than enough for a really good hard-rock disc. Instead we get an album that pays for each of its gems with a nugget of fool's gold.
  11. MFAD! finds them sounding like exactly what they are, namely an airbrushed, Massachusetts version of the Stones.
  12. Nov 6, 2012
    58
    Aerosmith's best album in years, still sounds like a watery echo of what the band once was.
  13. Nov 7, 2012
    50
    This then is an album that doesn't quite work, being as it is constantly in a state of conflict.
  14. 50
    Music From Another Dimension delivers riffs, clich├ęs, solos, yowls and a virtual banquet of the same one-dimensional tropes Aerosmith has been offering for years. Mixed in, however, are a few gems.
  15. 40
    It's all sounding terribly tired now.
  16. It sounds like Aerosmith, with plenty of hard-rocking blues swagger and lighters-aloft balladry, but most of the tunes are rubbish.
  17. 40
    Too much of Music veers towards chewy chart balladry and away from the amusing blues rockers where American Idol judge Steven Tyler maneuvers his mic stand around with a scarf.
  18. Nov 1, 2012
    40
    Music from Another Dimension! goes heavy on the insipid power ballads that characterised their commercial revival in the early 90s.
  19. Nov 5, 2012
    37
    It's hardly ground-breaking, but when Tyler brays, Perry blooze-ifies on guitar, the cow-bells ring and the back-up singers wail, Aerosmith approximates a cartoony version of its glory days. But the album's second half nosedives.
  20. 37
    With tracks like "LUV XXX," "Beautiful," and "Lover Alot," everyone's favorite dude-looks-like-a-grandma just can't let go of that screechy horndog rock.
  21. Nov 8, 2012
    20
    Aside from all of the individual missteps that make up Music from Another Dimension, the single most striking flaw comes in production quality.
  22. Nov 7, 2012
    20
    This is a bad album. The power ballads have some good elements. You might sing one of these songs at karaoke one day. You should not listen to this album in its entirety.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Dec 15, 2012
    6
    I must say that I'm disappointed with Aerosmith. They were my favourite band of all times, I was a lover of the incredible Steven's voice andI must say that I'm disappointed with Aerosmith. They were my favourite band of all times, I was a lover of the incredible Steven's voice and the great Perry's guitar skills. They still being my favourite band because they have some of the best rock songs ever in history, however this latest album is kind of band. The only two songs that I really like are What Could Have Been Love and Legendary Child. I still don't understand how a band like them is able to create such a terrible song that is Lover A Lot. This album is the worst Aerosmith album till date, but I can't forget the bunch of amazing songs that they made in the past so, I still saying that Aerosmith is a great and stunning band. Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    8
    If according to the critics liking this album is wrong, than oh boy do I not want to be to right. With a new delicious dose of spectacularIf according to the critics liking this album is wrong, than oh boy do I not want to be to right. With a new delicious dose of spectacular Aerosmith jams, this should hold us over until some sort of musical deities swoop us away, and take us to a contemporary land where music reins supreme and no one thinks Nicki Minaj is a good singer anymore. Aerosmith's well preserved sound serves to be a fresh injection of genres we almost forgot exists. Now we aren't gasping for breath with too many dance tunes, with the current toppers being as far from the common fare as possible by our slanted views, it certainly is a much appreciated breath. This album isn't perfect, and that's for damn sure. At times I feel Steven tries a bit too hard to appeal to what the common day folk consider to be the listen worthy, but he defiantly doesn't conform. And truely, you can't complain about it being cheesy, because what else could we expect? Steven Tyler: Touch my Body and Pound the Lazy Song Style? He is his own thing, and rather you like his flare or not, he's going to pertrude it other your way, like a grizzled **** So, rather you're a long time fan who heralds his return, or a new age song snob snapping your fingers to another tune, I find it to be a very acceptable set of tunes. Just listen at your own discretion. Seriously, if you normally don't like this sort of thing, you're screwed. Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    Nothing is special about this album, it CANNOT be compared to Toys in The Attic or Rocks for sure. It's not classic aerosmith IMO at all. ItNothing is special about this album, it CANNOT be compared to Toys in The Attic or Rocks for sure. It's not classic aerosmith IMO at all. It sounds like the 90s bubblegum pop aerosmith on the majority of the album with some folk and bluesy songs thrown in, with maybe ONE song that i can see them calling "old school" but it's nothing special at that even.
    The guitar work was just "okay" , drums were the highlight for me on a lot of the tracks. I recommend sticking with the older material if your new to Aerosmith (Which i doubt 98% of America isn't)
    Full Review »