Music Speaks - Candice Glover
Music Speaks Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut studio release for the American Idol season 12 winner includes songs co-written by Fantasia Barrino and Jazmine Sullivan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. It helps that her smooth voice sits so comfortably on the songs, content to illuminate their fine tunes rather than over-embellish them with flash.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    A few tracks don’t feel lived in, as Glover relies too much on technique instead of feel. On songs like the Mike Will Made It-produced “Passenger,” though, she delivers vivid performances.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    There are signs of individual life here.
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    Given the dominance of slow material, the album is a bit stifling; Glover loosens up a little for only "In the Middle," co-written by Fantasia Barrino with a touch of "Ting-a-Ling," yet even that has some heartache.
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    One can only hope she escapes the pitfalls of being a non-songwriting R&B singer in an inhospitable pop scene and finds collaborators who know what to do with a good old-fashioned powerhouse.
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    American Idol's 12th victor deserves better than this much-delayed hodgepodge of styles and ideas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    I watched the last season of American Idol, and Candice won. I loved her so much, she was a powerhouse singer! After he first album was released, I listened to it expecting greatness! Did I find it? Not necessarily. Though there are some great songs on here like Cry, Same Kinda Man, Forever That Man, Kiss Me and I Am Beautiful. For her outreach in the music business, I think this is a successful first album for her! Expand