• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2011
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 327

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    I was somewhat dissapointed with Viva La Vida, So this album came as a surprise for me. While it's not as great as XY or A Rush of Blood to The Head, it's still a pretty decent album though you'll be saying WTF at Martin's choice in Lyrics ( Paradise is the biggest offender). Ironically the songs are catchy as hell, You'll be tapping your toes and singing along to tracks like 'CharlieI was somewhat dissapointed with Viva La Vida, So this album came as a surprise for me. While it's not as great as XY or A Rush of Blood to The Head, it's still a pretty decent album though you'll be saying WTF at Martin's choice in Lyrics ( Paradise is the biggest offender). Ironically the songs are catchy as hell, You'll be tapping your toes and singing along to tracks like 'Charlie Brown', Major Minus, Every Teardrop is a waterfall' and Princess of China (One of the rare times I like Rihanna). The standout track for me was Hurts like Heaven which gets you pumped up for the rest of the album (This also is the opening song for the Mylo Xyloto Tour). If your fan of Coldplay, you'll Love this album, if you want to get into the band however, you're better of listening to their first three albums before hand. Other than that it's a pretty solid effort for Chris Martin and the Boys. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    i know that many people are disappointed but this is why coldplay is agreat band as the fans don't accept any other thing but perfection. though the album is great maybe the songwriting isn't so good but the music is very amazing and unique
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Strong album. I was a bit disappointed though... It stands out from X&Y and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by it's genre, while being a continuity of Viva La Vida, a continuity with a whole different sound. They went more electronic using synth which gives the album both a modern and a 80's sound, which is... special... without taking away the Coldplay unique sound. A few songs stands outStrong album. I was a bit disappointed though... It stands out from X&Y and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by it's genre, while being a continuity of Viva La Vida, a continuity with a whole different sound. They went more electronic using synth which gives the album both a modern and a 80's sound, which is... special... without taking away the Coldplay unique sound. A few songs stands out from Mylo Xyloto, I can barely spot songs that'll be hits, but as a whole, Mylo Xyloto is fluid, light, complex and impressive. It is worth your money, but do not expect this to be the album of the year... Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    The critics of MX have all been saying the same thing; that is that Coldplay have produced an album of the same old music, and did not make an effort to change their sound in a radical way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. Coldplay have experimented with electronic and pop sounds for their new album, so much so that many fans have been claiming that the change is TOO radical! It is notThe critics of MX have all been saying the same thing; that is that Coldplay have produced an album of the same old music, and did not make an effort to change their sound in a radical way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. Coldplay have experimented with electronic and pop sounds for their new album, so much so that many fans have been claiming that the change is TOO radical! It is not possible to have both. Mylo Xyloto is Coldplay on a scale they have not reached before, and although a small drop after the innovative Viva La Vida's wild success was perhaps inevitable, this music reaches out to more people and they may become all the more successful for it. Standout songs include Hurts Like Heaven, Paradise, Charlie Brown, Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, Us Against the World, Princess of China and Don't Let It Break Your Heart. A thoroughly entertaining and high quality listen. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    Forget about critics. Most have hated Coldplay since the start. Yes, for the most the lyrics are crap. But who cares? This is pop music! Coldplay are influenced by many different music styles, i.e. rock, urban, and folk, and all are featured here in a tasteful way. From start to finish, the flow of the songs, and the segues are quite irresistible. The duet with Rihanna is the absoluteForget about critics. Most have hated Coldplay since the start. Yes, for the most the lyrics are crap. But who cares? This is pop music! Coldplay are influenced by many different music styles, i.e. rock, urban, and folk, and all are featured here in a tasteful way. From start to finish, the flow of the songs, and the segues are quite irresistible. The duet with Rihanna is the absolute highlight. It shows they are willing to stretch and try different things. Just like they did with "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". There are no weak moments here. It's an uplifting affair and it shows how versatile and 2011 the band is. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    "Mylo Xyloto", Coldplay's 5th LP, was supposedly influenced by New York graffiti - a theme visible from both the album artwork and the video for first single "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". Strangely enough, it is also very much audible in the music. Unlike the symphonic "Viva La Vida" and sonically overwhelming "X&Y", "Mylo Xyloto" revels in synth-based, warm, unabashedly pop melodies."Mylo Xyloto", Coldplay's 5th LP, was supposedly influenced by New York graffiti - a theme visible from both the album artwork and the video for first single "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". Strangely enough, it is also very much audible in the music. Unlike the symphonic "Viva La Vida" and sonically overwhelming "X&Y", "Mylo Xyloto" revels in synth-based, warm, unabashedly pop melodies. The wonderful opener "Hurts Like Heaven" (discounting the title track intro) bursts with energy, lyrics flying past in a manner not heard in any Coldplay song before. It is an intoxicating indicator of things to come on perhaps Coldplay's most immediate album to date. If "Viva La Vida" was a bit of a grower, "Mylo Xyloto" instead wastes no time setting its stall.

    Unexpectedly perhaps, the star of this uptempo, smile-inducing, hell DANCEABLE album is the lavish guitar licks provided by unsung Coldplay hero Johnny Buckland. Whilst Martin is undoubtedly the face of Coldplay the rest of the band are, well, not just "the rest of the band". Faster and more complex than before Buckland is beginning to carve his own niche sound - a skill beyond measure for a musician - and the speed, dexterity and subtleness of his playing is more valuable than Martin's enthusiastic if slightly wobbly lyrics.

    Drummer Will Champion also demonstrates his own abilities to perfection, alongside his own beautiful vocals on album highlight (and "Parachutes" throwback) "Us Against The World".
    For any Coldplay fans afraid of the change the group are going through, they should be reassured slightly by the presence of such a song, alongside the quietly beautiful "U.F.O", "God Put A Smile"-recalling "Major Minus" and "Up In Flames", a disarmingly simplistic but nonetheless gorgeous ballad. These fans are going to struggle to stomach the collaboration with Rihanna, a polarising debating point that I hope does not overshadow the brilliance on show on this album. "Princess of China" is the closest to RnB that Coldplay have ever got, with its bass heavy synths and stomping beat, and it does take some getting used to.

    If "Princess Of China" doesn't do it for you then other highlights "Charlie Brown", "Paradise" and "Every Teardrop", each song buoyant with hope, showcase a simple truth: like them or not, Coldplay are probably the best band in the world at what they do, and "Mylo Xyloto" is the band at the top of their game. A point has been deducted for some slightly dubious lyrics ("I turn the music up, I got my records on") and the unnecessary separation of "M.M.I.X" from "Every Teardrop", but these are minor quibbles on an otherwise superb album. If anything else it should finally shut up their detractors who moan that "everything sounds the same" - whilst Brian Eno's work does bare some familiarities to "Viva La Vida" in places ("Life In Technicolour" for example), the differences far outweigh the similarities. "Mylo Xyloto" is an uplifting, foot-tapping joy set to soundtrack many lives, mine included, for years to come.
    Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is clearly some of Coldplay's best work yet. There's a much more modern sound to Mylo Xyloto than any of the previous Coldplay albums, yet they maintain their unique sound that has been consistent since their earliest tracks. I would recommend this album to just about anyone.
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    It's a really solid album that hooks you on your first listen. Standout tracks such as 'Hurts Like heaven', 'Paradise', and 'Don't Let it Break Your Heart' are classic Coldplay songs, and while they are very poppy, they are also experimenting with new sounds - most of which are electronic. The production is top notch (thank you Brian Eno yet again), and overall it is another 'typical'It's a really solid album that hooks you on your first listen. Standout tracks such as 'Hurts Like heaven', 'Paradise', and 'Don't Let it Break Your Heart' are classic Coldplay songs, and while they are very poppy, they are also experimenting with new sounds - most of which are electronic. The production is top notch (thank you Brian Eno yet again), and overall it is another 'typical' Coldplay release; consistent, instantly enjoyable, not taking too many risks, and will likely be enjoyed by music snobs and the mainstream alike. The collaboration with Rhianna is unexpected but not a disaster as many people are saying. No doubt this albums singles are obvious and have big sounds all over them (paradise most noticeably), but underneath this sheen there are some really enjoyable songs on this disk. I really commend Coldplay for creating such high quality and consistently good music for such a long time. Highly recommended. Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    It's not Coldplay's best but the critics are overlooking the beauty of the new sound that this album brings. I feel like a change in any band's traditional style is now frowned upon.
  10. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    A little disappointing. Very uneven album. There are a lot of transition tracks that should have just been added to the song after them. Not their best, but certainly not their worst. The best track is Major Minus. I still can't believe that song was a B-side.
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Absolute genius. Best Tracks,
    "Hurts Like Heaven"
    "Paradise"
    "Charlie Brown"
    "Us Against the World"
    "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall"
    "U.F.O."
    "Don't Let it Break your Heart"
    All of them are great
  12. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Hhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush Of Blood. The variety throughout MX is what makes it good. You got songs like Hurts Like Heaven and Up With The birds which I think they're some of the best work that Coldplay has done. Maybe what critics and fans don't like is the overproduction and use ofHhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush Of Blood. The variety throughout MX is what makes it good. You got songs like Hurts Like Heaven and Up With The birds which I think they're some of the best work that Coldplay has done. Maybe what critics and fans don't like is the overproduction and use of electronica something very different from Coldplay. Expand
  13. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, strange and very diverse. I consider this the Kid A of Coldplay, while I consider Rush of Blood to the Head to be the OK Computer. As you can guess, I like Kid A better, because this one is so risky. It's a beautiful piece of work and is near perfect. 10/10
  14. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Great album with beautiful songs! Was hoping for more full songs and less intros but they still make listening to the album exciting! I love that Coldplay is trying out new sounds in their music and continuing to produce such great songs
  15. May 5, 2012
    10
    Another beautiful album by Coldplay. They manage to continue experimenting without straying too far from what made them great. This album really jumps right into the groove with Hurts Like Heaven and sucks you in. You are taken on a heavenly journey ending up on the beautiful last piano notes of Up With The Birds. Its extremely uplifting and will leave you a different person.

    Best
    Another beautiful album by Coldplay. They manage to continue experimenting without straying too far from what made them great. This album really jumps right into the groove with Hurts Like Heaven and sucks you in. You are taken on a heavenly journey ending up on the beautiful last piano notes of Up With The Birds. Its extremely uplifting and will leave you a different person.

    Best tracks: Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall, Major Minus, Charlie Brown, Don't Let It Break Your Heart.

    10/10
    Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2011
    7
    Mylo Xyloto is the fifth full-length album by Coldplay, following their 2008 release Viva la Vida. In many ways the two albums are similar, most notably they used the same producer, the legendary Brian Eno. They also both are noticeably different from anything they released before, both are much more upbeat and confident, and they take the use of many new instruments. The main differencesMylo Xyloto is the fifth full-length album by Coldplay, following their 2008 release Viva la Vida. In many ways the two albums are similar, most notably they used the same producer, the legendary Brian Eno. They also both are noticeably different from anything they released before, both are much more upbeat and confident, and they take the use of many new instruments. The main differences come in the sound, Viva la Vida was darker and classical sounding while Mylo Xyloto has a much more poppy and electronic sound. But now lets really just get into Mylo Xyloto, the album that is under question. Martin has said that the album was influenced by old american graffiti. It is very apparent what he is talking about, all of the artwork has very bubbly letters and bright colors. This also translates into the music, as with all their albums the artwork matches the music almost perfectly. But when you look at the artwork for a while and listen to the music, you get the sense that the band has never actually seen or met the people and the culture that the graffiti came from, it seem like they have just seen pictures and could only see the silver lining in what is actually something that came from some very dark lives. At no point in listening to this music do you ever get the feel that you are on the streets, rather you feel you are in a studio with a wall being covered in spray paint by two lovebirds remembering their lives. It is very typical of Coldplay to romanticize things like this, and in all fairness it is probably what they were going for. When you get into the details of the music however, there are quite a few things that I am sure the band was not going for. Much of the music structure is repetitive, this is something they did a very good job to avoid on Viva la Vida. This also brings up my main problem with this album, and that is about five songs seem to want to be the climax of the story. There is nothing wrong with Coldplay making some stadium rockers, but it does not go well in the context of the album. There are so many screaming choruses by the time you get halfway through the album that you start to not take anything he says later on to heart. There are also no true highlights to this album either. 'Major Minus' is a pretty neat sounding rock song, but it cannot compare to something like 'Strawberry Swing' or 'Violet Hill'. The general feel this album gives me is not a big change from the last, it is just produced and recorded differently and lacks the high points. The only major difference is that it is much more of a pop record, but Viva could have very well been as well if that is what they wanted. All in all, this is not any major step away from 'Viva la vida', and in the grand scheme of things that really makes this album nothing spectacular. It is just a collection of some more songs for Coldplay to rule a festival with. Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Mylo Xyloto transcends all that I was expecting it to be. This album is an ode to music itself. It feels refreshing and gives a sense of transgression and revolution, the momentum is unbelievable. Coldplay surely place its efforts to elevate the sensations within their music and melody. Pure and beautifully crafted piece of art.
  18. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    After listening to Viva La Vida, it's hard to see how Coldplay could possibly top themselves, but they just have! It is their biggest, brashest and most ambitious album yet. I've been needing to listen an optimistic album with meaningful lyrics for a long time, because all meaningful songs seem to be so negative. The standout tracks are 'Hurts Like Heaven', 'Charlie Brown', 'Major Minus'After listening to Viva La Vida, it's hard to see how Coldplay could possibly top themselves, but they just have! It is their biggest, brashest and most ambitious album yet. I've been needing to listen an optimistic album with meaningful lyrics for a long time, because all meaningful songs seem to be so negative. The standout tracks are 'Hurts Like Heaven', 'Charlie Brown', 'Major Minus' and 'Princess of China' with Rihanna. Many of the album's tracks have a lot of rock edge in them which should please the most rock-laden skeptics. This is a sensational album which I would recommend to anyone with all sorts of tastes! Expand
  19. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good!
  20. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Seeing as Coldplay is the one band I consistently listen to I was really looking forward to this album. Taken as a whole it's good--sometimes really good. The melodies are catchy, occasionally brilliant (Paradise, Major Minus, Princess of China, Hurts like Heaven) and the overarching theme works well; however, I had sort of hoped that there would be more experimentation. Still I love/likeSeeing as Coldplay is the one band I consistently listen to I was really looking forward to this album. Taken as a whole it's good--sometimes really good. The melodies are catchy, occasionally brilliant (Paradise, Major Minus, Princess of China, Hurts like Heaven) and the overarching theme works well; however, I had sort of hoped that there would be more experimentation. Still I love/like nearly every track with the exception of Every teardrop is a waterfall (I'm sorry it's just weak, albeit catchy) and Up in Flames.
    To sum up, if you're a fan of solid, feel-good music this album's for you.
    Expand
  21. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    Yes, this album is a disappointment of sorts, but it's better than the reviews suggest. Coldplay have always been and will always be deeply unfashionable, and it would be fair to say that in between Viva la Vida and this album they have realised the value of not trying to be fashionable. Rather than dressing up as Arcade Fire, they've made a reasonable effort at crafting a more uniqueYes, this album is a disappointment of sorts, but it's better than the reviews suggest. Coldplay have always been and will always be deeply unfashionable, and it would be fair to say that in between Viva la Vida and this album they have realised the value of not trying to be fashionable. Rather than dressing up as Arcade Fire, they've made a reasonable effort at crafting a more unique identity, which is apparent in the music. Most importantly, they've played to their artistic limitations rather than settling for pretension. The songs aren't much to rave about, but the tunes are solid. Hurts Like Heaven and Charlie Brown are up there with their best work yet, especially the former, which has the kind of fast-paced confidence and, dare I say it, balls that a lot of their earlier work lacked. They are at their worst when they pander to the lowest common denominator on Paradise and Princess of China, both of which are very weak, bloodless and irritating. The rest of the album follows a fairly consistent Coldplay formula, which is nice to listen to, but not at all challenging. They have played it safe on this one. Leaving the quality of the music aside, I'm bemused by the various reactions that this album has garnered. It is impossible to intellectualize Coldplay's music, because it doesn't serve any intellectual purpose, so why do people bother trying to analyse their own reactions to it? They can't be taken too seriously; they're just a fairly lighthearted band who make fairly lighthearted music that doesn't have to mean anything to be enjoyed. Expand
  22. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    I have always had an undying hatred for coldplay. This album has turned me, slightly.
  23. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Lets hope Coldplay doesn't pull a Simpsons, where it goes down hill fast. So far these last two albums aren't as good as the first three. This album is worse than viva la vida, or prospekt's march or whatever its called. They are becoming a pop group. It stinks, they are so good!
  24. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Excellent album, one can really appreciate the blood, sweat and tears which has gone into to the production of this album. Coldplay take pride in their work, they want to be the best. They have delivered a great great album!
  25. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    Its a good album not their best ... but very worth your buy... with all the crap in music nowadays .. its great to escape with Coldplay Always.. and this is kinda poppy album but in a good way.. it may lack some tracks or atleast 1 more track.

    Lots of epic songs in the album you dont want to miss out on. which is why its worth the buy.

    remember coldplay always delivers and they HAVE :)
  26. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Mylo Xyloto is a very good album. Most of coldplay's other stuff is better but i actually like this album more than X and Y. It has some really good songs but none of them really stood out as favorites. If you are a coldplay fan you should buy it, it is a good album, just not their best.
  27. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    I'm just going to be honest. I've been a faithful U2 fan nearly my entire life, and I've regarded Coldplay as yet another wanna-be Bono-band. But the second I heard "Hurts Like Heaven," that opinion changed. I thoroughly enjoyed this album, even as someone who dislikes the band overall. That must mean that this is a damn good album.
  28. CRL
    Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Most albums have one or two songs you love more than the rest, a favorite that elevates an album full of filler. Mylo Xyloto does not have that favorite... but I can honestly say there is not a single bad song on this album. Every song is amazing in its own right, from the ridiculously catchy Hurts Like Heaven, to the hook-laced Charlie Brown, to the acoustic masterpiece of UFO and theMost albums have one or two songs you love more than the rest, a favorite that elevates an album full of filler. Mylo Xyloto does not have that favorite... but I can honestly say there is not a single bad song on this album. Every song is amazing in its own right, from the ridiculously catchy Hurts Like Heaven, to the hook-laced Charlie Brown, to the acoustic masterpiece of UFO and the simplistic majesty of Up in Flames. And then there's the rest of the album, laced with great songs like Paradise, Major Minus, Princess of China, and Don't Let it Break Your Heart. There's only one real problem with Coldplay's fifth studio album; it lacks that final piece that could make it a masterpiece. Maybe it's the lack of a coherent concept that holds it back. Maybe its that, occasionally, the lyrics just come a little too short. In the end there are fantastic albums, and then there are masterpieces. Mylo Xyloto is a fantastic album. But it's not a masterpiece. Expand
  29. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Mylo Xyloto continues Coldplay's excellence at evolving musically even if one or two tracks don't quite hit the spot. Paradise, Up in Flames, Charlie Brown,Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, and Hurts Like Heaven are triumphs that elevate the immense quality of this album.
  30. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Mylo Xyloto is a very good album. It combines the classic Coldplay touch with electronic, pop and rock sounds. The lyrics of the songs are mostly fine, with the exception of the last few songs of the album. The singles so far are mixed for me. "Every Tear" is disappointing, but it is saved by the uplifting tone of the song. "Princess" isn't very good, but Rihanna does give it a certainMylo Xyloto is a very good album. It combines the classic Coldplay touch with electronic, pop and rock sounds. The lyrics of the songs are mostly fine, with the exception of the last few songs of the album. The singles so far are mixed for me. "Every Tear" is disappointing, but it is saved by the uplifting tone of the song. "Princess" isn't very good, but Rihanna does give it a certain energy which makes it better. But "Paradise" is by far my favorite. The orchestrated music at the beginning, the atmosphere of the song and Chris Martin's voice all contribute to the song's epic feel. If you're a hardcore Coldplay fan, this might not be the style you're used to, but I'd recommend you to pick it up. If you've met Coldplay with Viva La Vida or X&Y, you will definitely love it, as it has a lot of similarities. If you've never even heard of Coldplay, listen to the singles and judging by those, decide to buy it or not. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Mylo Xyloto feels like it was created by an actual rock band, with each player stepping up his game.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    With all the bells and whistles in prominent display, Coldplay may have made their most enjoyable album. I only hope the sourpusses enjoy it.