• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamW
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    This makes me dance! Cant wait to see them live later this month.
  2. Dan!
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Just superb! i eagerly awaited this album and my expectations were surpassed... nic offers (intended) a range not offered before... the music is obviously sensational and thankfully they have managed to maintan the length to their tunes - which i'm sure their adoring fans appreciate - !!! take you for a ride and inevitably the album becomes a loop one just cant stop - brilliant Just superb! i eagerly awaited this album and my expectations were surpassed... nic offers (intended) a range not offered before... the music is obviously sensational and thankfully they have managed to maintan the length to their tunes - which i'm sure their adoring fans appreciate - !!! take you for a ride and inevitably the album becomes a loop one just cant stop - brilliant production too...there are samples reminiscent of the avalanches to take the final seconds of a track into a quiet spiral, guitar licks reveberating raw, basslines that take you back to the cure, and a drum beat that shatters leftism and some - this is edgy and a thirst quencher - standout tracks are "Must be the Moon", "A New Name" and "Break in Case of Anything" (great to hear the out hud girls on that one)... well done lads and cant wait to see them live!!! Collapse
  3. DanS
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    Superb album! I have trouble getting into the song "Sweet Life" (triggers unfortunate memories of Sublime at times), but other than that, there's not a loser in the bunch. A very pleasent surprise to jumpstart 2007.
  4. JohnR.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Great ´n funky
  5. KevinL
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    These songs should get some asses shaking when they play them live.
  6. JohnnyD
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Funky as hell. Great stuff.
  7. IanR
    Mar 25, 2007
    9
    Irresistible grooves and a more balanced attack make Myth Takes the best !!! album to date. While it may not reach the heights of songs such as "Me And Giuliani Down by the School Yard" or "Pardon My Freedom", Myth Takes is consistently good to great. "Must Be the Moon" has the funkiest outro in ages. Their live show is not to be missed.
  8. NikkiG
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    I cant stop listening to this album... its just that wonderful!
  9. glennwood
    May 26, 2007
    10
    perfect!!!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Much like their debut, it'll take a few listens to be pulled towards Myth Takes by the force operates at its core.
  2. There are moments when they seem to lose sight of what it is exactly that makes them so interesting to begin with, writing songs that seem stuck halfway between dance and conventional indie rock.
  3. The major stumbling blocks of !!!'s shtick still pertain.