Night of Hunters - Tori Amos
Night of Hunters Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter takes inspiration from classical music to create a "21st century song cycle" for her 12th album, released on the world-renowned German classical label, Deutsche Grammophon.
  • Record Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • Genre(s): Classical, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Classical Crossover
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    Just describing the album makes it seem like Amos has completely disappeared down the rabbit hole, but Hunters is actually her most enjoyable album in years.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    It contains the power and dynamics and splendor of her very best material, but because it is a work of classical crossover, any expectation of pop hooks or singalong choruses will be met with disappointment; consequently, its sophistication, elegance, and poetry will reward anyone who takes the proper time to absorb it.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    At 14 songs and over 70 minutes long, it's certainly not for the faint hearted or easily distracted. Yet for those who are willing to put the effort in, some of Amos' most beautiful work will be found within.
  4. Sep 19, 2011
    Amos' classical-label debut is a wildly imaginative ride full of orchestral fireworks and fairy-tale melodrama, though anyone with a Ren Faire aversion should stick to more straight-ahead songs like "Edge of the Moon" and "Job's Coffin."
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    Recalling Kate Bush and the enigmatic chamber music of Penguin Cafe and North Sea Radio Orchestras, the way is full of mystic visions, and the deathly conclusion is bittersweet. [Nov. 2011, p. 127]
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    This predominantly slow, somber album ultimately overstays its welcome.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    The bulk of the album's melodies and arrangements are too busily discursive to hum after the fact, making it tough for Night of Hunters to do what Amos set out to do: haunt the listener.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 22, 2011
    Night of Hunters is easily Tori's best album since Scarlet's Walk. It's intricate, genuine and beautifully arranged. Definitely worth picking up if you're the type of fan disappointed with her output since SW. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    Tori's voice has never sounded so gorgeous and her piano playing is amazing. If you are not a Tori fan already, I don't know what you might think of this album. But this is definitely her strongest album in a long time. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    Everyone (both critics and consumers alike) have been extraordinarily harsh on this album all around the internet.

    This is not an album that
    deserves mediocre reviews. You know, I can always tell who the people that like real music are because they all realize that this is Tori's best album since Scarlet's Walk. All those neanderthals comparing her to Kate Bush need more things to fill our their day. I'm glad that everyone can have his or her own opinion in today's world, but it's too bad that most of them are extremely uninformed.

    If you're a Tori fan, this album will satisfy you. If you're not, start with Little Earthquakes and go through all of her albums before getting to this one. Maybe then your opinion will make sense. 10 for content, 10 for lyrics, 10 for concept, 9 for production.
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    The usual Tori Amos output doesn't do much for me, particularly since the first few albums. However, when I discovered the background to this recording I was eager to check it out - songs based on classic works, recorded with a string quartet and a small group of horns and woodwind, and released by Deutche Grammophon! 70 minutes of stuffy classical style songs might not suit all her fans, but as a previous non-fan I'd say this is pretty good stuff. Well produced, played and sung. I had a quick look flick through the lyric book and although there is a story to this 'song cycle' it's not of much relevance to me. In summary, if you like classical music and pop, this is crossover as it should be done. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    If you are a fan of Tori's early work, then you will most likely enjoy this album. The piano and string arrangements as interpretations or varations of classical works are extremely well done (particularly with the instrumental Seven Sisters), and the recording quality is excellent. Tori's voice is in fine form, as always, and her intonation is sharp. For an eleven-year-old girl, the maturity, timbre, and flexibility of Tash's voice is also stunning. Consider this album to be sonically equivalent to portions of Under the Pink and Boys for Pele.

    Where the album disappoints is in two areas. Tori's best lyrical work has always been obtuse but simultaneously mindbendingly intelligent; frankly the lyrics are here, in spots, simply flat and banal. The poetry is not her best work. Secondly, the album drags on (particularly the title track) in melachnoly drama and really expects a commitment from the listener to trudge through it in a single sitting.

    Toriphiles, buy the album but also know what you are getting. A beautiful work with amazing piano and string virtuosity, but you will be left longing for a few edgier moments.

    Highlights: Shattering Sea, Fearlessness, Edge of the Moon, Seven Sisters, Carry
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    This is a nice record. It feels both different and like old-Tori striding back through the underworlds with her piano. Thank the gods! Fearlessness, Star Whisperer, The Chase, great songs! Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan who's followed Tori since Little Earthquakes, I'm sad to say this is by far the worst I've heard from her (in my opinion of course, others are more then welcome to disagree). To it's credit the music itself is brilliant and her voice is as lovely as ever but where this album falls flat is it's bad (and often corny) lyrics. Add to that a second singer on certain songs who I can only describe as trying to channel Peppermint Patty (from the Peanuts comics) and what you get is a product that sounds like someone is reciting poetry written by a fifth grader while playing Beethoven-quality symphonies in the background. That being said, I'll still be first in line to buy her next album. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews