Nine Lives

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nine Lives Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: His first album in five years, Steve Winwood's ninth studio effort features nine songs, including one with guitar work by Eric Clapton.

Top Track

I'm Not Drowning
Black night down heavy on my weary brow Light shining in the pouring rain Can see somehow cold comfort in the broken trees But I won't let it bring... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nine Lives is deeper, heartier, and braver lyrically than anything he's ever done.
  2. Nine Lives follows suit with a set whose nine songs display an ensemble sensibility that gives a generous allotment of sonic room to members of Winwood's band.
  3. Q Magazine
    His first album in five years is a very musicianly affair, stronger on feel than memorable songs but still a fitting vehicle for one who turns 60 later this month and has nothing left to prove. [June 2008, p.148]
  4. 60
    As reassuring as Nine Lives will be to longtime Winwood fans, it’s bound to leave them wanting more--like a full album of Winwood-Clapton interplay.
  5. His voice is a deeper, huskier shade of British blues, but it's consistent in its strength and optimism all over Nine Lives.
  6. Mojo
    He indulges in too many mudane romantic/spiritual invocations and vague geopolitical maunderings. [June 2008, p.112]
  7. This record finds Winwood on a clichéd existential journey into jazzy world music territory, which should play well with the over-50 soft cock rock set, who for some inexplicable reason don’t seem to mind six-minute sax solos.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of