Nocturnes - Little Boots
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 2, 2013
    90
    It sounds fantastic throughout; there's just the right mix of intense dance floor dynamics and reverential sounds.
  2. May 10, 2013
    85
    All but gone is the glitzy, retro-leaning synthpop maximalism that dominated her first record, replaced here by a remarkably expansive sonic palette and a newfound poise that hardly falters from start to finish. [No. 98, p.57]
  3. May 16, 2013
    80
    Nocturnes points the way out, with Hesketh having demonstrated not only the willingness and the ability to grow and develop, but also to retain a sense of her individuality and a keenness for what may set Little Boots apart from the rest.
  4. May 3, 2013
    80
    There's plenty of interesting stuff going on throughout.
  5. May 3, 2013
    80
    It’s fun, but accomplished too, and shows how Hesketh has taken her knocks, used them and come back bolder, brighter and better.
  6. May 2, 2013
    80
    Too many of these frictionless Eurodisco makeweights only prove that great, urgent, heart-tugging electro-pop is easy to stimulate but difficult to pull off successfully. [Jun 2013, p.75]
  7. 80
    It’s a foot-tappingly bundle of disco-pop that is not ashamed of its influences and refuses to bore for even the shortest of moments.
  8. May 2, 2013
    80
    Hesketh and producer Tim Goldsworthy (of DFA fame) keep the choruses and the fidgety effects coming through the closing Satellite, by which point it's inarguable that Nocturnes is one of the pop records of the year.
  9. 75
    Little Boots knows how to write a hook.
  10. 70
    While Nocturnes doesn’t have the immediate impact or supremely sticky quality of Little Boots’, AKA Victoria Hesketh’s, high-caliber dance-pop debut, Hands, it does display a slow-growing (Or is that glowing?) charm that rings true to the album’s muted title.
  11. May 17, 2013
    70
    Some of these tracks feel a bit like filler, and Nocturnes could probably use a bit more variation, but if smart, restrained disco pop puts a smile on your face, Nocturnes should do the trick.
  12. May 10, 2013
    70
    While maintaining her space as neither and sexpot diva or a grossly doe-eyed ingenue, Little Boots remains unapologetically sincere in her words, and the crowd will still mainline the disco beats and, save for a few lulls, dance until we die.
  13. May 7, 2013
    70
    Hesketh's shrewd choice of collaborators is often squandered on rather rudimentary song structures and lyrical ideas. That doesn't make Nocturnes any less enjoyable of a dance-pop album, but it's ultimately what will keep Little Boots from becoming the next Madonna, or the next Robyn for that matter.
  14. May 6, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, if Hands was Little Boots' booty-shaking call to the dancefloor, then Nocturnes is the afterglow, post-party soundtrack for the ride home.
  15. Only the more straightforwardly poppy numbers disappoint, with power-ballad manqué “Crescendo” a particular anomaly.
  16. 70
    The second half of the album loses momentum due to the overly long, soggy pop of "Crescendo" and "Strangers," although Nocturnes recovers nicely on the flawless synth-pop jam "All For You," where Hesketh shows off her dramatic, emotive vocals. [Jun 2013, p.98
  17. May 8, 2013
    60
    Nocturnes finds her settling on one that aspires to the distance of Saint Etienne's Sarah Cracknell or Sophie Ellis-Bextor. She’s not quite there, and when her approach doesn’t work, it really doesn’t. Nocturnes is a big improvement over Hands, though, where even the biggest singles' hooks were made of saccharine, not sugar.
  18. 60
    The trouble with Little Boots’ choice in house music is that there’s little room for experimentation. At times, lyrics rhyme just to be adhesive and the beats drone on and on and on.
  19. May 6, 2013
    60
    Little Boots’ hooks rarely fall flat but can’t fully take off, either--they’re chained to the dance floor.
  20. May 2, 2013
    60
    The results here feel somewhat less spirited.
  21. Nocturnes rates better as an album that sounds better with time, as opposed to Hands’ sugar rush appeal. However, it also retains an uneven quality that can make getting through Nocturnes feel like someone trying to drag the party on a little too long.
  22. May 23, 2013
    58
    It’s Nocturnes' two sleek singles (“Motorway,” “Broken Record”) that manage the best in dark electronic allure with shiny, hook-driven choruses.
  23. Album two features some catchy and classy electronic dance music.... Unfortunately though, ‘Broken Record’ sounds like a Eurovision-endorsed soundtrack to Cassack dancing and ‘Satellites’ is a limp version of Madonna’s ‘Ray Of Light.’
  24. May 13, 2013
    40
    Choruses fizzle, lyrics fail to engage and every song is at least a minute too long. [Jun 2013, p.102]
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 19, 2013
    3
    Little Boot’s first album was released way back in 2013. To have a five year gap between first and second albums for a pop artists is a longLittle Boot’s first album was released way back in 2013. To have a five year gap between first and second albums for a pop artists is a long period. Her first album, had it’s moments, but it just felt like it got worse over repeat listens. However, I was excited to see a new album, to see which avenues of pop she would venture down; she goes down none whatsoever.

    Every track is over four minuets apart from “Every Night I Say A Prayer”. Nocturnes is more of a dance album than anything taking inspiration from eras of Electronic music gone by to create an unattractive mix of Disco/House and soft Electro. I can’t get a hold on this album, at all. The album begins with “Motorway”, which is nice, but why open with that? Maybe it’s a new beginning, I just don’t know. The album doesn’t do anything for me. It goes on and on and on. Don’t get me wrong, Daft Punk have done similar Disco sounding tracks, just look at Discovery, and I love Daft Punk, but Little Boots doesn’t handle it well. She handles 80′s synth pop with layers of possibly modern dance.

    This album doesn’t suit her, it feels out of place. I didn’t actually want to go back for a second listen, I had to force myself, because whilst it can be nice at some point, even catchy on songs like “Satellite”, I can’t tell if it’s good music, or just annoying.

    I did happen to enjoy one song, “Crescendo”. But the song actually reminds me a lot of a song by Selena Gomez and the Scene featuring Pixie Lott, not exactly the zenith of pop music, but nevertheless, it’s enjoyable. The album from “Crescendo” onwards is easier to enjoy, but track nine “All For You” feel limp, and a closer at that. I was surprised to hear another track to finish the album off, it just wouldn’t end.

    Overall, there may be something for you in this album. It does have it’s warmer elements where it doesn’t try to hard, where it can become enjoyable, but there is little substance here, I feel like you can just hold on and stay sane.
    Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2013
    10
    This is a such great album, even better than her debut "hands". Nocturnes shows a Little Boots more mature and full of experiences in clubs.This is a such great album, even better than her debut "hands". Nocturnes shows a Little Boots more mature and full of experiences in clubs. Her experience as a dj is involved throughout the 10 tracks. besides creating hooks and pop songs creates a dance floor to be removed only shaking it. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2013
    7
    Some song really sound DIY, others sound just so over-done. The synths in every song are amazing.

    The only thing I could say against this
    Some song really sound DIY, others sound just so over-done. The synths in every song are amazing.

    The only thing I could say against this album is that Little Boots sometimes sounds like the lyrics doesn't mean anything, kinda emotion-less. I guess that's just how she sings. But that's what takes the magic off it for me. I'd like to hear her moaning over the love she lost or just gleeful on the dance-floor.

    But anyway this is an superb album, and will get stuck in your head for sure.
    Full Review »