Nothing - N.E.R.D.
Nothing Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: N.E.R.D.'s fourth album takes a new direction by adding psychedelic rock influences to their mad-scientist mix of hip-hop, along with the addition of a new female vocalist to the original Virginia trio.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. 83
    The trio's fourth album keeps the revelry of past work intact, beginning with the carefree Party People and ending with the euphoric Hot-N-fun. [Nov. 5, 2010, p. 71]
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    70
    This album does its best to give certain fans exactly what they want in sexually-driven club grinders while offering up real, honest-to-goodness substance. It isn't always a perfect situation, and parts of the album border on forgettable, but when they get it right, everything's groovy.
  3. Jan 14, 2011
    70
    While Nothing isn't N*E*R*D*'s strongest effort, it does offer an interesting take on pop music.
  4. Nov 1, 2010
    60
    The album is overly long, but there's a straightforwardness to the live-and-loose party vibe that's hard to resist.
  5. Despite overwhelming evidence to support the notion that he should quit vocal duties forever, he continues to labor under the delusion that his cochlea-shredding falsetto sounds like anything other than Prince with his scrotum in a vice.
  6. Nov 2, 2010
    60
    Not a bad effort, but we've come to expect more.
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    30
    Nothing is just what it brazenly titles itself as – an empty record, one lacking the sometimes questionable but more often than not intriguing experimentation and oddball weirdness that might not have made their earlier records great, but at least made them interesting.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Is this the best album of all time? No, but it is one of the best ones of 2010. Those of you looking for another In Search Of... are going to be disappointed yet again, but that doesn't suggest that this is a bad album. It's great actually. I don't consider one N*E*R*D album to be better than another, they are so versatile that I have 4 different albums I can go to by them. A lot of people are hoping for this sound-a-like to In Search Of... but I doubt that's ever going to happen consider that it was Spymob who played on that album and not N*E*R*D. If they were to remake In Search Of... I'm sure everyone would be complaining about them "copying their first album" so I'm glad that they keep choosing to go in different directions. It shows growth as artists. I love this album and haven't been able to stop listening to it since I bought it. I highly recommend that you check it out. Collapse
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    Not their best album, but still good. I like most things produced by The Neptunes, so N.E.R.D. is obviously one of my favorite groups. This album is a little different from their past ones, and that's not necessarily bad because growth is good. Maybe their next one will be more of a combination of this sound and their earlier sound to give us something even better. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    I like N.e.r.d and I was curios for the new album. okay, it is okay, but only okay. Favourite song "Party people" (feat T.I), "Victory"(different and nice) and "Nothing on you". Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    3
    As a N.E.R.D. fan, it was disappointing... the quality of the production has severely deceased and the genre-blending does not fit together like it did before. It ends up as random, uninspired, unconvincing muck. To put this into perspective, one of the best tracks on the album is "Hypnotize U", which is would consider an average or mediocre track on any other of the groups other albums. Really disappointed. Expand