O Soundtrack My Heart

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
O Soundtrack My Heart Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Australian group releases its first international effort on Warp Records, which offered them a 16-album contract.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Like all the best instrumental music, it's evocative stuff: the trio's multi-layered blend of vintage synths, skittering beats and crashing post-rock instrumentation keeps your mind's eye busy with images of futuristic cityscapes, gallant space troopers and, on the riotous title track, Jean Michel Jarre and Vangelis teaming up to battle Rage Against the Machine for sonic supremacy.
  2. Edgy and highly innovative for the most part, Pivot do have some so-so moments too. But overall this is good stuff; they are trying to push the boundaries of music and, as a result, they sound like nobody else.
  3. Mojo
    [Laurenz's] supple grooves energise their quixotic synth patterns and intricate guitar-scree, ensuring this wordless yet dramatic debut triangulates the oft-dweebish worlds of electronica, no wave and retro sci-fi with a funky red-blooded brio. [Sep 2008, p.106]
  4. More than their previous efforts, this album exhibits the depth and experience that they have gained from such collaborations.
  5. It’s a tricky album to judge, considering its best moments are easy to overlook, but there’s enough to make this worth a listen and suggest that better days might lie ahead.
  6. Under The Radar
    You will eventually find points that shine with the steady strength of a lone lamppost, then build your bearings outward. [Fall 2008, p.82]
  7. Woodly prog rock for weird beards.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. AlexM.
    Sep 30, 2008
    Exciting album. Great band live.