One Breath - Anna Calvi
One Breath Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to the British singer-songwriter's Mercury Prize-nominated debut was produced by John Congleton.
  • Record Label: Domino
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Calvi is unquestionably a great performer, but on One Breath, her work reaches a level of nuance that the majority of contemporary music lacks.
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    One Breath is truly cathartic, but it will leave you a quivering wreck.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Calvi's less adventurous fans may find themselves at a loss as to how to process it all, but there's something both immaculate and broken about One Breath that ultimately transcends its more difficult moments.
  4. 80
    One Breath is a dynamic statement from a young woman who could very well be the next David Bowie or Nick Cave.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Each song is coloured with a knowing intelligence and it all comes from her voice.
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    70
    [One Breath will not] take Anna Calvi out of the well-respected comfort zone that she currently inhabits. It is a striking and hypnotic record, laced with tension and talent, and bristling with a wide range of ideas. [Nov-Dec 2013, p.94]
  7. 60
    One Breath may not be a masterpiece but it does enough to suggest she has a chance of making one someday.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    If first album was THE revelation of the year, One Breath is the alucination we needed. A wonderfull mix of energy, elegance, virtuosity, from intimate to epic ambience, along all tracks with no exception. BEST album of 2013. Collapse
  2. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Anna Calvi is one musician who I hope shall take home the mercury prize, after all, its not every day an album as extravagantly, darkly and emotionally alive as this comes out. One Breath quite literally, takes your breath away. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2013
    6
    Some interesting songs like Carry me Over (the best one), Cry and Sing to me showing some musical evolution, although Sing to Me sounds cliché. Songs like "Love of my life", "Tristan" and "Piece By Piece" sound out of context. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    3
    Always the same kind of hipstery-chic albums praised by many critics while the music is dull boring and flat.
    Nothing happens, it's just
    generic rock soup all along. Come on, when was it good music? If i Had a choice between that and silence, I would choose silence. Expand