Oral Fixation Vol. 2

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 29, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 146

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Her best english album and probably one of the best female pop/rock album of all time. favorite tracks? Costume Makes The Clown, Timor, Animal City, Don't Bother, Illegal, How Do You Do, Hey You, Your Embrace, Dreams For Plans, Something, The Day and the time and Hips Don't Lie... uh oh... all of them!
  2. DavidC
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    I absolutely love this album!! It's far superior to Laundy Service and is somewhat reminiscent to what Donde estan los ladrones had. Unlike other pop stars, Shakira can be self analytic, but can also be effectively socially conscience. Only downside, both translations aren't as flowy as their spanish counterparts. This is the best pop album of the year!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Great album from Shakira both musically and lyrically. Her best English album and one of her best albums yet!
  4. davem
    Feb 9, 2006
    9
    i have to say this is my favourite album so far this year. oral fijacion 1 was an excellent array of songs and this complements it perfectly, especially the excelent How Do You and Timor. she's like a latin kate bush and there's nothing wrong with that.
  5. JoelS
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    This is album is Shakira's best ! seriously is like listening to Donde estan los ladrones? but in English, i have to admit that i miss the Laundry service sound!, but Oral Fixation Vol. 2 is more mature and honest, Shakira proves that she is more than a booty shaker. I personally recomend this album to everyone, is one of the years' best !
  6. AmberM
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    This album was amazing, just like her others including Fijacion Oral Vol.1. People say that she sounds like a man and that they cannot understand her English. That is completely and inaccurate statement in my opinion. Her English is fluent (Trust me, I know. I read everything), and she does not sound like a man. Shakira has talent, and most people can see that. El album es my bueno!
  7. titsygalore
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    this album is poo just like her other ones go home shakira
  8. CrystalH
    Jan 25, 2006
    0
    I hate shakiras music! You can barely understand what she is saying.
  9. bobw
    Jul 27, 2006
    0
    Shakira isn't even considered a singer in my books, in fact thats a disgrace to music to even categorize her as a musician!!!! They had to use so much auto-tune on her voice that she sounds like Kermit the frog! Maybe when she is no longer the flavour of the day she can get a job at Sesame street doing voice overs for Kermit! You don't fool us Shakira!!!
  10. DaveL
    Jul 27, 2006
    0
    Shakira, you have the worst voice Ive ever heard! You ought to be ashamed of yourself selling your body/soul for money and setting a horrble example to young ladies!
  11. willel
    Dec 25, 2005
    0
    shakira sucks, wannabe a rockstar, u only can shake the assm, looser, u are so fake give us a good muisc please don`t stop to comment a sh***t like this
  12. carlosf
    Dec 25, 2005
    0
    shakira apesta
  13. GregB
    Jan 13, 2006
    0
    Great ass, terrible music.
  14. LukeD
    Dec 23, 2005
    3
    Her voice is annoying! It's like listening to a goat sing
  15. KevinL
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    It's just a brilliant album.
  16. GustavoH
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    This album is th best pop album of 2005
  17. diegor
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    One of the best CDs of 2005
  18. FabianB
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    Is the best of the best!!!
  19. CesarT
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    is great
  20. mari
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    muy bueno:)
  21. RimasM
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    The best CD of the year! And of course after the re-release with Hips don't lie (the far biggest single of 2006) it got much more better!
  22. MatyasT
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    I love her music...and this CD is perfect like she is..
  23. AnneJohnson
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    I love this album! One of the best I ever listened!
  24. guilhermev
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    sensational. unique. different. complete.
  25. MariaG
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    Beautiful Felt Empowering Rich
  26. EdgarG
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Shakira is a DIva... all her songs are perfect and the lyrics are amazing! she is 1 in a billion.
  27. MarvinD
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    I 'd say Shakira's best songs, each song has its own meaning to one person's life
  28. OscarB
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    It's an album that you need to have in your collection.
  29. reivelh
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    shakira is the best there is. that's all ...
  30. a.werstler
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    This album is just amazing, the best she's ever recorded, I can only say wow
  31. SilvioP
    Nov 9, 2006
    9
    From Mexico: lustrativo, ella explota cada parte de su vida y la convierte en buena musica, a veces sencilla. No tan bueno como Vol 1, pero brilla.
  32. ChadD
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Excellent!!!!
  33. LuisG
    Dec 21, 2006
    6
    Vol 2 has its moments ... shakira with good intentions fails to garner that same respect i have for her spanish material she lacks confidence and that same clarity and poetic artistry that makes her unique really she needs to ditch the english/spanish thesaurus and let her genious flow and stop with the english and spanish tracks ( suerte and whenever wherever is the exeption it dosnt Vol 2 has its moments ... shakira with good intentions fails to garner that same respect i have for her spanish material she lacks confidence and that same clarity and poetic artistry that makes her unique really she needs to ditch the english/spanish thesaurus and let her genious flow and stop with the english and spanish tracks ( suerte and whenever wherever is the exeption it dosnt work just aimes to feal like filler songs... admist such contorted and lost in translation words there is an artitst and album playing with musical bravura and incognito ala " alanis morissette/ tori amos" ... not a total waiste but def. not a gem like vol. 1 KEY TRACKS: How Do you do, Hips Dont Lie( re-issue edition) ANIMAL city, Dont Bother, Hey You, Expand
  34. SergeyS
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    This is on of the greatest, most creative albums of all times. Definitely the best album of 2005 (rock or pop - doesn't matter, it's got everything in it). It takes a lot of listens to uncover all the multiple layers in there, but such is the case with all truly great albums that you will return to over the years, not just dump and forget. Shakira is definitely the most talented This is on of the greatest, most creative albums of all times. Definitely the best album of 2005 (rock or pop - doesn't matter, it's got everything in it). It takes a lot of listens to uncover all the multiple layers in there, but such is the case with all truly great albums that you will return to over the years, not just dump and forget. Shakira is definitely the most talented musical prodigy out there! Expand
  35. JoseC
    Jan 31, 2006
    9
    absolutely amazing. way better than LS. each song is uniquely stamped and packaged, ready to BE EXPOSED TO THE WORLD!
  36. shanah
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    She's done it again! Oral Fixation is a wonderful album! Shakira is surly a true musician.
  37. DiegoK
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    It's wonderful.
  38. argelv
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    i really think shakira deserves everything she has got. this album is awesome... your embrace and timor are such geat songs. my favorite: hey you...
  39. TomásM
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Hello guys, I´m from Argentina, and we know Shakira since her third album "Pies descalzos" (1995). In Latinoamerica everybody loves her, and her succes in the rest of the world makes us very happy. This album is great, cuz she is returning to her roots. She can´t be compared with other artists, Shakira is absolutely unique.
  40. rens
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    beautiful
  41. PedroR
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    I love her rock voice she is amazing, and the songs of the album are great!
  42. WheezieF
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    i love the variety of sounds on this album.
  43. GlennM
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    I'd give this one a ten if all they sold was the cover and a blank cd. She has cool songs to though.
  44. RodrigoR
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    The best pop album of the year!!, People, this is a great CD, especially for a person that speak english for only 5 years, so is impressive the quality of this cd that is produced and writen by a real woman who put all her emotions and feelings in make an exellent album
  45. RayC
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Just beautiful, down right wonderful music to listen to over and over again!
  46. jadapespao
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    It's pure rock-pop in the best essence. Each song is a masterpiece.
  47. meyl
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    Great Album! I specially like the first song How do you do, I recommended to people that enjoy good music and lyrics with meaning.
  48. miinsiin
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    the album is fantastic, awesome, i'm a big fan of shakira & now after this album i'm bigger.
  49. CrashNebula
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    wonderful
  50. dianac
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    is a great album!! I love it!!
  51. AlejandroA
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    wow!
  52. freddyr
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    este es un cd muy bueno se merece un % mas alto
  53. AlejandroA
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    wow!
  54. freddyo
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    good
  55. cristiang
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    Oral fixation is a very very good album, but i like all songs news, no traductions
  56. Matt
    Dec 7, 2005
    7
    Some songs show a lack of ideas (drawing from Santana, Alanis, Petula Clark, and Cyndi Lauper on various songs,) but there are enough high points to make this CD worth buying.
  57. RicardoD
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    WOW Shakira you did it again!!!!!!! Congratulations this cd is perfect.
  58. darioa
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    i think the cd is the best that me are lisen in this times. i recommended to all people.
  59. alexg
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    its beatufil..she is the best
  60. Kei
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    I love Shakira she a stong wemon and that what is so cool. she not a slut dresing like Brittney Spears i love the songs 'don't bothe'r and 'your embrace' so great all the song are diffrent! rock-pop to techno. Go shakira! and morons shakira plays guitar so how can she be a poser>? she'll also kick your ass!
  61. NathanC
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    There's nothing better out there. Shakira has so much talent. The Botero of music.
  62. JasianT
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    Shakira's best work in the U.S. so far since she first came here with Laundry Service.
  63. Wolf
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    I love Shakira! I am a big fan! Her voice is the best in the world; she makes you feel all warm inside! She also has a define talent for writing lyrics. 'Don't Bother' is the best, and not even to talk about 'Hips don't lie'... cause they don't...
  64. joeys
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Fulfilling album that's even better than its predecessor.
  65. YABoiMike
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    i think she should give me an oral fixation...ha ha
  66. thalias
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    is very very very very good!!!!!!!!! the best shakira rockss
  67. LuisV
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    I love this CD. Is the best one from her career. All the different kind of songs and rithems makes it a winner. Shakira takes all of my votes!
  68. DianaS
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Great music, excellent lyrics not many artist can produce a record this great.
  69. May 27, 2017
    10
    Certainly one of her best album (my fav from her), the mix of sounds and instruments makes it unique, lyrically proves this is a Shakira's album.
    there's mature, honesty in every song and the album is fully enjoyable, it will remain as one of her best works and one of the best albums of 2005 (if it's not the best).
    There's no artist out there who makes music like Shakira does
  70. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    It's Shakira. Of course "Oral Fixation Vol. 2" is great, but it isn't as good as some of Shakira's other albums. The best songs are "Hips Don't Lie" (of course), and "Animal City".
  71. May 30, 2016
    10
    El mejor album en ingles de Shakira, variedad de ritmos y letras, Y ademas de que tiene su Hit Hips Don't Lie, MIS FAVORITAS....TODAS, no me podria decidir
  72. May 28, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Her best English album.

    Shakira demuestra su increíble talento para componer, a mí manera de ver las cosas Hips don't lie es la única canción que no debería estar allí, no porque sea mala sino porque no va acorde con la temática del álbum, sin embargo la versión original sin esa canción no logró las ventas esperadas lo que demuestra que el talento de Shakira es muy infravalorado y su éxito se basa más en esas canciones pegajosas que nos ponen a bailar a todos.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Other artists may be bigger than Shakira while others may make more fully realized albums, but as of 2005, no other pop artist attempts as much and achieves as much as Shakira, as this often enthralling album proves.
  2. Oral Fixation Vol. 2 finds Shakira reclaiming some of the bite she showcased on 1998's smashing Donde Estan Los Ladrones?
  3. Billboard
    80
    A wonderful disc. [3 Dec 2005]