Our Version of Events Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the singer-songwriter who won the Brit's Critic Choice Award for best new artist in 2012.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    She's made an album that deserves to linger in the limelight--passionate, powerful and possessed of real star quality. [Feb 2012, p.98]
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    This is a hugely impressive introduction to a dynamic, arresting talent.
  3. 75
    In comparison to the drudge that is contemporary mainstream American pop and R&B, Emeli's folk-inflected soul/pop is Nina Simone and Bob Dylan all in one.
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Our Version of Events is an earnest collection of works by a woman who is as good a composer as she is vocalist, a lethal combination in today's pop music business.
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    60
    Nothing here compares to opening track Heaven, Sande's ubiquitous 2011 hit, though Daddy attempts the same You Got The Love dynamic with less vital results. [Mar 2012, p.102]
  6. 50
    Original it is not--there's little here that couldn't have come straight off a Shara Nelson album--but she does write some fine tunes
  7. Apr 16, 2012
    40
    Despite her undoubted vocal talents, she doesn't possess the authority to sell the bluster of her lyrics.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Excellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. Not a skippable song, also produced very well. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    Amazing. There is not a single song you want to miss on this album, from the very beginning to the end, Emeli Sandè shows her perpetual greatness through this astonishing album. As a truly gifted writer, pianist and vocalist, we see those sides of her oosing out in various songs such as Hope, My kind of love and Mountains. My favourite song is Easier in Bed, though you will find this on the deluxe edition, the simplicity and production of the song really stands out. Truly gifted artist. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Her vocals are absolute delight. The album is great from start to finish. Smooth soulful songs. Simply the best album of 2012 for me, it is still on the repeat months after I purchased it. Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    9
    I very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven and next to me are my favorite songs Collapse
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    What a fantastic debut album from this very talented singer! Full of hits that have made her one of the best talents today! Some of the album tracks are a little slow and dull but as a whole this is one very impressive debut album. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    Emeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided to release her debut album, on which there was room for up to four singles. The whole CD is based on the soulful arrangements, accompanied by a characteristic to the R&B vocals. Despite the repetition of some themes on the album, the compositions placed on it are so vivid, so stirring atmosphere that can enchant the listener. Expand