Outbursts - Turin Brakes
Outbursts Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British duo return to their folk rock roots with their debut on the Cooking Vinyl label.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. ‘Sea Change’ is as epic as anything that came later, Knights’ vocal supplemented by a rich seam of orchestration, but much of the material here could have been lifted from those early recordings, where skeletal fret work frames angelic vocals. A return to the source.
  2. While the experiment with a more edgy, rock-oriented sound worked well for the British duo, singer/songwriters Olly Knights and Gale Paridjanian are obviously most at home with their comfortable brand of melodic folk-inflected pop, and that is the sound that makes up most of the tracks on Outbursts.
  3. 80
    Although album five gets back to core values, it retains a subtle sumptuousness. [Apr 2010, p.99]
  4. 60
    Outbursts takes them full circle, back to their salad days as a melodic, acoustic folk-pop duo on simple, ringing, uplifting songs such as "Sea Change," "never Stops" and "Will Power," while the Radiohead-influenced "Radio Silence" hint at a grander ambition. [Apr 2010, p.106]
  5. This album’s calling card, Sea Change, starts so well that the rest of the album fades in its shadow.
  6. For the aforementioned first group of fans [who own every album], Outbursts, will meet all expectations—particularly since this type of low-key, overly emotional, sentimental musing is what they want from Turin Brakes. For the second group, they never knew there was a Turin Brakes to begin with and Outbursts is not going to change that.
  7. Nothing on Outbursts turns out to overblown sonically, but "Sea Change" does signal a straining quality that runs throughout the album.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of