Overpowered

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Overpowered Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former Moloko singer returns with her second solo album.

Top Track

Overpowered
When I think that I'm over you I'm overpowered Your data, my data The chromosomes match Exact as in matter A matter of fact These amaranth... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Overpowered's bubbling, sensual, and soulful glitterball gems effortlessly tap into the perennial glory of feeling lost and lonely at the disco at the end of the world.
  2. While the commercial potential of her new album may be up for debate, as a showcase for Rosin Murphy’s talent, Overpowered is an enormous success.
  3. Uncut
    80
    The result is a delight. [Nov 2007, p.115]
  4. Q Magazine
    80
    Crucially, her songwriting has deepened and matured. [Nov 2007, p.146]
  5. She's melded the two sides of her history much more seamlessly; four-to-the-floor pop belters mix with touches of electronic and lyrical darkness to make one of the pop albums of the year.
  6. Overpowered is both impressive and incredibly fun, but fun in a way that "Ruby Blue" wasn't: you don't have to think here.
  7. The result is a thoroughly modern pop album that will best appeal to ageing clubbers.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    Murphy is, efortlessly, the queen of electropop and this package of pitch-perfect gems is the living proof. Despite all the great reviews, IMurphy is, efortlessly, the queen of electropop and this package of pitch-perfect gems is the living proof. Despite all the great reviews, I personally think it's never too much to remind how brilliant and glamorous this album is, in an era when new Gagas and Ke$has come out from nowhere every single day. My favourite pop album. Ever. Collapse
  2. JesusR.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Album of the year.
  3. TexB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Roisin Murphy's second solo album is nothing short of a masterpiece. This is the kind of work that combines all the best "Roisin" Roisin Murphy's second solo album is nothing short of a masterpiece. This is the kind of work that combines all the best "Roisin" you've ever heard - the amazing grooves of the best Moloko tunes (but in a totally original disco-meets-electronica-meets-blues-meets-new wave concoction) with Roisin's quirky solo style and a beautiful, sharp yet almost velvet-like clear voice. I have followed Roisin since the "do you like my tight sweater" days of the mid-90s and "Overpowered" makes you feel like this is what it's all been building up to. Nothing short of brilliant. It's difficult to pick favorite tracks, but "You know Me better"; "Primitive"; "Dear Miami"; "Cry Baby"; Scarlet Ribbons" and "Body Language" all deserve six shining stars. Finally "Tell Everybody"...deserves seven.... Buy. This. Album. Now. Expand
  4. AaronM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Ruby Blue was excellent in that it offered gorgeous music and fun experimentation. Overpowered is excellent because Roisin has created Ruby Blue was excellent in that it offered gorgeous music and fun experimentation. Overpowered is excellent because Roisin has created electronic house/disco pop without sounding cold or calculated. Expand
  5. Simon
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    Roisin Murphy shows her essential contribution to the sound of modern music. Filled with inventive lyrics and music, Overpowered is an highly Roisin Murphy shows her essential contribution to the sound of modern music. Filled with inventive lyrics and music, Overpowered is an highly satisfying piece of work. Perhaps less interesting than Ruby Blue, but definitely amusing, entertaining and colorful, it reminds us how Moloko was driven by a potent creator. Refreshing ! Expand
  6. RuanHuman
    Feb 7, 2009
    8
    This album is generally crafty electro-pop, showcasing Roisin's talent both lyrically & musically. Standout tracks include 'Let Me This album is generally crafty electro-pop, showcasing Roisin's talent both lyrically & musically. Standout tracks include 'Let Me Know', 'Overpowered, 'Cry Baby' & 'Movie Star'. Expand
  7. ListenToTheDanielleS
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    Everything that's wrong with electronic music, all in one convenient package!

See all 17 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings