Own the Night - Lady Antebellum
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    60
    So, Own the Night is mood music but the aim isn't amorous; it's nothing more than a spot of relaxation, which doesn't quite amount to compelling listening no matter how immaculate the execution.
  2. 60
    For every well-placed mandolin run or B-3 organ riff, there's something equally tacky to balance things out.
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    40
    Raucous boot-stompers kick up the dust around soppy slowies, with many a chorus dripping with the sort of gooey gobbledygook that typifies a thousand rom-coms.
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    80
    For the most part, Lady Antebellum strikes a nice balance between the two, keeping the penchant for bighearted ballads and the vocal chemistry between Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott intact.
  5. 75
    With their easy pop-country tempos and ingratiating white-soul harmonies, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, and Dave Haywood are masters of the soft sell, an approach they employ here with characteristically genteel results.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    63
    Not surprisingly, everything sounds bigger, brighter and shinier than on Lady A's first two albums. That'll probably go over well with fans of grandiose country pop, but the all-stops-out production gradually loses impact.
  7. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    While their songs are conventional love ballads, their stories of love and its loss familiar ones, there is a palpable sense of foreboding throughout the album.
  8. Sep 12, 2011
    40
    Pumping up country's boy-girl duet tradition in a trio format, but largely minus grit or wit, Lady Antebellum's follow-up to their Grammy-gobbling Need You Now is a set of heart-squishing power ballads and airbrushed twang rockers ready to woo Walmart shoppers.
  9. Sep 11, 2011
    30
    In the past, the trio has been able to elevate their unremarkable songwriting with spirited performances, but that isn't the case on Own the Night
  10. Oct 11, 2011
    50
    While the average age of Lady Antebellum's members is a relatively youthful 28, Own The Night is purposely old-fashioned, even geriatric.
  11. Sep 30, 2011
    40
    Own the Night is mainly notable for the way it papers over emotional cracks (As You Turn Away: "No, we can't be friends/ I don't think I can take seeing you and knowing where we've been") with beige wallpaper.
  12. Sep 15, 2011
    80
    It owns its shamelessness. That cocksure stance helps to make it one of the most convincing albums of the year, a huge leap forward for a group that threatened to become famous without leaving a true mark.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Hey "megaman" could we get that in English please? Anyways, this is a pretty good CD. Own The Night has some catchy tunes on it. Just a Kiss is a great song. I saw them on SNL and they are great live. Maybe they should do a Live album next? Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    The deserved winner of the Country Album of the year Grammy. Own the night is a solid country album that to the mainstream market as well. Almost completely written by the band and perfectly produced it is one of the more solid albums of 2011. Wait, Hold up, why is a Lil Wayne fan reviewing a Lady Antebellum album? don't you have a Drive By to be doing? Full Review »
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan of Lady A since the beginning so I may be a bit biased, but I love this album. "Just a Kiss" is one of my favorite tracks simply because it's a personal song about how the lead singer and her hubby fell in love. I also saw them live and they are AMAZING! They truly are a talented group and are so appreciative of their fans. Can't wait for some more great listening material from Lady A! Full Review »