Paper Trail Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth album for the rapper features guest artists such as Ludicris, Rihanna, Usher, Jay-Z, kayne West, Lil Wayne, Justin Timberlake, and John Legend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. If you can't get with this expediently excessive piece of rich-get-richer, commercial rap albums are beyond your ken.
  2. Despite his often earnest lyrics, the radio-friendly party anthems, flirty come-ons, collaborations with A-list pals (Rihanna, Jay-Z, Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Justin Timberlake), and outstanding production prove this beleaguered bad boy still knows how to have a good time.
  3. He's embodied literature's most popular archetype--the survivor--by transforming his woes into a reflective, enjoyable album.
  4. More lyrical than Lil' Wayne and catchier than Young Jeezy, T.I. has once again proved the fact that he represents an excellent blend of lyrical talent and pop sensibility.
  5. There is a sense of urgency and a new dimension of self-reflection not touched upon throughout the holding pattern that was "T.I. vs T.I.P."
  6. Paper Trail more often succeeds when the positivity sounds more earned than court-ordered.
  7. On what has been for the most part an impeccably executed commercial rap album, TI again reminds us what he’s really capable of.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    While not excessively deep, this album is a collection of clever rhymes and excellent high profile guests such as Justin Timberlake, Usher, Ludacris, and Rihanna. While much of the album focuses on "The King of the South", when he actually gets deeper, it's really something extraordinary. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    Paper Trail is a reflective album for T.I. Lyrically he reflects on his career so far and focuses on his merits and the fact that honestly nobody currently in the game compares nor have they made it very competitive. This holds as solid material based on what he's previously accomplished and how he's blessed hip hop with the realest and best  material the past 7 years. The production in this album is something new for T.I. and isn't exactly what fans of his have come accustom to hearing from him, but then again neither is the lyrical content. The beats are more high pitched and slowed down which somewhat diminishes the quality of the album along with the lyrical content lacking the direct realness that his previous albums contained, but not by much. Not to mention what he is saying is true seeing as how no one in the game really compares. Overall this is another very good album by an artist who is on track to be the greatest and has now shown his ability to significantly diversify his music and make it a success. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    T.I. makes some good and some bad in this extrememly confusing album by T.I. His slow paced scruffy raps get irratating but once he's at it he's good.