Paramore - Paramore
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 221

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    I think this album is outstanding Every band and artist changes. They music style isn't going to stay the same because of time change The stuff that they previously write was emo and punk. That stuff is hard to write. I love the new power pop, indie rock sound to their music. She still a good song writers I am not disappointed at all. I never been a huge fan of paramore. Halley music and songs not going to sound the same because she's older and she doesn't think like she did two years ago anymore. She's not a teenager anymore. She's 24 years old and I knew that she wouldn't write the same type of songs for this album. I'm about the same age of Haley (one year younger) and three years ago I used to write emo songs and poems but in three years a lot can change. I think everybody how expect the old music should give this album a chance. It's not about you. Most of thier fans how grew up with them and about the same age might understand, but if became a paramore fan over the last five years then you might end up hating this album. I think they should cont. making indie rock music They might change back into that emo pink, depending on what happening in her life. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Overall, its hard to say anything cumulatively negative about the album. Its not perfect no, but its pretty darn close. The lows here would be a highlight on most albums any day of the week. Paramore has shown tremendous growth with each album, from kids on Falling, to teens on Riot!, to young adults on Brand New Eyes, and finally to adults on Paramore. Its amazing to see that from good albums, they make great ones. Buy this album, and the rest of their discography. The next one will be perfect, I can almost guarantee it. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Some of the criticism fans have been laying against this album is just ridiculous. If anything, Paramore has blossomed musically with this album, which is easily their best. The sound is so diverse, there's more than just guitars and electronica: there's ukeleles, string sections, harmonicas and even a gospel choir. If that's not ambition I don't know what is. Maybe it's their lyrics, there's many songs that reflect on their troubles with Farros but they're also declaring that they're moving on and willing to try new things. Highlights include Part II, Still into You, Ain't It Fun and Future. After all the drama Paramore's faced over the last three years, they've come out the other side as a multi-dimensional band who's willing to push their own limits, marking their greatest artistic statement. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Realistically I would only give this album an 8 but there have been too many people giving it ridiculously low scores.I never much cared for Paramore in the past and really only listened to this because they were playing a festival.There's a lot of good stuff on this album,some stand out cuts and because it's 64 minutes long a little filler but overall a totally solid effort.I like their experimentation,the fact that the songs are diverse,I also like the fact than when it's time to rock hard, rock hard they do.
    I believe the professional critical response is correct.For the most part they are not weighing in on what Paramore should sound like but what Paramore has become.If one wishes they had remade their previous albums, get over it, they've left the past behind.
    As for the Farro brothers, if they were the prime movers behind Paramore, what are they doing now? They haven't released anything, there is no talk of them releasing anything.I, for one, am very curious if they will ever release anything and if it will be worth releasing.If they're the geniuses, now that they've shucked Hayley,Jeremy and Taylor (those no talent anchors, weighing them down) whatever they release should be a masterwork, right? Maybe We'll find out maybe We won't.
    And as mentioned earlier I saw Paramore at the festival and then I saw them 2 more times after that, still not crazy about the old stuff but the new songs were killer live particularly "Ain't It Fun"( the show stopper in My opinion), "Part II" and "Fast In My Car"
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    This is is their best release to date, in my opinion. It shows maturity, growth, and more feeling. Paramore is hear to stay, folks. It shows that they can do it without the Farros. It showcases Hayley's songwriting skills. It's a great album, worth picking up at the store or for downloading.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Paramore are reborn.

    This album is amazing. Some of it quite different to stuff they've done before, some stuff feels quite familiar. It took me a while to get into the album, but now I have I love almost every song. I love the electronic influences. Hayley has done a great job adapting to the new line up and there are some great lyrics on the album. It's a bittersweet goodbye to the
    old Paramore, but this album makes me excited for their future. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Great Album. Waiting for a long time for their new songs. And finally, they delivered best music of their life. And have they changed? They tried to show the variety in their music with this album and we can hope that they know what works for them and make similar music in future albums. My favorite track from the album is 'Still Into You'. Hayley's vocal prowess is a show-off in that track and the music is quite catchy too. Expand
  8. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have been waiting so long for this album and boy an i not disappointing. Paramore is back and better then ever. My standout tracks are: Still Into You, Part II and Future.
  9. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    Paramore is back with new stuff after 4 years without coming out of the box, but many "FANS" are complaining about the new sound, so here's a little message for them: you are not the same person from the day you were born until now. you've changed, you've grown. and so did paramore. if you can't handle it, sorry, but that's how things are. they're better then ever, and let's face it, you wouldn't be satisfied even if they've made a spin-off of riot!. you guys are ridiculous. Expand
  10. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    an album with much variety that not only please the fans like me but it also infect people who have not heard the 16 songs strong and innovative.......
  11. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    I've been waiting for this album for awhile now, and I'm pretty damn happy. They gave us a bit of the old paramore, some tracks mixed with synth beats, and a bit of folk; I found this to be a very diverse and enjoyable album.
  12. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    This album is absolutely PERFECT. One of the best releases of 2013. Paramore is changing from now till then, but what matters the most is that they're still very good. Like VERY VERY good. And this album is no different than their previous critical success. The album kicks off the with awesome intense Fast in my car, the comes the addicting lead single "NOW", Then "Grow Up" and "Daydreaming" which are very impressive. The one I like the most is Moving On, the interlude. All the other songs are very well-done and organized, like "Hate To See Your Heartbreak", "STILL INTO YOU" (which is my favorite on the record), "Ain't It Fun", "ANKLEBITERS", and "PART II". And Hayley's vocals shine through the whole deal!
    Even if you're not a Paramore fan, Go out and buy this. It's worth the time and the money. 10/10. GO PARAMORE!
    Expand
  13. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I've been a huge fan of Paramore since day one, and this album was far from disappointing. In fact, it was inspiring. I was inspired by the growth that the band has demonstrated. This album is better than All We Know Is Falling, RIOT!, and brand new eyes. Basically, this album proves that Paramore is better off without the Farro Brothers.

    Admittedly, the opening song is mediocre
    compared to the rest of the album. Fast In My Car. HOWEVER, the rest of the tracks make up for it. If I had to make one change, I would make Now the opener instead and put Fast In My Car later on.

    High Points: Grow Up, Ain't it Fun, Part II, Proof.
    Low Points: Fast In My Car (only lyrically).

    Not all Paramore fans will like this album, which is fine. They just didn't come in with an open mind.
    Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Great album. All of the tracks are fun to listen and fluid (including the interludes). Outstanding album, that will break your heart with Still Into You and empowered with Now. If you're a Paramore fan, it's definately worth the buy.
  15. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    I was a bit scared for this album, but it surprised me! Every track has its different sound. There is something here for everyone. Some of their strongest and most mature music yet. Hayley is growing up!
  16. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This Album is pure gold from beginning to end, maybe it changed from what Paramore used to sound but the changed for good and this sounds really cool with new electronic sounds, this is a must have album Paramore put great effort in this and is reflected in their music....
  17. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This album is the prime example of what happens when a band GROWS UP. The old songs by Paramore were about the hardships of life through a teenager's eyes. Songs like "Misery Business" and "crushcrushcrush" were great, (and dominated the songs played on my iPod in 2007 and 2008) but had little sustenance, and very straight forward lyrics. There was no deeper meanings to the songs that make good songs great. The band actually said that they looked to reinvent themselves as a more mature band with the release of this album. This increased maturity is seen in songs like "Last Hope" and "Part 2." Not only are they written very well, but they are also performed well for a band who only has three actual members.
    One thing that people seem to be getting upset about is the change, saying that they don't "sound like Paramore" anymore. Well, you also have to remember that half of the band left, and that they actually stated that they are TRYING to change. I understand that this comparison will be a stretch, but when the Beatles changed from naive love songs to psychedelic masterpieces, what was the outcome? They created some of the most critically acclaimed albums of all time and the band THRIVED from it. So stop expecting the old emo- pop that they grew famous for. Expect songs with deeper meanings, well written melodies, and intense guitar solos.
    Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    I am really impressed with the writing and more positive spin on the album as a whole. As an avid listener of all Paramore albums, it can get a little repetitive listening to the "teen raging" songs all the time. This new album feels grown-up while keeping Paramore's signature sounds of alternative rock and Hayley's loud, rebellious singing. The Gospel/Funk song "Ain't It Fun" was impressive to me, I would have never predicted that Hayley William's could sing so well in that style. I do believe that in the past version of this band, the album would have been edited differently and some songs would have been left out in order to create a cohesive, theme-based album, but it's the all-or-nothing musical ambition that makes this album stand out among the previous three albums and emulates their maturity as they grow into serious musicians. Expand
  19. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    The release of rock group Paramore’s eponymous fourth album is going to be scrutinized even more than usual due to the very public loss of two of the band’s founding members, brothers Josh and Zac Farro. The Tennessee band- whose previous hit, “The Only Exception”, earned them a Grammy nomination- is now reduced to Hayley Williams on vocals, Taylor York on guitar, and Jeremy Davis on bass. However, the band is one to take a licking and keep on ticking, as proved by their 2009 effort “Brand New Eyes” and this new record.

    “Fast In My Car” kicks off the album with a hardcore percussive beat and immediately addresses the behind the scenes drama with lyrics like, “The three of us were initiates/We had to learn how to deal/And when we spotted a second chance/We had to learn how to steal”, just to name a few. “Now”, the album’s first single, is a pure head-banger, while at the same time recalling good old Paramore tracks like “Misery Business”.

    Williams’ fiery vocals are here in spades, but aren’t as in-your-face as with their other albums. She gives her fellow bandmates spots to shine, though that’s not to say she doesn’t pull through- quite the opposite. Her performance on “Paramore” is much more emotionally driven than something like “That’s What You Get”, or “Brick By Boring Brick”: songs that were written and performed as heavy attacks. It’s clear that the Farros’ departure has affected not only Williams’ songwriting, but her drive as well, which is especially clear on songs like “Ain’t It Fun”, which has Williams sharing the stage with a full-fledged choir, “Hate To See Your Heart Break”, a well-earned detour from the rest of the album’s intensity, and “Last Hope”, which will go down with “All I Wanted” as one of Williams’ most intensely personal performances ever.

    For hardcore Paramore fans, the band’s new direction may take some getting used to, as it did for this reviewer. But “Paramore” takes advantage of this reload, while still giving fans a lot to work with- The album’s 17 tracks clock in at a little over an hour. It’s the band’s best work yet and flat-out, bar none good music. If all this drama makes for an album this good, one wonders what the rest of their career will be like.
    Expand
  20. May 17, 2013
    10
    this is a great album
    something paramore crue never done before
    its unique and random full of lots of genres
    great! i love this album very much and that's they're best album so far
  21. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Even being so pop, they know how to make music. An excellent album with excellent songs since the gospel choired 'Ain't it Fun' until the pop ballad '(One of Those) Crazy Girls', passing by the rock of 'Now' and 'Anklebiters'.
  22. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    As a fan I had to say this album is not their best, but is amazing. In this album Paramore explored new things, and this is cool. Even Brand New Eyes and Riot! being better, this album is still good
  23. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This album is different for sure, but its so diverse and well written that its a fantastic listen, there is a song for anyone, whether you want electro-pop, rock, country, funk, its a step in the right direction for paramore
  24. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album is perfect. As a fan since 2007, I'm completely satisfied. All of these changes was important for them to grow. They're definitely writing their future as the rock band they were born to be.
  25. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    i can't remember the last time i heard a really good pop-rock album. 'paramore' is just amazing, i don't have words to describe this album, just 'epic'. i think this is the best album of 2013. hayley's voice is so incredible and each song is so amazing and different. i love 'now, 'fast in my car', 'ain't it fun', 'still into you', 'hate to see your heart break', 'one of those crazy girls', 'part 2' and 'proof' Expand
  26. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    It may alienate some listeners because of its evolved sound, but trust me, this album is SOOOOO GOOD. Its diversity is sprawling-- sometimes polished, sometimes chaotic, but the overall feel of the album is heavenly. Their lyrics also evolved and sometimes improved, lesser whining but sometimes it also gets a bit off-putting since they sound too angry at times. But anyways, this is my favorite album by Paramore. Some may love it, some may dismiss it, but as what I read from another review: "If you're not having fun at some point in the album, then you're wrong." :) Expand
  27. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    From their past bewildered sheets of notes and start-off dilemmas, Paramore's self entitled album shows different variations and astonishing diversions, from that sheer, probable band to a powerful new unleashed cool kids adapting many of the greatest acts in the world of music adding notable twists of ukulele and of course the intoxicating vocal power of Hayley Williams, teaming up with great instrumentalists working their asses off for new genres. Fiercely creating 17 fully-packed compelling, wondrous songs that inevitably will find your taste whatever genre you want to listen. Truly, one of the best albums paramore have ever crafted. Expand
  28. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I cannot believe people criticize this album for it being "pop". As a person who had listened to different generations of pop, no. This is not pop music. I mean, the only pop song I can see is Still Into You! It's like when Arcade Fire gets bashed for doing "new stuff" in Reflektor. Anyhow, this is definitely one of the best albums I have heard this year. Not the best. But most certainly one of the best. The flawless sequencing of the songs and the interludes that soften the mood for a while before the sudden return of pace. The immaculate voice of Hayley Williams, too. I honestly know nothing about this Farro brothers affair and how they broke up, but that doesn't matter. What matters is the music. Expand
  29. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    I never thought that Paramore would be able to do an album like this! Its incredible. All the songs are just amazing and Hayley's voice is a therapy! I'm in love with it, one of the best albums of 2013. Ps: "One of those crazy girls" is awesome!!
  30. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    I'm a fan of Paramore since 2008. I confess that this album isn't best of the band, but this album is amazing, every song... Paramore has always given albums where every song is good, and this is no different. Great lyrics, and catchy beats. Good job, Paramore!
  31. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    De fato, é um dos melhores (senão o melhor) álbums do paramore, nunca me surpreendi tanto com paramore em questão de revirada musical, paramore deixou seu lado "adolescente-rock" para virar uma banda alternative mais madura, o álbum é sensacional, destacamos "Now" como uma indireta (bem direta) á industria músical sobre a saída dos Farros e boatos que a banda tinha acabado, o retorno foi impressionante. Expand
  32. May 28, 2013
    9
    Paramore without the Farro brothers to many, is not Paramore. But this self-titled effort is so good, that you forget they were even in the band. This is definitely their best album. Experimenting with new wave, indietronica synths, power pop sounds, ukuleles, alternative country music, and soul singing styles and gospel choirs, Paramore seems like a self-discovery effort. They truly show how much they've grown and how much the Farro's departure has affected them, but that they've moved on and it's all fine. Starting with Fast In My Car, a rebellious, anxious piece of punky power pop with a fun use of new wave sounds, it's one of the most adventerous tracks. Now has a much more alternative rock, almost hardcore feel with some of te best vocals by Hayley Williams, a spunky, soulful singer with an amazing voice, which shows extensive range. Grow Up is a track with a Caribbean beat and some No Doubt inspired ska rock rhythms and drums, all topped with some new wave, indietronic synths. Perhaps, the most adventurous track is Ain't It Fun, the obvious highlight of the album. That soul in Hayley's voice, the funk rock feel, the sarcasm in its lyrics, the larger-than-life gospel choir, all of that makes Ain't It Fun an instant classic. Part II is another noteworthy track which has great lyrics and resembles some of the band's previous work. Daydreaming is an amazing song that could have also been used for an album opener with its dream pop sound and alt-rock surroundings. Still Into You, another obvious highlight, is Paramore's most blatant, straightforward pop song of their career. Hayley's voice is demanding and effective. She truly makes you feel like she really is into you. On Proof, Hayley sounds tough and like all the proof she really does need is her squeeze. On Hate To See Your Heart Break, a country-esque ballad, Hayley is sweet and vulnerable. (One Of Those) Crazy Girls is a track recalling the most recent alternative country stylings of Best Coast, channeling Taylor Swift for lovelorn, crazy-in-love lyrics. It's an impressive feat. Anklebiters is a track that poses as a marriage of Paramore's older punk sound and their newer, power pop arrangements. A fan favorite, for sure. The interludes offer some diversity to the already vast sounds on Paramore, with the simple use of a ukulele and Hayley's crooning vocal. In all, Paramore is a success story. An album heavily inspired by the departure of the Farros, but also an album of self-discovery and experimentation. Fans looking for the classic Paramore sound will be disappointed, but the open-minded ones who welcome new sounds and don't throw fits at every little sound out of the Paramore norm are the ones who count. Paramore is one of the best albums of the year and a monster achievement for the band.
    HIGHLIGHTS: Ain't It Fun, Still Into You, Grow Up, Daydreaming, Fast In My Car, (One Of Those) Crazy Girls, Part II, Proof
    Expand
  33. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Paramore is back and better than ever! Paramore's self-titled album is utterly brilliant and filled with a diversity of music, in fact this album is actually much, much better than the other albums that Paramore has released. This album would have got a flawless 10 out of 10 rating if some songs were just a little bit better, but that aside, this album is fantastic. There will be some Paramore fans upset with their departure from teen rock, but this album brings a more creativity and experiment sound to their discography, and it's brilliant. I highly recommend this album and I hope for more albums like this in the future. Expand
  34. May 4, 2013
    9
    This is easily one of the more talked about & one of the most polarizing albums of 2013 so far, and not without good reason. Between 2/5 band members leaving, this being their first album in 4 years & more importantly showing a significant change in sound, division among fan reception would be inevitable. Fortunately what we’ve gotten is their most ambitious, mature & diverse album to date, and in my opinion their best, even above Riot!. At 17 tracks and 63 minutes long (19 tracks & 70 minutes if you include the bonus tracks) it’s quite easy to make an album of such length feel bogged down or redundant. But Paramore manages to engage the listener throughout the whole length, mainly because of the aforementioned diversity. The band zig-zags from one sound or style or feeling to another between tracks in a way that makes every track notable to some degree, and there’s no sign of filler to be found. One interesting recurring element here is a trio of interludes that appear at different points throughout. Basically they’re 1-minute pseudo-lo-fi acoustic songs that couldn’t have been stretched to a more “full” length. This was a good move, as restricting them to the standard pop structure might’ve bogged them down a bit. Unquestionably the most controversial song here is the most recent single “Still into You”, which people are accusing of being too poppy, and even the ever-overused term “sellout” has been thrown around. And to those claiming this is “meant for the Katy Perry crap tween girl audience” or whatever I have to ask... are you listening to these lyrics? They very clearly detail a long-term & mature relationship. Not exactly “Hey I just met you & this is crazy”. Heck, if anything this is a song for old people. But with that defensiveness out of the way, this is a great song. It’s an unabashedly bubblegummy power-pop tune with a nice guitar riff, infectious melodies & the aforementioned sweet & sincere message. This album in general seems to center lyrically on moving forward, looking to the future rather than hanging onto the past (like certain “fans” should do...), and being happy in your current situation. They’re not exactly angsty teenagers anymore. And they even at times come off very self-aware of how alienating these changes can be to a closed-minded fanbase, especially in tracks like “Grow Up”, “Anklebiters” & “Future”, where in the former the general message is summed up in the titular line “Some up of have to grow up sometimes If I have to I’m gonna leave you behind” as well as pretty much every line in the first verse. It displays the honest frustration an evolving musician experiences when people whine about them not being exactly the same as they were 7 years ago. But at the same time they manage to appreciate the past at times, like in “Part II” which is a pretty clear sequel to “Let the Flames Begin” from Riot!, and in my opinion surpasses it in quality. The 8-minute monster of a closing track (on the standard edition) Future is easily my favorite track here. The first couple minutes are fairly simple & intimate, comprising of an acoustic guitar, harmonica & Hayley singing about the titular & aforementioned themes of not living in the past. But then slowly but surely it builds into the last 5 minutes, a fantastic instrumental that rides a slow & heavy (for Paramore) groove driven by pounding drums, deep basslines & huge wailing guitar leads. As for other notable tracks, there’s the soft & sensitive ballad “Hate to See Your Heart Break”, the goofy & kinda funny “(One of Those) Crazy Girls”, the keyboard & gospel-tinged “Ain’t It Fun” & those looking for “classic” Paramore can find that in bonus tracks “Native Tongue” & “Escape Route”, which the band said they purposefully left off because it didn’t fit with the stylistic growth of the rest of the album. Overall I was pretty much blown away by this album. It’s a fantastic comeback that shows the band at their most creative & uncompromising.

    Top 5 tracks: Future, Still into You, Grow Up, Ain’t It Fun, Now
    Score: 94/100
    Expand
  35. May 13, 2013
    9
    It really surprised me with this album. When i hear "Now" notice a big change in the sound of them. I honestly never thought I would give the criticism "Universal acclaim" but it was the opposite, so I encourage you to hear this new work. The band has been reduced to three members, but Paramore has shown in this work that do not need a large group to show the world that, despite their bad times, they know how to get ahead.
    If you are a true fan of Paramore, obviously I love this job, but if you liked the old style of Paramore, then you will not find this work very good. But, so what? This is a new beginning that leads to a new look and, most importantly, a new sound, really knew innovate.

    As a new feature we highlight three interludes, all with the same indie-country sound we had never heard Paramore. In fact, it is a very popular type of music in Tennessee, the place where they come from.

    With this album, the Paramore are ready to begin a new chapter in their lives, which is why I consider a good job, not all age groups are willing to take these risks getting, well, good reception.
    Expand
  36. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Na minha opinião melhor álbum do Paramore, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, tudo pra ser um CD icônico, eles melhoraram muito ao longo do tempo, até chegar a esse som maduro e muito bom.
  37. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    Okay so I have always been a huge fan of Paramore so it was pretty likely that I was going to score this highly. All I can say is if you weren't a massive fan of Paramore before this album then I urge you to give it a try. There is still the distinctive sound that we associate with Paramore, however there are lots of great added elements to it. This may not be the loyal "Parawhore's" favourite album or for the people that "only love alt rock" but it's their loss. In my opinion there is something in there for everyone, from the slow "Hate To See Your Heart Break" to the poppy and upbeat "Still Into You" and "Anklebiters" you're bound to love something. This album is brilliant and is only bought down by one point as I don't believe it is the best lyrically. But believe me, Paramore are back, and they're better than ever. Expand
  38. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Great album! Paramore albums always seemed rather one-note to me so the diversity here is refreshing. Also, as if it hasn't been said enough around the web, Rubin is a great improvement on drums. The musicianship here is rock solid. Who would have thought that losing their founding members would be what they needed to finally blossom?
  39. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    This album too a while to grow on me. After listening through it about a dozen times and seeing most of it preformed live i can say this album is better then a lot say it is. Yes it is very different, but this change is like a breath of fresh air. I can't say i love every song on this album hence the rating of 9 but i can say that the songs i do like pull me in and leave me wanting more every time. So before you write this off as a bad album give it a listen and try and see if you can adapt to this new twist on Paramore. Expand
  40. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    I've never been the biggest Paramore fan but have always been a huge fan of their singles but the albums never really appealed to me. Whilst too long this album delivers a number of triumphant tracks and should be listened to anybody with even the slightest interest in hooky guitar tracks and even those up for some variety as Paramore expand their horizons on this release. Shame it's so long, it could easily do with being 3 or 4 songs shorter. Expand
  41. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    Paramore has found a new sincere fan now. I gave this album a serious listen (I've heard all of their previous songs) and this record is just pure awesomeness. They have evolved, they have adapted a new style and a rather new sound which doesn't disappoint you at all because it has all the elements of their previous style. The best thing about this album is that some of the songs are really catchy and the band has focused on both lyrics and music which is rare these days. Hayley's ever mesmerizing and powerful vocals are too brilliant in this one and she sounds sweet at the same time. I was worrying whether they would be able to make good music after the departure of Josh and Zac Farro but they have proved that Paramore, as a band, would remain as much cool as it always was. Expand
  42. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    In this case, “new” can mean a lot of different things.

    In the almost eight years since Paramore released their debut LP, All We Know Is Falling, their sound has been described as emo, pop-punk, rock, post-grunge, alternative, and something called “emo metal”, according to Rolling Stone.

    After streaming their self-titled fourth album over the course of four nights this week, I have
    tossed out all of those labels, because these three have managed to redefine who they are and what Paramore’s music is all about with one hell of an album.

    Anyone who is likely to read this doesn’t need a history lesson about what Hayley Williams, Taylor York, and Jeremy Davis have been through over the course of the last 4 or 5 years. Their third album, the incredible brand new eyes, was essentially an autobiographical tale of the band’s personal struggles with one another. While it concluded with a sense of hope (see “Looking Up” and “Where the Lines Overlap”), the band as it was constituted was fractured and could not move forward as a cohesive unit. When the dust settled, Hayley, Jeremy, and Taylor picked up the pieces and moved on.

    When the threesome surfaced from the studio in late 2011 with four reflective songs that would eventually become their Singles Club, they declared their intention to put the past behind them and focus on the future of Paramore. The band remained open and honest with their fans, keeping us updated and taking us along for the ride as they set out to create their fourth album. They seemed reenergized and, above all else, happy. Guided by producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Paramore entered an LA studio last summer determined to make the album they’ve always wanted to make. What they emerged with is their most ambitious, best-sounding, and universally satisfying body of work to date.

    To try to describe Paramore as any one specific sound would be an exercise in futility. It samples from practically every genre of music under the sun, and features an incredibly diverse collection of instrumentation. The powerhouse lead single “Now” is traditional Paramore, as is the intense rockers “Be Alone” and “Part II” (as in, the sequel to 2007’s “Let the Flames Begin”). “Last Hope” and “Daydreaming” find the band paying homage to 90’s alterative acts with subtle verses and big crescendos. Did you know that before they joined Paramore, Hayley and Jeremy were in a funk band? Listen to “Ain’t It Fun,” the sure-hit groover that finds Jeremy and Hayley channeling Bootsy Collins and Mariah Carey, respectively, and you’ll understand.

    Paramore is definitely much more of a pop album than some (less open-minded) fans may care for. But even these “pop” songs (“Fast In My Car,” “Still Into You,” “Grow Up,” and the aforementioned “Ain’t It Fun”) are too well-crafted and, frankly, too substantive to be lumped in with the countless other Top 40 acts du jour. Whether it was JMJ’s influence or Taylor’s songwriting ambition, this album features synthesizers…lots of them. But the keyboards manage to bolster the songs listenability without interfering with them, which is impressive considering the band never recorded with them before.

    Paramore’s most valuable asset, Hayley’s voice, has never sounded better. Her face-melting wails are balanced by the album’s three ukulele accompanied interludes and the gentle and beautiful “Hate to See Your Heart Break.” Lyrically, Hayley has put the band’s new outlook in the forefront. The overarching theme of this record is “when happens, pick yourself up and move forward, because there is a lot more life to live.”

    Paramore’s only real misstep, and I feel I may be nitpicking, is the organization of the songs. The interludes, for the most part, are catchy. But the sleepy “Holiday” wedged in between the Blink 182-inspred punk burst of “Anklebiters” and the Riot!/brand new eyes hybrid stomper “Proof” was a letdown. Also, “(One of Those) Crazy Girls,” which is a cross between the Ronettes and Weezer, seemed a little out of place toward the end of the record, and may become an afterthought.

    Nevertheless, Paramore is a sterling effort that the band and their adoring fans can be proud of. They’ve been through a lot, especially for a group of twenty-somethings who will undoubtedly continue to evolve and adapt. The end result is a collection of 17 songs that offers something for everyone. It is ambitious and traditional, insouciant and focused, fist-pumping and tender.

    A while back, Paramore left us as a troubled quintet seemingly pulling in opposite directions. They have reintroduced themselves as a refreshed, rededicated, and resilient trio of damn good musicians, moving on together, for one another, and for their fans.
    Expand
  43. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    1st listen through I didn't quite get it. 2nd listen through found some catchy tunes I liked. Third listen through I realized i could appreciate the new sound. It is different, but at its core it's still hayley and paramore. There some really cool directional twists and turns throughout. In my opinion it could have packed a little bit of a punch with a few less songs. Still a great album, worth the effort to re-listen a few times, chances are you will keep coming back to the album until every song is a favorite. It's a record that focuses a little less on a heavy guitar riff and a little bit more on a bass groove. There's also a lot more experimentation with sound effects, which I dig. This an album that i won't be putting on the backburner any time soon. Expand
  44. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    What this self-titled album ultimately proves is that Paramore doesn't need anyone else. The dramatic split from the Farros and its effects showed in Paramore's singles releases soon after that, but the band has settled into a position most comfortable to them. The album is a Paramore at its core with electronic elements thrown in for good leverage. Tracks such as the spunky-yet-cute pop rocker "Still Into You" and the diva flair of "Ain't It Fun" highlight the band's great knack for writing huge songs, but other tracks, such as the obnoxious lead single "Now" and the drawn-out closer "Futures," miss the mark. Paramore has taken the opportunity to write out their journey since then while taking several jabs at their former bandmates and have made this record the end of their past troubles while making a statement about who they are and what they have to prove from here on out. Expand
  45. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    this is the only Paramore album I've been able to listen in its entirety and enjoy, probably it's not gonna change nobody's perspective of music or anything, but you're gonna have a good time listening.
  46. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Paramore might have lost some of their "Paramonsters" during the Farro brothers' controversial split from the Tennessian band and through their transition out of their wishy-washy pop-punk sound. But let's be honest, this has simply strengthened the band's mainstream success as well as their overall personality and sound. Although the self-titled album may not always be as honest as it implies itself to be, it's never short of bold, broadening their sound into territories such as R&B, funk, Motown, and folk, which should earn the band an all new respect from the hipsters in the music. And yet their initial sound is still easy to find and the charm never dies. Hayley Williams' vocals are some of the finest in the industry and the album could very well be considered her own solo debut album. Although lead single "Now" musically lacks the charisma the rest of the album glorifies, it's still an awesome introduction. "Grow Up" and "Ain't It Fun" are obviously an opposition to the Farro brothers' controversial statements on how "manufactured" the band and Williams are, and it comes out more successful than one would think. While 60s inspired songs "Hate to See Your Heart Break" and "One of Those (Crazy Girls)" are warm to the ears, "Still into You" was specifically tailored for top 40 radio and yet it still sounds so fun and natural (the way pop should be). So in general, it may not cling to longtime lovers of their more genuine yet formulaic punk-esque sound, most audiences should find it to be a mature yet charming and young entry into the band's promising career. Expand
  47. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Took a long time to enjoy the album, but I got there. Hayley Williams' voice is beyond perfect. The album is a masterpiece! The direction to moving to a more 'pop' genre was absolute genius. Amazing (although it took a while to grow on me).
  48. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    the first few listens, I believed this album was rather good, although it did perhaps need some subtlety in there to vary certain tracks. But a few listens later, I have officially decided that this is in fact a bold, touching and roaring stadium-tastic 17 track wonder by a band who have done better than ever before with 2 of their members gone.
  49. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Following the departure of the Farro brothers in late 2010, the rest of Paramore (lead singer Hayley Williams, guitarist Taylor York, and bassist Jeremy Davis) decided to continue the band. But would they retain their signature pop-punk style, given that the departed Farros (guitarist Josh Farro and drummer Zach Farro) had cofounded the band and helped define its sound? The Singles Club in 2011 indicated that they possibly would. However, their fourth studio album, the self-titled Paramore, displays a progression in the band's sound. It's a change that, while not perfect, is refreshing and diverse.

    A few songs, such as "Part II" and "Last Hope," are reminiscent of the band's older songs the former could easily have fit on All We Know Is Falling. The rest of the album is different, with new wave and electronic sounds incorporated into the songs. Lead single "Now" is more of a punk-driven track, and would be great if Williams' vocals on it didn't sound like a bad imitation of Gwen Stefani. "Still Into You," the follow-up single, is more of a pop rock song, but it's still a fun, enjoyable track. Other standouts include "Ain't It Fun," which features funk influences and a gospel choir; the aforementioned "Part II" and "Last Hope;" the Riot!-esque "Proof," and the closing track "Future." There are also a few short interlude tracks that I felt were unnecessary and out of place. The drum work on the album is pretty good, thanks to Ilan Rubin (of Nine Inch Nails and Angels & Airwaves fame) filling in behind the kit.

    Overall, the album is a solid work, albeit a little disjointed and sometimes too poppy. It reminded me of Blink-182's self-titled album, which also featured a progression in the band's sound and greater musical diversity. For better or worse, Paramore are moving on.
    Expand
  50. May 11, 2013
    7
    Ya know, i really like Paramore, but this is not their best work. Its good, but not thier best. Also, sorry Paramore i think Tonight Alive is my new favorite Female Vocal band. Jenna McDougal
  51. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    Paramore have never been known to stray too far from the pop punk trend. Their previous efforts were clean cut, yet well produced, albums that deserve the positivity they have gotten. What we get with this new album is something very out of the ordinary for paramore...Experimentation. I think it's very fitting to call this an experimental album. With such variety and risks, it really can't be called anything else. In terms of the songs i was pleased with a majority of what was offered, but also felt it was too long for it's own good. I felt the interludes were redundant and didn't need to be there. Out of the other 14 tracks, ten of them i liked. The ones i just didn't like enough were "proof" "(one of those) crazy girls" and "hate to see your heart break". The rest of the songs ranged from pretty good, to fantastic. The best songs for me were "Future", "Ain't it fun" and "part II". Many fans of paramore will be drastically upset by these changes, and will probably fail to truly appreciate what this album is offering, which is a crying shame.

    Due to it's length and few redundant songs, the album just isn't perfect. But when it's good, it shines, and is definitely worth an avid listen, whether you're a fan of their previous work or not, because chances are, there is at least one song on this album that you will love.

    Hopefully through the experimentation of this album, Paramore will find a more solid basis on their next album and be able to refine their sound into something truly magical. Overall, i give this album a well deserved 7 out of 10
    Expand
  52. May 19, 2013
    6
    One has learnt to expect not much change from album to album with Paramore. Their pop rock sound with rather heavy and monotone riffs is kind of their trademark. This time there is no much difference. There are no outstanding tracks and the pauses implied in those mellow acoustic banjo-like interludes doesnt seem to give you that feel of a break. All things considered, any Paramore fan should be able to enjoy this album. And i'd like to make to mention one song aside from the rest of the album, which i think is the best: Future. This is like non other i've heard from them before, and it shows change or growth for that matter. It shows that there is kind of an alternative edge to them as well. The last part of it even reminded me of Radiohead. Anyways, the record is worth a listen to any fan, and everyone should give at least the track "Future" a listen. Expand
  53. May 12, 2013
    6
    After a long wait for the new album it has finally arrived. I was curious to hear the direction Paramore would be heading on their latest effort. While it may not have the impact of their previous work, it still is a decent record. This latest album may be missing some of the alternative rock sound and replaced it with pop-rock. I would rate the music around a b- and the lyrics around a c-, although Hayley's voice and vocal patterns make up for some of the imperfections. It feels very polished and produced almost too much, which seems stale at times. For the fans who are expecting "All We Know Is Falling" or "Riot" type records I think you will be a little disappointed. Those who appreciate an album redefining the idea of what Paramore's music means. This will be an alright record to check out. Personally I feel this album will be worth playing for a month or two but won't be replayed very frequently after. "Fast In My Car", "Now", "Ain't It Fun", and "Still In To You" are the highlights of the album. Expand
  54. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    Paramore became something totally right, well crafted and between the lines, when everything everyone loved about them was that they were stripped, misfits and bold.
  55. Sep 4, 2013
    5
    Paramore's newest album is missing what made albums like Riot! so great. They experimented with new sounds in this album but most of the time it didn't work because it didn't sound like the Paramore we have come to love over the years. change can be good but in this case it didn't work for a good chunk of the album. After the departure of the 2 primary band members they haven't been the same.
  56. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    I was waiting for one of the tracks to kick into the pop-punk awesomeness that was a hallmark of Riot, but it never happened. Not my style at all, but I can see where it can be appealing. I'm sorry to see them move away from a style that made them what they are. Innovation is good, but not at the expense of your identity.
  57. Apr 9, 2013
    5
    This got an 84 and Riot got a 67? Wow... critics are dumb as hell.
    Riot is so much better than this electronic-crap.
    Vocals are edited so much on a lot of the songs that it's pure annoying with her voice.
    Drums have improved since the last CD though.
  58. Apr 9, 2013
    4
    Electronic? Or just messed up? Probably both...First of all, the album has too many useless, droning songs. Secondly, the racy Paramore I knew were gone. Not that I am complaining about it, but that Hayley Williams is singing silly boring lyrics. And where is the power pop? Some good songs...but too long and too calm...
  59. May 18, 2013
    4
    There are two types of bands in this world: Those who evolve and those who change. Paramore's self titled album is a prime example of what happens when a band changes.

    Let's be honest here, at least a good portion of fans bought this album expecting to hear the sound which made Paramore great, the fast rifts and in your face attitude. If you haven't gotten the idea from reading thus
    far, I'll spell it out for you; if you're going into buying it expecting to hear the successor to "Riot!" and "Brand New Eyes" (Nevermind "All We Know Is Falling"), you're going to be sorely sorely disappointed. The first single, "Now", is more or less what one would expect if the band had announced that they were working with Avril Lavigne's producer; glimpses of Paramore's signature pop-punk sound with very poppy overtones. The track itself however isn't all that bad, but would really only be considered filler if it were on any of their previous albums. This bring us to the second single, "Still Into You". "Still Into You" presents a radical departure from anything even remotely close to the old Paramore sound and what seems to have made 95% of Paramore fans fly into a rage. With this one, Paramore evidently wanted to channel their inner Katy Perry from everything from the overall sound to the video in itself in a completely serious manner. In fact, the only way it could sound poppier is if Ms. Perry herself were featured in it. I don't wish to get into a debate on whether or not the Farro brothers' departure from the band are what caused this change or who is/was the true creative force in Paramore, but I will say that just about every song seems to be, or at least contain, a cheap stab at them in one way or another that would make Taylor Swift say "Not bad".

    The album is not without it's hidden gems however, as songs like "Anklebiters" and "Part II" present a sound one would expect if this sudden change were instead foreshadowed in their last album, a more balanced pop-punk/power pop combo and are relatively decent tracks. Aside from that, however, most of the songs on the track seem to echo my thoughts on "Now" in having a very pop overtone to them, but are mostly unremarkable. Other songs however are more Indie inclined and contain things from a ukulele and a choir, among other things, but the overall album is still pretty pop sounding. For some reason I can't fathom, this album seems to be being pushed as the quintessential sound of a bands maturity and progress, when it's really anything but.

    All in all I'm saddened to say that this blundered experimental album is the only Paramore album that I have had to force myself to listen to in its entirety, and that's only because I was desperately trying to find more than two songs that actually sounded like Paramore to keep myself from relapsing into the deep depression my medication tries so hard to fend off. This album really is a dividing line between fans, as you can only really either love it or hate it. Hardcore fans will cry blood, casual fans will wonder when Kelly Clarkson and Avril Lavigne gave birth to their lovechild and why they're in Paramore now, but new fans will be attracted to it's mainstream radio friendly electro-power pop sound. If you're truly thinking about running out and buying this album, I'd give it a listen in it's entirety on the Web first to make sure that it's your cup of tea unless the place you buy it from has a return policy.

    I personally dislike this album very very very very much (I say this to avoid using the word 'hate'), and I really hope that this isn't a permanent change and that Paramore will be back and better than ever next time and that whoever told them that going in this direction was a great idea be hung from a tree and beaten like a piñata.

    I'm giving this album a very deserving 4/10.
    Expand
  60. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    "Paramore" is not so Paramore... New direction and new sound with this one as well. This album is proof that the Farro brothers were the biggest and most important part of the band's writing process since they but mainly Josh composed all the music (this is a fact and is actually documented in Paramore videos and interviews) and Hayley would write lyrics to them. They lost their signature sound and their unique feel. Everyone is trying to defend the band by saying they have evolved etc. No. Don't get me wrong I'm all for evolution bur "Evolve" is one thing and "Change" is another... They've changed not evolved. They evolved from "All We Know Is Falling" to "Riot!". From "Riot!" to "Brand New Eyes". Even from "Brand New Eyes" to "Singles Club". This album is "Change", period. It's just a different band to me and not just because of their music but also because of their image,direction and overall musical approach. And one last thing to everyone praising everything they put out and saying Part II is their best song, LET-THE-FLAMES-BEGIN. Expand
  61. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    Many things i could say about this album, paramore isn't the band we used to know anymore. Now, Part II, and maybe one or two tracks more are worth it, the rest is another thing, another genre, a reincarnation of MJ sometimes.. Riot was a 9, brand new eyes was a 6, Paramore definitely is worst than that...
  62. Apr 9, 2013
    3
    It's a shame when bands move too far from their original sound and genre. Afterall, it is the reason that we listened to them in the first place. There are a couple of good songs on this album, "Part II", "Ain't it Fun" (only new sound that I liked) and "Still in to you"(hate it's intro though).

    The rest however, are a huge let down. I was hoping for the usual racy, fun and energetic
    punk pop/rock that Paramore are famous for but we unfortunately got simplistic riffs, electronica fillers, pointless lyrics..

    I was hoping for some growth and maturity from this band seeing it is their 4th album. Instead it appears we are treated to yet another band who has sold out on it's fans to make themselves more mainstream and appeal to a wider audience.
    Expand
  63. May 20, 2013
    3
    Over compensation looks to be what went wrong with Paramore's eponymous album. It really seems like Hayley tried way too hard to prove she can be creative without Zac and Josh and it all just came out as sounding like an explosion of overproduced pop and faux-folk/indie. In fact, the Taylor Swift-esque 'diss' lyrics of the majority of songs is a major turn off and the opposite of the supposed 'moving on' message of the album. I can applaud the thought, but not the execution. That said, there is no semblance of maturity or evolution here. Brand New Eyes was more like what a 'mature' and 'evolved' Paramore should sound like. Like one critic here said, evolution should never come at the expense of identity. The only songs I found to be worth anything were Now, Part II, Anklebiters and, as a guilty pleasure, Fast In My Car. For anyone looking for Paramore's old sound, look into the bonus songs Native Tongue and Escape Route that were only released in Japan. Expand
  64. Apr 22, 2013
    2
    How on earth did this sub par album get such critical acclaim? It's very, very mediocre. As I believe, this album has disappointed quite a few Paramore fans and I'm always wary when critics and fans think very differently. Listen to Last Hope, Proof, Hate To See Your Heart Break and Future for the best of it, but the rest is middle of road mid tempo rock.
  65. Apr 10, 2013
    2
    There are two types of Paramore fans. There's the ones who took a liking to the band's unique sound I have dubbed "playful aggression." Then there's the fans who are generally oblivious to the music they're listening to, and will religiously listen to anything mainstream media classifies as hip or edgy. In this album it is blatantly apparent that Hayley Williams was NOT the driving force behind Paramore. It was clearly the Farro brothers all along, Josh's song writing and Zac's unbelievably creative drumming.

    That being said, if you liked Paramore for their old sound, this album is going to disappoint you like nothing you've ever heard before. They can call this a "step in a new direction" or an "evolution" all you want, but the lyrics take plenty of stabs at the Farro brothers if you listen carefully. You call that a new direction? I call that childish, dwelling on the past and completely unnecessary.

    I'm really not sure what album the critics are listening to. I'm willing to bet all of them had their review written based on "Now" and didn't take the time to listen to the entire album. This might go down as one of the most disappointing album releases in this era of music, considering how high they set the bar with Riot. Brand New Eyes was a good follow-up, but this? The only time I will ever listen to this album again is to let others hear how hard a good band can fold when you lose a guitarist and a drummer that were clearly the driving force behind the band.
    Expand
  66. May 19, 2013
    2
    I made an account here just to do a review for this album since the vast majority of reviews seem to be little more than "This is Paramore's best album ever and if you don't like it then you're just a closed-minded hater". This is easily Paramore's worst album to date. Not only have they gone so far away from their true sound that they're barely recognizable but the entire album just seems to forced and fake that it's not even funny. Every song sounds like the record producers put a gun to their heads and forced them to make crappy mainstream pop songs. There isn't one song on there that I couldn't imagine a pop star from today also doing. This is not evolution, this is not change for the better, this is not maturing, this just sucks and as a long time fan it hurts to have to say these things. How anybody can give this more than maybe a 5 (And I'm being generous with that one) I don't know. It's better to save your money and listen to it on youtube or just go out and buy another copy of Riot instead. I hope to God that this isn't what their new sound is gonna be. 2/10 Expand
  67. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    Experimentation gone wrong, or a loss of talent? To tell the truth. I have no idea which one it could be. But what I do know is that this is easily Paramore's worst album to date. I do agree though with TheeGoth's review where they say that the album sounds like like they tried too hard to prove that they can be creative without the Farro bros and it just all came out sounding terrible. In fact, Now is the only decent song on there imho. This the only one of Paramore's albums where the critics seem to hold it in high regard (Fore some reason I don't understand) but is being panned by almost all of their fans as the worst. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind when a band changes their sound up a bit, but I do mind when a band all but abandons their sound. Paramore have forged their identity with their power-pop-punk style, so of course they would face a backlash from their most hardcore fans. All I can say is that fans make the band, not the other way around. Paramore would do well to listen to the backlash before it's too late, because really, it's sad when a band with so much talent squander it just making radio friendly music because they have no idea what else to do. Expand
  68. Apr 11, 2013
    1
    VinceOnAPlane summed this album up PERFECTLY. Read his review. I joined this site for the sole purpose of publicly agreeing with him.

    No idea what critics are listening to when they review this album, because it stinks beyond belief. I am beyond disappointed with this cd.

    They should have changed the name of the band because this isn't paramore. If James and Lars left Metallica
    and Kirk and Rob started to add dubstep and keep the name Metallica..... this is what paramore's album is equivalent to.

    Garbage.
    Expand
  69. Apr 30, 2013
    1
    I've struggled to listen and get into this album. It feels like the band moved backward into the arms of less mature fans. The lyrics strongly resemble an angry and bitter trio. If all the songs are about how you were burned by the previous members, then maybe you haven't exactly moved on. The lyrics are also poor quality, which makes me feel bad because Hayley Williams is so likeable. Your band should grow, your lyrics should get better, and your music. A better move would have not written an entire album around a feud. and gotten creative. This is by far the worst Paramore album yet. Which makes me worry for their future. There are moments when I'm not sure if I accidentally bought a Taylor swift album. Hayley Williams said she didn't want brand new eyes pt. 2 but honestly. That would have been better. They were trying way too hard and it shows. I was really hoping they would really prove themselves..and I guess they did but not how I was hoping, Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 30
    A parade of beige pop numbers that even Taylor Swift would turn down for being too generic. [May 2013, p.86]
  2. May 3, 2013
    80
    Paramore is both the band’s most polished and messiest album, which somehow pays off.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It's daring and rarely less than dazzling. [6 Apr 2013, p.52]