Paramore - Paramore
Paramore Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paramour returns without Josh and Zac Farro to release its fourth full-length release produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 100
    A sprawling, 17-song, 64-minute monster that is without a doubt the finest music these three artists--vocalist Hayley Williams, guitarist Taylor York and bassist Jeremy Davis--have ever made.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    Paramore feels far more human and honest than anything the band have committed to tape to date, and even at its most intense, the record feels intimate (or at least like a gig happening in the back corner of your mind).
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    83
    If Paramore has a flaw, it’s that there’s so much going on and so many stylistic flourishes, the record never quite coalesces.
  4. As a full record, Paramore certainly isn't for everyone--but there's certainly something for everyone. If you're not having fun at some point of the album, you're probably not trying.
  5. But Paramore have always been more pop than their fans may like to admit, and this mainstream rebirth feels like a transitional step to something gigantic.
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    70
    This may not be what we were expecting, and it may not be the Paramore that we’ve come to know and love. But, at the same time, here are a band still discovering who they are, and this album may stand as an important step on that path.
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    30
    Hayley Williams gives the first of several poor singing performances on the record [on lead single, "Low"]; the verses are toneless and she tries to cram too many words into them without really saying anything.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    an album with much variety that not only please the fans like me but it also infect people who have not heard the 16 songs strong and innovative....... Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    I'm a fan of Paramore since 2008. I confess that this album isn't best of the band, but this album is amazing, every song... Paramore has always given albums where every song is good, and this is no different. Great lyrics, and catchy beats. Good job, Paramore! Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Some of the criticism fans have been laying against this album is just ridiculous. If anything, Paramore has blossomed musically with this album, which is easily their best. The sound is so diverse, there's more than just guitars and electronica: there's ukeleles, string sections, harmonicas and even a gospel choir. If that's not ambition I don't know what is. Maybe it's their lyrics, there's many songs that reflect on their troubles with Farros but they're also declaring that they're moving on and willing to try new things. Highlights include Part II, Still into You, Ain't It Fun and Future. After all the drama Paramore's faced over the last three years, they've come out the other side as a multi-dimensional band who's willing to push their own limits, marking their greatest artistic statement. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Na minha opinião melhor álbum do Paramore, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, tudo pra ser um CD icônico, eles melhoraram muito ao longo do tempo, até chegar a esse som maduro e muito bom. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Took a long time to enjoy the album, but I got there. Hayley Williams' voice is beyond perfect. The album is a masterpiece! The direction to moving to a more 'pop' genre was absolute genius. Amazing (although it took a while to grow on me). Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    6
    One has learnt to expect not much change from album to album with Paramore. Their pop rock sound with rather heavy and monotone riffs is kind of their trademark. This time there is no much difference. There are no outstanding tracks and the pauses implied in those mellow acoustic banjo-like interludes doesnt seem to give you that feel of a break. All things considered, any Paramore fan should be able to enjoy this album. And i'd like to make to mention one song aside from the rest of the album, which i think is the best: Future. This is like non other i've heard from them before, and it shows change or growth for that matter. It shows that there is kind of an alternative edge to them as well. The last part of it even reminded me of Radiohead. Anyways, the record is worth a listen to any fan, and everyone should give at least the track "Future" a listen. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    1
    VinceOnAPlane summed this album up PERFECTLY. Read his review. I joined this site for the sole purpose of publicly agreeing with him.

    No
    idea what critics are listening to when they review this album, because it stinks beyond belief. I am beyond disappointed with this cd.

    They should have changed the name of the band because this isn't paramore. If James and Lars left Metallica and Kirk and Rob started to add dubstep and keep the name Metallica..... this is what paramore's album is equivalent to.

    Garbage.
    Expand

See all 68 User Reviews