Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 70
    Yet while it's not really great music, comparable to the masterful works of Tchaikovsky or Stravinsky, it has its day by the sea.
  2. 67
    A little watery. [7 Oct 2011, p.75]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    60
    Solid, competent stuff, but it's difficult, but it's difficult to imagine anyone wanting to listen to this in isolation. [Dec 2011, p.89]
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Without the dance visuals, the bulk of Paul McCartney's Ocean's Kingdom stands as pleasant and moderately engaging classical music that leans heavily on already established forms.
  5. Oct 6, 2011
    60
    Aided by conductor and arranger John Wilson, who coaxes a first-rate performance from the London Classical Orchestra, Ocean's Kingdom is an accomplished if unremarkable foray into an unfamiliar medium by the ex-Fab Four polymath.
  6. 60
    It's hardly groundbreaking stuff, but McCartney undeniably has an ear for melody.
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    50
    McCartney's music is appropriately romantic, sometimes to the extent that the moments intended to convey creeping tension or sadness bounce with a joyous gait.
  8. Oct 6, 2011
    30
    To use a fishy term, McCartney well and truly floundered with this one.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    OK I am a new reviewer and I have reviewing my top cd's of 2013 and so, I felt compelled to review one cd I did not enjoy and I am sad to say it is Paul McCartney's cd I am a huge Beatles fan and I felt so bad about how things went with that tramp one-legged, gold-digging girlfriend he had, and still, this cd came up so short for me so sorry Sir Paul! Full Review »