User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 305

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ducdonglong
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Ten Club Took My Money for Nothing.
  2. MattT.
    Jun 22, 2007
    1
    I was a massive fan I saw them live and then after this album and their last few they have turned into dad rock, bands like NiN still have an edge or sexiness, this is just music for musics sake, I had the chance to see them this month and turned it down, my friend who loves them went and said I was right to not go it left him cold, I loved pj but they are not the pj I loved and now I I was a massive fan I saw them live and then after this album and their last few they have turned into dad rock, bands like NiN still have an edge or sexiness, this is just music for musics sake, I had the chance to see them this month and turned it down, my friend who loves them went and said I was right to not go it left him cold, I loved pj but they are not the pj I loved and now I have to admit it, Eddie will always have a great voice and the 1 is for army reserve. Brian J stop criticising other peoples opinions, you have yours we have ours (It's called free speech) unless u want us all to like what you do and agree with you because you are so clever and cool. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    1
    This album is the worst thing this band has ever done. Awful lyrics, predictable and safe music, no emotion. Even the artwork is terrible. I turned my CD back to the store.
  4. JHONATANY
    May 12, 2006
    0
    really boring the song sounds terrible !!!!!!!
  5. RedMosquito
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Horrible Sound, with tired songs,.........this isn't the Vedder of 1997 unfortunatly.... cigarettes and smoking has taken their toll and left vedder a 60 year old dude that is really in his 40's
  6. TitsM
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Wow they sound old and tired... people stopped listening long aqgo
  7. DaveA.
    May 1, 2006
    0
    The cover art is embarrassing. The sounds are juvenile. And the lead singer is ancient. horrible combo. vedder needs to give it up
  8. SteveW
    May 2, 2006
    4
    Another dreary Pearl Jam album, with a few inspired moments, but not enought to save them from the mediocre corner they've painted themselves into over the course of the last 3 albums... This band ran out of steam after 'Yield', and I don't think they're ever going to get it back...
  9. Jimbo
    Jun 27, 2006
    2
    Terrible, terrible album. The only reason they got decent reviews is because of the damned liberal media. Every song sounds the same. It sounds the same as the past albums, too. The only reason i'm givin it two points is because their guitar and drums are decent in a couple songs.
  10. StevenB
    May 1, 2006
    3
    Maybe the most aggrivatingly dull release of the year so far. For people who were already PJ fans only.
  11. MikeK
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Don't be mad. I haven't heard the entire album yet, just the dreaded single and a couple other crapoffs. I'm just confused as to why anyone still cares about Pearl Jam. Come on, Eddie V is a pretender, always has been and the rest of the band is comprised of marginal talents. It's amazing that people hang onto and continue to praise a band with one great album under Don't be mad. I haven't heard the entire album yet, just the dreaded single and a couple other crapoffs. I'm just confused as to why anyone still cares about Pearl Jam. Come on, Eddie V is a pretender, always has been and the rest of the band is comprised of marginal talents. It's amazing that people hang onto and continue to praise a band with one great album under its belt that was released over 10 years ago. There is other music out there people. On top of sucking, they're hypocritical. "It's not about the money...but lets release 1001 live CDs which all sound like donkey farts." I use to like PJ, but they're finished, they've been that way for years. I can't think of a less relevant band on the planet. I'm convinced that all these posters on metacritic are the band's family and friends. It's not 1994 anymore, let's move on. Expand
  12. Eli
    May 12, 2006
    2
    Boring as all hell.
  13. ChristophM
    May 28, 2006
    3
    I don't like it. Gone are the soaring melodies and the too large for life guitar riffs, instead replaced by a choppy, garage band sounding album that seems as uneven as Binaural but with every rhythm accompanyment sounding like "Spoonman" instead. Damnit Matt Cameron. I am happy to listen to all of their albums up to Yield but no further, and that's good enough for me.
  14. Cables
    Jun 4, 2006
    4
    I just don't get it. I really wanted to like this album. It's so damn boring. It's far from a masterpiece, or anything even resembling a masterpiece.
  15. RedRain
    Aug 31, 2006
    0
    Yet another worthless album from the worst excuse for a rock band in history. Eddie Vedder once again muses pseudo-intelllectually at a 4th grade level. He's a phony liberal, and that he wound up with so many loyal followers proves that grunge stomped on rock's grave and music will never improve. Pearl Scum.
  16. JonathanH
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I'm a big fan of Pearl Jam, I don't understand why people dislike "Binuaral" and "Riot Act" so much, alright perhaps some of the songs could of been developed a bit more (Riot Act was actually am experiment by the band by leaving songs in a more demo version sound) and they could of been better produced - but that to me does not stop them from being essential albums from the I'm a big fan of Pearl Jam, I don't understand why people dislike "Binuaral" and "Riot Act" so much, alright perhaps some of the songs could of been developed a bit more (Riot Act was actually am experiment by the band by leaving songs in a more demo version sound) and they could of been better produced - but that to me does not stop them from being essential albums from the band. This however after 3 years of waiting, is just a generic boring rock album that sounds like its for (and is for commercial radio). People are saying stupid things like "Best since VS" and "Vitolagy" or whatever. It just shows you who are real music fans and just people who latch on and buy and album now and then. Thats fine, as long as the music is good and its NOT!! Expand
  17. DanR.
    May 11, 2006
    3
    For true Pearl Jam fans that have been there since '91, this is nothing more than another let down. I can definitely appreciate the natural progression of a band and it's "sound" from one album to the next. Consider Tool's Opiate compared to 10,000 Days. A distinct progression but still keeping to the overall 'sound' of the band. Now take Pearl Jam's Ten and For true Pearl Jam fans that have been there since '91, this is nothing more than another let down. I can definitely appreciate the natural progression of a band and it's "sound" from one album to the next. Consider Tool's Opiate compared to 10,000 Days. A distinct progression but still keeping to the overall 'sound' of the band. Now take Pearl Jam's Ten and their latest self titled attempt. There is absolutely nothing, nothing whatsoever that lingers from Ten. Eddie's ability to grab a hold of your soul through his pain ridden voice has been replaced by nothing more than painful whaling. Eddie, for the love of God....let Mike, Jeff, and Stone put the music together and you stick to the lyrics. and ps.- please try to enunciate again. Expand
  18. Jeff
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    Ughh, i get a headache after 2 minutes of listening... it sounds like garbage, if your as big as pearl jam, please record properly. I just don't think I can make my self listen to the whole record, my ears feel like they start to bleed. Both Tool and Pearl Jam debuted May 2nd, Tool is in their own league and sound great yet PJ beat them.... garbage..
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.