Pearl Jam

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 317

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyL.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This album really shows how Pearl Jam has grown up and advanced musically as well as lyrically. At the same time they brought back some of the old all-out-rock attitude on a majority of the songs. Genius, simply genius!!
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Finally regaining some of their original inspiration, Pearl Jam surprises everyone with this innovative album, one that actually keeps getting better as it goes along. Nothing they've done since Vitalogy has been anywhere near this good.
  3. ducdonglong
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Ten Club Took My Money for Nothing.
  4. PeterK
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    ..disappoitmant
  5. MattT.
    Jun 22, 2007
    1
    I was a massive fan I saw them live and then after this album and their last few they have turned into dad rock, bands like NiN still have an edge or sexiness, this is just music for musics sake, I had the chance to see them this month and turned it down, my friend who loves them went and said I was right to not go it left him cold, I loved pj but they are not the pj I loved and now I I was a massive fan I saw them live and then after this album and their last few they have turned into dad rock, bands like NiN still have an edge or sexiness, this is just music for musics sake, I had the chance to see them this month and turned it down, my friend who loves them went and said I was right to not go it left him cold, I loved pj but they are not the pj I loved and now I have to admit it, Eddie will always have a great voice and the 1 is for army reserve. Brian J stop criticising other peoples opinions, you have yours we have ours (It's called free speech) unless u want us all to like what you do and agree with you because you are so clever and cool. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    1
    This album is the worst thing this band has ever done. Awful lyrics, predictable and safe music, no emotion. Even the artwork is terrible. I turned my CD back to the store.
  7. JarrodL
    May 1, 2006
    10
    To misquote Eddie Vedder, Speaking as a fan from the '90's.... Let me preface this by saying that at the time of their individual releases, I thought that Pearl Jam's last two stuido releases "Riot Act" (2002) and "Binaural" (2000) were pretty sweet records. Great Pearl Jam offereings from beginning to end. But over the last few years, I've decided that they don't To misquote Eddie Vedder, Speaking as a fan from the '90's.... Let me preface this by saying that at the time of their individual releases, I thought that Pearl Jam's last two stuido releases "Riot Act" (2002) and "Binaural" (2000) were pretty sweet records. Great Pearl Jam offereings from beginning to end. But over the last few years, I've decided that they don't quite stack up to the rest of the gems in their excellent catalogue. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy both these albums quite a bit, and there are some outstanding cuts from those two records ("Save You," "Cropduster," and "Love Boat Captain," from Riot Act, "Insignificance," "Of the Girl," "Slight of Hand," and "Grievance" from Binaural) but I can remember that when those albums originally came out (as I may have been suffering from an ailment called "new PJ buzz" at the time) saying that I thought both were on par with their best work of the '90's. Sadly, I was wrong. Now, don't get me wrong again...both albums were good, better than 98% of other bands offerings in those years, but both records were not without their flaws or filler ("Rival," "Help Help," and "Ghost" all spring to mind as songs best left in the vault). I also think both records would have benefited greatly if there had been some way to have simmered a bit longer, for the pot to have been stirred, songs to have been tweaked and reexamined, as well as if there had been a way to have found room to include the excellent B-sides that came from those sessions---songs like "Down," "Undone "& "Other Side" from the Riot Act sessions, "Sad" & "Fatal" from the Binaural, all may have been the best B-sides PJ has ever produced in their history--far better than most band's best A side material. (Of course, these songs are now commercially available on "Lost Dogs," PJ's collection of B-sides, covers, & Christmas singles that came out in '03) But never once in my writings did I compare Binaural or Riot Act to the perennials. No Code (1996), Yield (1998), or Vitalogy (1994) have always been considered by me as the holy trinity of PJ albums. All flawless gems, each one a five-star classic. Those were the albums you'd want to play to introduce (or convert) someone to Pearl Jam. Now, with all that being said as preface, this new album, eloquently titled "Pearl Jam,"at this moment, might just be my favorite Pearl Jam record ever . Way better than their freshman and sophomore releases of Ten (1991) or Vs. (1993), by a long shot. More rocking than Yield or No Code, and perhaps better writing than Vitalogy. There are no weak songs on "Pearl Jam," no filler. Even the barely minute-long "Wasted Reprise" gives me the chills. The first 5 songs are, without a doubt in my mind, the most rocking five songs to ever start off a PJ record. From the poppy and catchy "Unemployable," to the mournful "Gone" and the soulful "Come Back," lyrically, musically, topically, this is finest offering the band has ever made. For those of you who have been waiting...for those of you saying that Pearl Jam was a great band who had never given us their great album, the eponymous release "Pearl Jam" is finally Pearl Jam's "Who's Next." Finally, this is their "Physical Graffiti." This is their "White Album". Or to be more modern in reference, this is their "OK Computer," their "Elephant" their "The Woods." This is the record you'll want to hand someone in 50 years time and say, "Here. This was what the finest American rock band in history sounded like in their prime. Enjoy." Though the world of music, and the real world might both be spinning in the toilet. With wars and debt and disease and hopelessness abounding, we can still look to and rock out with Pearl Jam, as they have given us something very special . Expand
  8. ReneZ
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Stunning is the first word that comes to mind upon first spin of this amazing record. I can honestly say this album is definetly right up there with Vs. and Ten. From start to finish the tracks flow into each other seamlessly. Eddie Voice remergence, the guitarsound we all loved and missed is all stamped on this record. I am a critical person when it comes to band's records, but I Stunning is the first word that comes to mind upon first spin of this amazing record. I can honestly say this album is definetly right up there with Vs. and Ten. From start to finish the tracks flow into each other seamlessly. Eddie Voice remergence, the guitarsound we all loved and missed is all stamped on this record. I am a critical person when it comes to band's records, but I must say I got no beef with this. Hand down people, you must buy this record. Expand
  9. JDWilliams
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is classic rock of the new millenium. this how pearl jam should sound. buy this CD its worth every penny!
  10. AbelC
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is the best cd of the year, and the ignorants that dont agree with that can buy a cd of simple plan.
  11. GaryP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing album. The transition from hard rockers like Life Wasted and Worldwide Suicide into soft ballads like Parachutes and Come Back is seamless. Keep up the good work PJ.
  12. Atom
    May 3, 2006
    9
    A no-brainer purchase. Should become a standard in any rock collection. Definitely their best in a long time. Maybe their best ever, in terms of a complete album. Hard to compare to Ten, because their sound has changed a bit. But it's up there with Vs. and Vitalogy, and, in total, more satisfying than both. All the tracks are SOLID. Some flat-out freakin' rock. Nothing to skip A no-brainer purchase. Should become a standard in any rock collection. Definitely their best in a long time. Maybe their best ever, in terms of a complete album. Hard to compare to Ten, because their sound has changed a bit. But it's up there with Vs. and Vitalogy, and, in total, more satisfying than both. All the tracks are SOLID. Some flat-out freakin' rock. Nothing to skip through (Unlike that Bugs thing from Vitalogy). Go blow your speakers. Expand
  13. JohnT
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because it is not ear candy. Thank God. Music that sounds catchy the first time you hear it will become very boring very quickly. Bands like P.J. carefully craft their songs so that you continue to discover nuances years after your initial listening. I have been a fan since Ten and I have learned to listen to their albums for a week or two and then bring out the lyrics. I admit that Eddie is sometimes difficult to understand, but that is because he FEELS the lyrics instead of just reciting them. This is record that perfectly describes the pathetic world situation, without becoming a shrill screed or being a downer. They just tell it like it is for common people like you and me. And, at the end, they give us hope that we can overcome the bastards that are ruining the human race. This is not a collection of singles, even though there are several that are radio-playable. This is an ALBUM, that should be listened to from beginning to end. The whole is greater than the sum of it's parts, just like every great band. Pearl Jam is one of only a handful of bands that truly matter. And this is the album I have been waiting for since Vs. Expand
  14. brianmad
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    another masterpiece from a band on form.
  15. bobg
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This album is awesome!
  16. CharlesK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Quite simply a classic. It may be their finest record to date!
  17. jonb
    May 1, 2006
    10
    unreal!
  18. JohnS
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best in 10 years ! You wont be disappointed. Great fast and slow songs. Chills on 'Come Back'
  19. ChrisH.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Uniformally good. It's too early to say whether this is a brilliant album but there aren't any duds and there are some definite high points: Life Wasted, World Wide Suicide, Comatose, Severed, Hand, Marker in the Sand is the best 5 song blast to start a rock album I've heard in a long time. Get this album now.
  20. JordanB
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This is a stellar album from start to finish. It begins absolutely rocking, it has solid riffs throughout, it has searing vocals, it has melodic vocals, it has just about everything a single album could possibly have without sounding ridiculous. There are clearly a number of influences present on this album, but every song is uniquely "Pearl Jam."
  21. JHONATANY
    May 12, 2006
    0
    really boring the song sounds terrible !!!!!!!
  22. jackm
    May 1, 2006
    10
    PJ's best effort in over 8 years. Rocking songs that grow on you more and more with each listen.
  23. arildh
    May 1, 2006
    10
    classic
  24. RedMosquito
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Horrible Sound, with tired songs,.........this isn't the Vedder of 1997 unfortunatly.... cigarettes and smoking has taken their toll and left vedder a 60 year old dude that is really in his 40's
  25. TitsM
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Wow they sound old and tired... people stopped listening long aqgo
  26. THomasK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Fresh!!
  27. sashl
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Best record in 12 years. Period.
  28. K.Ryan
    May 1, 2006
    10
    In my opinion, the band's best album from start to finish.
  29. JoshuaH
    May 1, 2006
    10
    I listened to this album for three days straight. I absolutley love it...A little different from the normal pearl jam material, but great all the same. I love pearl jam!!!! Can't wait to see the show in june ..
  30. JAnderson
    May 1, 2006
    9
    A return to form...Best album since No Code!
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.