Pedals

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy On
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    90
    Maybe I'm just a sucker for simultaneously fleet-footed and heavy, anthemic rock songs that veer towards warm, wry humanism rather than either empty platitudes or snide cynicism, but as far as I'm concerned Pedals' 35 minutes contains more wisdom and beauty than most records twice its length.
  2. Revolver
    Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Although it's been a full decade since their last release, United by Fate, Rival Schools don't miss a beat on this reunion disc. [Mar/Apr 2011, p. 88]
  3. There will surely be those who really want to hate Pedals, and they won't have any difficulty finding justification for their scorn within the album's ten tracks. Nonetheless, it's a winning return, though perhaps not entirely worth the wait.
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    If Rival Schools had returned and tried to sound like the same band they were in 2001, there would have been the very real danger of it feeling disingenuous and forced, as if they were trying to recapture their glory days. Instead, the band is more relaxed and confident, and not afraid to experiment a little.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    A worth-the-wait second LP a decade after the New Yorkers' celebrated debut.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    A stunning opener to the album, its dynamic range, gleaming melody and driving anthemic nature exemplify what this band was always all about.
  7. Mar 9, 2011
    75
    Wisely, it follows United's recipe of dynamic pop-rock and raw, old-school emo.
  8. Mar 11, 2011
    70
    And my sixteen-year-old-self waits with baited-breath, wracked with the same nervous excitement I had a decade ago except this time, there's anticipation and expectation, justification, even, for an album I've waited almost half my life for.
  9. Alternative Press
    Mar 11, 2011
    70
    While the album may not move you the way their first album does, maybe it'll just take a minute for the second one to sink in, too. [Apr 2011, p.120]
  10. Mar 8, 2011
    70
    Pedals reveals a group of reenergized vets who've hardly mellowed with
  11. Under The Radar
    Mar 9, 2011
    60
    One can always count on [Walter Schreifels] for ample moments of songwriting gold and guitar rapture. [Feb. 2011, p. 67]
  12. Rival Schools have finally returned from an inexplicably long hiatus to demonstrate why they're such luminaries for today's post-hardcore hordes.
  13. 50
    Even with some of the more outstanding flaws, the album is worthy of a listen by both post-hardcore aficionados and fans of the group members' other bands.
  14. Apr 4, 2011
    50
    At this point Rival Schools sound like Nada Surf without the pop nous or OK Go without the videos. Perfectly listenable, perfectly agreeable, absolutely forgettable.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    I'm really not that much of a fan of this genre. This is one of the few albums I enjoy, as I haven't found many like it worth listening to.I'm really not that much of a fan of this genre. This is one of the few albums I enjoy, as I haven't found many like it worth listening to. But I enjoy almost every song equally on the album, each have a different feel to them and are fantastic in their own way. It's honestly hard to understand why someone wouldn't like it unless you have absolutely no interest in this style of music, but even so, this album could change your mind. Full Review »