Phrazes For The Young

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 3, 2009
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 76
  2. Negative: 2 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VinnyG
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Great! I bought the deluxe version with 11 tracks and the last three tracks are some of my favorites. I really like this CD because it's varied, interesting, very catchy all while maintaining a likeness to The Strokes, yet sounding nothing like the strokes (confused? lol). I hope it does well!
  2. Bruno
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Nice Surprise. Different from everything is being done and with that strokes feeling.
  3. DJL
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Pretty kickass Strokes album if you ask me. The album doesn't conjeal that well. But as a stab from frontman Julian I consider it a resounding success. It's best moments are as good as The Strokes.
  4. BRandonD
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Fantastic. Better than the last Strokes record, and a future classic such as Room on Fire.
  5. Jesse
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    The new strokes album it is not. what it is however is fantastic collection of head-bobbers and introspective thinkers from a guy who has never show us this side before. well done.
  6. Mr.Funk
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Good Album, short, but worth it.
  7. TrentM
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Excellent album. Some beautiful melodies and some poignant lyrics. Very pleasantly surprised. Best Casablanca's written record since "This is It:"
  8. JamesR
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    A fantastically ambitious album, if a little flawed. Highlights include Glass, 11th Dimension, River of Brakelights & Tourist. I feel that the genre style of some songs are inconsistent with the rest of the album. This is most apparent in 4 Chords of the Apocalypse & Ludlow St. However these two songs have points strong enough to more than justify their inclusion on the album (4 Chords... A fantastically ambitious album, if a little flawed. Highlights include Glass, 11th Dimension, River of Brakelights & Tourist. I feel that the genre style of some songs are inconsistent with the rest of the album. This is most apparent in 4 Chords of the Apocalypse & Ludlow St. However these two songs have points strong enough to more than justify their inclusion on the album (4 Chords... solo, Ludlow St.'s Chorus) and eventually grew to be loved. Ridiculously catchy hooks as well as some ambitious musicianship mean I'm going to give this a 10 for effort alone, as well as many, many plays. Expand
  9. RyanC
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Great record. Best of the solo Strokes records by far and just as good if not better than FIOE.
  10. GregoireR
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    Long awaited album. Slowly bringing you right back to where you were when the strokes were playing years ago. And then adds another layer of emotion. New ones. Good ones. 8 tracks carefully crafted not by pride nor by marketing.
  11. TerranceG
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Julian's awesome solo attempt breaks the long-lived pattern of crappy albums this year. To Julian: Thank You Sir, May I have Another.
  12. AlanL
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    The album went beyond my expectations. I love it! I just bought the album yesterday and I can't stop listening to it.
  13. AshB
    Nov 5, 2009
    8
    Very ambitious and A little bit self-indulgent. However, this is generally a great collection of songs
  14. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I think a metascore of only 72 for this album is a big mistake, it should be up the 85/90 at least, then again, critics don't go well with people opinion, this album is so creative, complex, and full of catchy melodies and interesting lyrics, Julian's voice shines all over the album, my best track should be "Glass", excellent melody, great album.
  15. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Julian Casablancas takes a huge step from his vocals in First Impressions of Earth to this album, where he seems twice as energetic and happy about making music. This album, like the first two Strokes records, has no weak tracks that stand out (my personal favorite being River of Brakelights). It is 40 minutes and 8 tracks of nonstop emotion and Julian shows off his greatest talent inJulian Casablancas takes a huge step from his vocals in First Impressions of Earth to this album, where he seems twice as energetic and happy about making music. This album, like the first two Strokes records, has no weak tracks that stand out (my personal favorite being River of Brakelights). It is 40 minutes and 8 tracks of nonstop emotion and Julian shows off his greatest talent in music, which is songwriting. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    I think this album is too underrated by the critics, all the songs in "Phrazes For The Young" capture that somewhat 80 's 90 's feels very well and were able to present them in very sophisticated and beautiful electronic sounds! I would give it 9 out of 10, but to compensate the rating i give it 10!!! :D
  17. Oct 30, 2014
    10
    I honestly would give this album an 11 if I could. Julian Casablancas is not only a great musician, but also a great lyricist. While he, himself is not too fond of this album for its so called "mainstream sound." I think it is great. Every song is pure poetry, and some songs like "Glass" or "11th Dimension" could be multiple poems if separated correctly. This album is clearly underratedI honestly would give this album an 11 if I could. Julian Casablancas is not only a great musician, but also a great lyricist. While he, himself is not too fond of this album for its so called "mainstream sound." I think it is great. Every song is pure poetry, and some songs like "Glass" or "11th Dimension" could be multiple poems if separated correctly. This album is clearly underrated and continues with the trend of mine "I have never bought an album Julian Casablancas was involved in that I didn't like." I listen to this music almost daily, and if not, it's at least on my mind all the time. I will always keep a CD copy of this in my car, and in my home. I burn CD's of this album to share with my friends so they can enjoy it. And it only gets better. If you look on youtube there are acoustic versions of "11th Dimension", "River of Breaklights", and "4 Chords of the Apocalypse" that are PHENOMENAL! Although Julian seems to flub-up the words a few times, the sound of just guitar and his raw vocals almost knocked me out of my office chair. SERIOUSLY... GET THIS ALBUM!!! Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. In the end, deliberately(?) tinny tracks such as 'Glass' sound like sketches in search of a full band. Hopefully, said band will soon oblige.
  2. Recorded under the radar with producer Jason Lader and Bright Eyes collaborator Mike Mogis, it’s a strange little album, just eight songs long but deceptively dense with ideas.
  3. Phrazes represents a creative departure for Casablancas and another milestone for his band--marking a point where they've produced more quality albums by themselves than as a group.