Plague Park

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: May 22, 2007
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matta.
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    Can't understand at all some critic's lukewarm reviews of this album. While not as good as Wolf Parade or Sunset Rubdown (which is a pretty high bar in and of itself), Boeckner's side project is it's own beast, and I like that he didn't just pump out nine tracks that sound exactly like "Same Ghost Every Night." While you can definitely hear the similarities Can't understand at all some critic's lukewarm reviews of this album. While not as good as Wolf Parade or Sunset Rubdown (which is a pretty high bar in and of itself), Boeckner's side project is it's own beast, and I like that he didn't just pump out nine tracks that sound exactly like "Same Ghost Every Night." While you can definitely hear the similarities between his WP songs, the additions of electronics are totally appropriate and complement Boeckner's guitar and throaty vocals. A solid debut that should be getting more love (maybe the critics expected an Apologies To The Queen Mary part 2?). Expand
  2. marioi
    May 25, 2007
    10
    this record just gets better and better with each listen - and it was amazing on the first listen.
  3. darkelement
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    i was really leary when i heard about another wolf parade side project... but this album has truly seeped into my soul. there is just a ton of great tracks on here. one of my favorites of 2007 so far.
  4. markj
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    an atmospheric, melancholic masterpiece. i cannot get over how much i love this record.
  5. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Excellent album. The critics have a tin ear when it comes to this CD.
  6. Marlene
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    The subtle and dark beauty of this album will be lost on people who don't take the time to listen to the lyrics or nuances of the drum machine. The concept of the album itself, Plague Park - named after a park in Helsinki that houses the plague-striken ancestors of its current inhabitants - is haunting, layered and clashing. The music does no less. Amazing.
  7. ChrisW
    Apr 13, 2010
    6
    it's merely OK. It's not horrible and it's not great....it just sort of is.
  8. JoeG
    May 25, 2007
    9
    Really, a great album, my favourite that I've heard so far this year. The melodies are powerful and memorable, the lyrics are pretty great (though they don't quite live up to some of Spencer Krug's), and it works wonderfully as a cohesive whole.
  9. adamh
    May 27, 2007
    10
    fans know much then the critics on this one.
  10. BrianH
    Jun 19, 2007
    8
    Love Wolf Parade, Love Spencer, Love Dan...but I only really like Handsome Furs. More Wolf Parade needed, but I cherish all related side projects!
  11. ErikH.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Remarkably consistent throughout. Highlights: What We Had, Dead + Rural, and The Radio's Hot Sun
  12. sf
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    It sucks if you're expecting Wolf Parade, which most reviews seem to be doing. If you're not, it's surprisingly good, one of the best albums of the year. A minimalist masterpiece.
  13. ChristianH
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    All songs save Dumb Animals are easy to listen to continuously. I love this CD.
  14. RogerJ
    May 25, 2007
    10
    even better than wolf parade!!!!!
  15. daveg
    May 26, 2007
    10
    "nice songs, dan! where's wolf parade?" shut up, pitchfork
  16. KyleS
    May 27, 2007
    10
    awesome album, it's about a 9.5 but I'll round up
  17. TheIndieBarKid
    May 29, 2007
    9
    I think reviews are being a bit unfair to this album. It's one of my highlights of the year so far. It could probably serve to stop comparing it to Wolf Parade in every second sentence, and judge it on it's own merits. The hooks from What We Had and Dead + Rural follow me everywhere and while the themes are a little confusingly contradictory, it's more intelligent and I think reviews are being a bit unfair to this album. It's one of my highlights of the year so far. It could probably serve to stop comparing it to Wolf Parade in every second sentence, and judge it on it's own merits. The hooks from What We Had and Dead + Rural follow me everywhere and while the themes are a little confusingly contradictory, it's more intelligent and original fare than you'd get from, say, Neon Bible. Hope they squeeze out a second album sometime soon Expand
  18. ChristianP.
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    much better than Sunset Rubdown. More focus and more heart!
  19. christianp
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    This album is highly underrated. I'm really shocked it wasn't received better -- the songs are amazing...the album has a specific feel throughout with interesting percussion parts mixed with odd synths, guitar and wonderful melodies. I feel like so many artists go for this sound but few pull it off with such ease.
  20. gregj
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Wow...are the critics even listening to the same record i am? this is - by far - the best record of 2007.
  21. May 8, 2016
    10
    Years later and I still cannot get enough of this album, there is something so real and amazing about it. Better than any wolf parade album in my book
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Where Wolf Parade dips into more than their fair share of upbeat, even disco beat-driven, music, Handsome Furs instead pull back and strip down their songs.
  2. It's almost as if, released from the role of playing less weird anchor to Spencer Krug's art rock savant, Boeckner's figured out how to maximize and expand what he does best.
  3. You probably won't remember the first time you hear Plague Park, but that's not because Boeckner and Perry have failed or their record's pleasures are few. It's simply that their goals are modest and their tools humble.