Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Oct 16, 2013
    60
    Spare bayou mirage score for Green's newie. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    60
    It's all very un-Explosions-like, but it works to not only create diversity in their discography, but also as a moody album that can provide moments of levity.
  3. It’s not an essential listen but it does exhibit plenty of moody gravitas.
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    50
    As EITS's music for Friday Night Lights proved, they really need a stage as big as a football field.
  5. Under The Radar
    Aug 28, 2013
    40
    A more significant or signature contribution from the band might have made the Prince Avalanche soundtrack a more intriguing listen and a more compelling stand-alone experience than the polite frictionless record presented here. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.96]
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jun 1, 2015
    10
    I loved the movie which came out Summer 2013. That summer was so remarkable for me.
    But the music... It's so relaxing that I can't even
    I loved the movie which came out Summer 2013. That summer was so remarkable for me.
    But the music... It's so relaxing that I can't even realize why it's so hidden. It's the best soundtrack on the world.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2015
    0
    Skip this album and Manglehorn, if you want soundtrack listen to Friday Night Lights (legendary) or Lone Survivor, both epic in their ownSkip this album and Manglehorn, if you want soundtrack listen to Friday Night Lights (legendary) or Lone Survivor, both epic in their own right. This one and Manglehorn sound just different and in a awkward way. Full Review »