Razorlight

  • Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: Aug 22, 2006
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 12 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. nickd
    Aug 28, 2006
    0
    Look, I know that censoring art's frowned upon completely, but banning this band, and for god's sake this album, would be an absolute mission of mercy! If you own this album, and more than say, two others released this year, shame on you. This absolutely bland, uncreative, music-by-think-tank is the kind of arrogant rubbish which there is no place for in this world. Get lost!
  2. JurgenB
    Jan 30, 2007
    2
    This album is full of trite lyrics although some good hooks arise from time to time, never convinced by singer's voice, bland soft pop/rock, plenty of pointless guitar melodies strewed over.
  3. BenQ
    Nov 6, 2006
    2
    Average. It's all too soft. It's put me right off razorlight now. Don't buy it.
  4. GuyH
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    I can't believe Q has given this album 5 stars... then again they judged REM's 'Reveal', the Chili Peppers 'By The Way' and the latest by Muse as five star albums (all disappointing albums... doh!). I have only heard three songs off this album including the single and 'America' and they are pitiful. Please can someone stop the televised advertising I can't believe Q has given this album 5 stars... then again they judged REM's 'Reveal', the Chili Peppers 'By The Way' and the latest by Muse as five star albums (all disappointing albums... doh!). I have only heard three songs off this album including the single and 'America' and they are pitiful. Please can someone stop the televised advertising campaign... Expand
  5. TomP
    Aug 23, 2006
    1
    Absolute crap. Another example of Q hyping up a load of rubbish.
  6. AdamX
    Aug 28, 2006
    0
    If this isn't the worst album of all time, then it is pretty damn close!
  7. DiscoStew
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    Razorlight are pish, not a fan at all.
  8. Mar 31, 2016
    0
    There are song that are extremely catchy and and have really interesting classic rock type influences. I think the world needs more bands like this. They have a good sound. Just listen to Kirby's House that song is awesome. This album also has my fourth favorite song called America. The biggest problem I have with it is that it ends in a very terrible and boring note kinda like the restThere are song that are extremely catchy and and have really interesting classic rock type influences. I think the world needs more bands like this. They have a good sound. Just listen to Kirby's House that song is awesome. This album also has my fourth favorite song called America. The biggest problem I have with it is that it ends in a very terrible and boring note kinda like the rest of the album. I listened this for the the first time In The Morning and in put me to sleep. You are probably thinking Hold On It appeared you liked this album! Let me settle this notion by stating this was one of the worst alternative albums I have ever listened to. Before I Fall To Pieces thinking about this atrocity I would like to warn you to stay away from this album at all costs. Even at the best moments it can feel like an ordinary Pop song 2006 pumped out. Looking Back To The Start of the album I think it has one of the worst beginnings to an album I can remember. Its just void of fun. A band that could have a Golden Touch of brilliance is wasted by soft sounding filth. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. It's those lyrics that make much of this second album such a disappointment.
  2. It's a soulful, romantic album about what happens when the lights come up at the end of the night and life smacks you in the face.
  3. Razorlight have dropped the urgency and brashness of indie-disco floor-fillers like 'Rip it Up' and traded it for the boldness of tracks such as 'Somewhere Else'. It isn't easy to graduate from teenage bedrooms to coffee-table status without compromising on credibility, but the quartet have managed it somehow.