Recovery - Eminem
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 681 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 681

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This is Em's return to form, as 'Recovery' is his strongest album since The Eminem Show. Strong, focused, and truly memorable, 'Recovery' is as moving as any of his previous albums, probalby even more so with the new direction he's taking with this CD. His flow has never been better, and whatever "ring rust" he may have had is now gone, and he is killin' them one by one in 'Recovery'. He won last year for "Best Rap Album" with 'Relapse', so I can only predict that he will undoubtedly win this year as well. Anyways, the album isn't perfect, as some songs such as "Seduction", "W.T.P.", "On Fire", and "So Bad" don't seem to belong in the album. They have a "Relapse" vibe to them, and I think he should have included them in 'Relapse' not here in 'Recovery'. Despite that, the songs are all great, especially "Not Afraid, "Going Through Changes", "Love The Way You Lie", "Talkin' 2 Myself", and "No Love", which really bring this album alive and become instant classics. I really loved this album and I hope Em has something as good as this prepared for the future. Anyways, ignore the pathetic critic score of 62-for they don't know nothing of Rap/Hip-Hop-and buy this CD. This is Rap-and Eminem-at its best. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    This is one awesome album. And no, it's not good as Marshall Matters or Eminem Show or Encore, but I really, really like it. I would pick out 3 fav songs from this album: Not Afraid, Love The Way You Lie (And it will be a hit ! You' ll see) and W.T.P. Go,Em, go !
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    Pretty good and some nice songs in this album. Examples are, ''Not Afraid'', ''Love the way you Lie''.
    Overall, deserves a 8/10 rating for the number of hits it produced and it is one of Em's best albums to date.
  4. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    While it's not Eminem's best, Recovery stands out with Marshall's desire to change. It's called Recovery for a reason, so you can't expect the same man on this album. This is way different from anything else he's ever produced with poppy tracks and mainstream lyrics that aren't as dark or deep as his predecessor Relapse.
  5. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    very good album one of his best along the eminem show and mmlp, i would rank his albums in this order:

    1.The Eminem Show/recovery
    3.The Marshsall Mathers LP
    4.sslp/relapse/encore
  6. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    After listening to this album i was amazed it had funny sides but also serious.Way better than Relapse:Refill album.I thought he did a amazing job.10 years and hes still making hits!
  7. Aug 31, 2010
    4
    This is Just not a good album really yes if he's not screaming he's cussing I've heard worse though his verses are good but it seems his beats are repetitive and he tries to hard to tell make himself seem as innocent we all want to hear your story but tell it raw but with less screaming and cussing and less pop and rap and more REAL
  8. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Eminem keeps improving his skills in the last couple of years. Relapse was good, but this is PERFECT!
    Certainly one of the best hip-hop albums in the last 5 years.
  9. tst
    Sep 4, 2010
    10
    the best album of the year, the songs are amazing im a normally a very strong critic when it comes to music, because i love it , this is one of eminems best albums

    yours sicerly


    tst
  10. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    This album says only one thing Eminem is back alive and kicking. Em's return has made a big impact on the charts with 2 singles already reaching the top 10 in the UK charts with Love the Way You Lie reaching number 1 for 1 week, this album is the best Eminem album ive ever listened to by far. Good work Marshall.
  11. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    Relapse and Encore were not worth downloading illegally. And I'm being kind. Recovery is just that -- a return to what made me listen to Eminem in the first place. He's angry, he's rhyming every other word in his sentences, and he doesn't sound like making fun of some imaginary ethnicity with a faked accent. There are a couple songs I don't like, but the 12/17 songs I do like total about 54 minutes, which is more than most full-length albums today anyway, so no complaints from me. I wouldn't call them "filler tracks," they're just not my thing ("WTP" is a good example... it's not bad; I just don't dance at clubs and thus don't care). He also innovates a lot. I rarely see any rap songs in 3/4, and even less that change time signatures, even if it is just a sampled chorus. Great commercial potential, doesn't get old after many listens, unique beat patterns ("Almost Famous," for sure), and considerably less misogyny and homophobia -- with just enough remaining to retain his critic-aimed raised middle finger. 9/10 -- truly excellent, but not perfect. Expand
  12. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    So Eminem's Recovery has a lower score than Lil Wayne's I am not a human being. That shows how much common sense critics lack. Look Lil Wayne would only talk about his status, money, how much lady he gets, smoking weed, and how much powerful he is. Yes I have to admit that Recovery isn't a perfect album but still it's worthy of a 10/10. I was pretty surprised when this album came out... it was like Eminem hitting his 2nd puberty. His voice has gone a little deeper and he has gone more mature. Before recovery Eminem was dissing rappers off, but now hes encouraging rappers to keep it up (Talking to My Self). The beats are Ok i would say, but I care more about the lyrics than the beats and that is why im giving a 10/10. Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This album is the most anticipated album of 2010. Eminem is back, bigger, better and stronger. Reocvery holds the most whitty, funny and moving lyrics, ever made by Eminem. The choruses for the songs are fantastic, they have a light pop style in them which makes them catchy. Hip-hop and I are proud to say, Eminem, is the greatest rapper alive.
  14. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    One of the greatest albums of 2010. This album is very good but it can't beat The Slim Shady LP or The Marshall Mathers LP and The Eminem Show. Great!
  15. Jun 10, 2011
    3
    The people who give this album a high rating do not know the true Eminem-The Real Slim Shady. The once controversial and trashy rapper who everyone loved to hate has turned into America's sweetheart. His flow is still there, the amount of syllables he can fit in a bar is still amazing, but his "maturity" is nothing more than an act to gain approval from the contemporaries. I understand as an artist one must grow, but it's past Eminem's prime. He's a man who has been down "that road", and he exclaims his redemption in this album. I praise Eminem for his growth as a human being, but I think it's time for him to put down the mic. Expand
  16. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    It's of course not Em's best album and it's far from the level of the Marshall Mathers LP or the Slim Shady LP. However Eminem gets credit for putting one of his best album since the Eminem Show and still being, after more than 10 years of career, one of the best out there.
  17. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    The best eminem album yet. Tons of classic beats and lyrics. Also, many people featured in his songs are perfectly integrated to keep the eminem feel, while still giving their own individual touch.
  18. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    I haven't been such a big fan of Eminem or Rap in general for a long time know but when I heard this, I honestly lost a lot of respect for him, jesus this is awful this is going to spawn a fan base that obviously isn't familiar with his earlier and much better work that was very much a fan of but all that is now lost in this latest album.
  19. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This truly might be one of the worst albums I have ever heard. I understand that people used to like Eminem when he was considered edgy, but he has turned into nothing but awful. I have never heard anybody complain more in my life than this guy. I would be alright with it if some form of wordplay existed in his albums, but that is not even present. I guess I would not mind the lack of wordplay if he was able to hold a thought for more than two lines. At no point does he tell a story throughout the entire album. He simply raps for two lines about someone who wronged him in some stupid way, and then moves on to the next person who made him a "victim" in some way. Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    Eminem attempted to make a comeback after Relapse (Which I Think Is better Than Recovery). It was a great comeback he performed with 2 #1 hits and a seven week #1 album run. But for me it was an Aight album. I really love this album but i would take Relapse Over Recovery Any day of the Year.
  21. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Overated as getting good ratings beacuse he is white. He can't rap for Stop illeagaly downloaing his albums and get Kanye West's, as he is the best.
  22. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Stunning...the best album since maybe The Eminem show. And I'm not just talking Eminem.....

    Can't match the IMPACT of MMLP1 (you can't be the first man on the moon ever since Neil Armstrong went there) but in terms of this man's genius this could be #1.
  23. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    this may not be the best eminem album but not the worst album yet.Any person can keep on listening 2 diss album continuosly without skipping a track not a great stuff but still its shady back again..
  24. Aug 18, 2010
    7
    Good but not great. Too much pop for my taste. Better than "Relapse", that's for sure. I'm glad that he is still making some good songs. Album certainly exceeded my expectations.
  25. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Recovery is a pretty good jump from Relapse. No crazy accents thrown around and he doesnt over do his joking around. Eminem hasnt been this fierce since The Eminem Show. It does bear some of the moodiness of Encore but it isnt mellowed over. While Eminem's fierce flow, crazy & thought provoking lyrics are a plus here, Recovery still has a major flaw. The finger shouldnt be pointed at Eminem's performance, but at his more at his guest list. Rihanna's singing is decent, but on an Eminem song, she just seems out of place. While Pink's cameo isnt as out-there as Rihanna's, its honestly nothing special either. Eminem wouldve been better off using sampled hooks or underground, unknown singers (Kobe was a slight plus). Lil Wayne's cameo is nothing special at all either. He brings his usual, played out structured punchline flow, making it seem like he's not saying anything he hasnt said already. Eminem totally outshines him on "No Love", putting his speedy, comical, and partially fierce flow next to Wayne who sounds either delibertly high or bored. That song wouldve been PERFECT for a Bad Meets Evil reunion. Expand
  26. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Eminem is back. With a much stronger album than his last 2. And you can tell the reason its so different from relapse isnt because of its poor reviews. its because like all his albums it reflects his life and what is going on in it. Mr. Mathers is starting to mature. and the product could not be more pleasing. sick beats with some of the most complex verses ive ever seen make this album a must have. Mr. Mathers, Please continue to tell us your life story because it is a damn good one Expand
  27. Jul 21, 2011
    5
    I have no shame in saying that I liked Relapse better. Lyrically, Eminem has improved since Relapse, but in numerous other aspects, Recovery is a downgrade. The production values are weaker this time around, as Dr. Dre only produced one song (So Bad), so the strong bass and percussion are missing. The songs are mostly cliche soft rock beats, with annoying synthesized percussion, produced by DJ's. The album overall sounds monochromatic and uniform. From beginning to finish, it is a noise album where Eminem screams in a monotone from track 1 to track 17. Despite a new theme of self-awakening, the album still has some very profane tracks (which did not generate any controversy from the media which largely ignored this), which is good that he was not being self-righteous or pretentious. But this serious side of him does seem phony, as he essentially acts as if he is too strong to laugh or smile. While Eminem, thankfully, finally decided to let go of the fart jokes, the album is still laden with outdated pop culture references and silly metaphors. Half of the tracks on the album are not really about anything in particular, but rather just random freestyles. While Eminem is on the right track lyrically, and in terms of delivery, he is in a dilemma where he is simply running out of things to talk about. But most importantly, the fans are happy. From a critical standpoint, this album is a setback, but if you like the new Eminem, go and buy his CD. Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    Ive noticed somtimes critics don't appreciate great ablums untill a few years pass by. The Marshall Mathers LP got an okay pretty good 79 when it came out but now its considered a classic! Recovery is his best album since The Eminem Show. Relapse was much too silly but now Eminems serious he is spitting more impressive rhymes. There are onlly a few weak tracks (only for Eminem's standard) that aren't that bad they are pretty ok but the better tracks are amzing lyricaly and they cover about 90 percent of the whole album. Even the mainstream songls like love the way you lie are impressive Expand
  29. NJR
    Nov 3, 2010
    6
    To put it simply, a major disappointment, all of Em's "Mainstream fans" will love this one because he uses his proper voice, but as far as Hip-Hop goes, the album is weak, the production is pretty awful, Em's delivery gets seriously boring, his tone does not change at all in the album and lyrically the album is very predictable and corny. The reason I give the album a 6 is simply because of his flow, which has never let him down, but honestly these last 8 years have just been disappointment after disappointment for us real Shady fans, I just hope to god that someday he can return to the form he showed from 99 to 02. Expand
  30. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    Lots of people are giving it a 10 unconsciously. In reality, it deserves a 7 because some of the content is repetitive, the nasal delivery can get annoying, and the singing isn't all that good, but I applaud him to his vocals shine through and not use auto-tune to cover it up. But still, the biggest problem is abysmal production, other then the Dre, Bo1da, and Blaze tracks, it's not very quality. Lyrically, it's an excellent album and his flow is back to being normal and his rapid fire delivery as back. It's a good introspective rap album. It's his best album since he got hooked on drugs (or the bad half of Encore). There are no real weak but the album mostly consists of average tracks, and there are a some of good tracks, and a few excellent tracks. But, by Eminem's standards, it's not classic, but a worthy and necessary addition to his collection. Buy: Space Bound, Not Afraid, Talkin' 2 Myself Download: Cinderella Man, On Fire, So Bad, You're Never Over, Almost Famous Skip: N/A Rapping (Lyrics and Flow): 9/10 Vocals (Singing): 6.5/10 Production: 6/10 Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. No matter how cleverly he's rhyming, which varies, he could use subject matter beyond married-to-the-game and his traditional obsessions. But with Shady in the shadows, rarely are these themes lifted by Em's long-recessive sense of play.
  2. Much of Recovery centers around such themes as romantic devotion and anxiety, but the resulting material rings unsurprisingly hollow.
  3. Sadly, a piecemeal approach to production (Dr Dre has just one credit) leaves the album lacking an abiding mood and drowning in fashionable soft-rock samples.