Recovery

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 778 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 778

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Em should have hung up his hat a long time ago.

    He isn't a rapper anymore, he's a pop star.

    This album was the first of his that I have to say I will never recommend to anyone, ever.
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This truly might be one of the worst albums I have ever heard. I understand that people used to like Eminem when he was considered edgy, but he has turned into nothing but awful. I have never heard anybody complain more in my life than this guy. I would be alright with it if some form of wordplay existed in his albums, but that is not even present. I guess I would not mind the lack ofThis truly might be one of the worst albums I have ever heard. I understand that people used to like Eminem when he was considered edgy, but he has turned into nothing but awful. I have never heard anybody complain more in my life than this guy. I would be alright with it if some form of wordplay existed in his albums, but that is not even present. I guess I would not mind the lack of wordplay if he was able to hold a thought for more than two lines. At no point does he tell a story throughout the entire album. He simply raps for two lines about someone who wronged him in some stupid way, and then moves on to the next person who made him a "victim" in some way. Expand
  3. DavidN
    Jun 23, 2010
    2
    An obvious attempt to get the pop fans back on side. The promotion behind this album is mecca. The content is typical: MM whining about everything then denying it, all to the sound of dreary, looping beats. I want to be impressed, not shocked.
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    3
    The people who give this album a high rating do not know the true Eminem-The Real Slim Shady. The once controversial and trashy rapper who everyone loved to hate has turned into America's sweetheart. His flow is still there, the amount of syllables he can fit in a bar is still amazing, but his "maturity" is nothing more than an act to gain approval from the contemporaries. I understand asThe people who give this album a high rating do not know the true Eminem-The Real Slim Shady. The once controversial and trashy rapper who everyone loved to hate has turned into America's sweetheart. His flow is still there, the amount of syllables he can fit in a bar is still amazing, but his "maturity" is nothing more than an act to gain approval from the contemporaries. I understand as an artist one must grow, but it's past Eminem's prime. He's a man who has been down "that road", and he exclaims his redemption in this album. I praise Eminem for his growth as a human being, but I think it's time for him to put down the mic. Expand
  5. CalebR.
    Jun 23, 2010
    1
    His rapping sounds extremely forced. His flow is no longer 'fluid.' The choruses are incredibly cheesy/cliche/corny. He needs to stop singing. This is the public's perception of rap. This is far from authentic rap - this is more pop music then rap - but the masses will end up thinking this is rap because they are uninformed/don't really know much about music in His rapping sounds extremely forced. His flow is no longer 'fluid.' The choruses are incredibly cheesy/cliche/corny. He needs to stop singing. This is the public's perception of rap. This is far from authentic rap - this is more pop music then rap - but the masses will end up thinking this is rap because they are uninformed/don't really know much about music in general. This is a corporate product made to make 'mad bank' ect. Expand
  6. BenD.
    Jun 22, 2010
    0
    If he was black, no one would listen.
  7. DanJ.
    Jun 22, 2010
    2
    Sloppy, self-indulgent, incoherent garbage; so far away from a return to form it makes me want to cry.
  8. RezJ
    Jun 28, 2010
    1
    What just happened to his music? there's only one track that you can listen and it's his collaboration with Rihanna. the one hi did with P!nk is the worst track ever but i really wanted more from Eminem. they kinda know him as "King of Rap" but "Recovery" can ruin his career.
  9. JamesK
    Jun 23, 2010
    0
    Honestly, Eminem has once again succeeded in making me embarrassed to listen to hip-hop. His lyrics are filled with hate and shame that he has no reason to have. Seeing the user score for this album makes me disgusted as well. Has the real hip-hop really died?
  10. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Overated as getting good ratings beacuse he is white. He can't rap for Stop illeagaly downloaing his albums and get Kanye West's, as he is the best.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    This album is but another disappointment, not one of the songs was enjoyable on this. His flow seems strange, he doesn't really rap its just like yelling the entire time with terrible rhymes. Though most would disagree I believe this album is worse than Relapse, I got the impression he wasn't even trying with his lyrics. If your a fan listen to it but you'll be disappointed.
  12. Nov 8, 2013
    2
    Compared to his other albums, this is better than Encore, but not as good as his early stuff. All he does on this album is screaming rap lyrics and repeating the same subject matter on almost all of his song. The only song that I legitimatley enjoyed was "On Fire". People who are saying that this is his best album since Eminem Show is dead wrong.
  13. Aug 14, 2013
    3
    I do not like this album. Eminem made a bad recovery, because his albums before are way better. I can't even stand to listen to some of these songs ("No Love"), and it is just a train wreck.
  14. Sep 23, 2014
    3
    Clearly, the Eminem dick riding can't stop, won't stop. I do like some of the songs, and as an unbiased listener, I couldn't get through the fact that the entire album is a complaint box to his listeners.
    .
    Eminem is definitely one of the greatest rappers out there, but his biggest problem, as of recently, is his songwriting. The entire album feels like a melodramatic whiny face trying
    Clearly, the Eminem dick riding can't stop, won't stop. I do like some of the songs, and as an unbiased listener, I couldn't get through the fact that the entire album is a complaint box to his listeners.
    .
    Eminem is definitely one of the greatest rappers out there, but his biggest problem, as of recently, is his songwriting. The entire album feels like a melodramatic whiny face trying to re-connect with his glory days. There are some bright moments like 'Almost Famous', where he tells a detailed story about his rise to glory in the mainstream, as well as Cinderella Man, where Em reasserts his lyrical finesse and why he should reclaim the 'greatest rapper alive' belt. Aside from these two tracks, nothing stands out. The singles off this album are incomprehensibly annoying and lazy, and 'Love the Way You Lie' may be the worst Eminem song ever. Cold Wind Blows finds Eminem trying to shock people again with homophobia and misogyny, just for the sake of doing it, so people think that he's returned to his old self. Talkin' 2 Myself finds Eminem jealous of other rappers making a buzz in the mainstream, like Kanye and Lil Wayne, and he's afraid (Not Afraid my ass) that he would have his ass handed to him. I think you'd be okay Em, considering Kanye doesn't do dis tracks and Lil Wayne hasn't been competent since 2008.
    Keep fighting the good fight, Eminem Stan's. Recovery is not good. It is bad.
    Expand
  15. Dec 27, 2014
    3
    What's the matter ? Uninspired ? Further more beginning to be commercial as **** with featuring we didn't want. Pretty disgusting album actually. Poor
  16. Feb 26, 2015
    2
    Eminem was going to earn money through this album.

    Yeah, he earned it.

    But.. where is 'sincere', 'real' Eminem?

    Couldn't find it ya.

    Although many Stans appreciated this album, I think that it's over for Eminem..
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. No matter how cleverly he's rhyming, which varies, he could use subject matter beyond married-to-the-game and his traditional obsessions. But with Shady in the shadows, rarely are these themes lifted by Em's long-recessive sense of play.
  2. Much of Recovery centers around such themes as romantic devotion and anxiety, but the resulting material rings unsurprisingly hollow.
  3. Sadly, a piecemeal approach to production (Dr Dre has just one credit) leaves the album lacking an abiding mood and drowning in fashionable soft-rock samples.