Red

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 551 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    3
    With this album, Taylor Swift has proven that she has become a niche artist. Where once, she walked the line between country and pop, Swift has shifted almost completely to the latter. What has always been her strength is her songwriting, which has made up for a complete lack of original material. In this bloated album, the number of times her lyrics shine through is at a minimum. TracksWith this album, Taylor Swift has proven that she has become a niche artist. Where once, she walked the line between country and pop, Swift has shifted almost completely to the latter. What has always been her strength is her songwriting, which has made up for a complete lack of original material. In this bloated album, the number of times her lyrics shine through is at a minimum. Tracks like "22" and "Starlight" are bland and empty seeming to follow more the likes of Ke$ha and Cher Lloyd than any of Swift''s previous tracks. The bright moments, few as they were, remind us of what she could be and in particular, "All Too Well," "I Almost Do," "The Last Time," and "Sad Beautiful Tragic" stand out. Otherwise, it is an overdone, under-executed album, which is a shame because Swift is capable of much more. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    I am at a complete loss for words on how angry I am at the fact that trash like this gets successful. The fact that this horrendous waste of time debuted at #1 is sickening. The fact that this is the biggest opening week for a country album makes me want to do something that I can't even write down on here because it could get me banned from this website. The fact that this album is moreI am at a complete loss for words on how angry I am at the fact that trash like this gets successful. The fact that this horrendous waste of time debuted at #1 is sickening. The fact that this is the biggest opening week for a country album makes me want to do something that I can't even write down on here because it could get me banned from this website. The fact that this album is more successful than even Brad Paisley's most successful album makes me dumbfounded. I think it is time to stop all of this nonsense before it gets out of hand. I hope Taylor Swift does not have another successful album in history. I hope the stupid idiot teenage girls will not fall for this piece of **** and instead pay attention to something that is actually not grating on the soul. Her voice makes me want to HURT myself. It's completely whiny, fake, processed, and horrendous. Her writing is TERRIBLE. How could any of you people on here give her praise on the songwriting on any of her miserable bubble-gum country/pop albums? It's all about the same bull****. "OH MY BOYFRIEND BROKE UP WITH ME SO I'M GONNA WHINE LIKE AN EMO AND SLIT MY THROAT AND START CRYING LIKE IN THE MUSIC VIDEO FOR WHITE HORSE" "OH MY FRIENDS HAD SUCH A FUN TIME IN HIGH SCHOOL CRUSHING ON BOYS AND WHINING" "OMG THAT BOY IS SO HOT BUT THERE'S ANOTHER GIRL OUT THERE THAT LOVES HIM SO IM JUST GONNA GO AND WRITE THIS ANNOYING SONG ABOUT IT AND MAYBE THEN PEOPLE WILL WANT TO CARE ABOUT ME!" I never really go this crazy on any of my albums reviews, but I've come here to put all of this praise to an end. Taylor Swift, please, if you're reading this, please stop and actually write something good. Oh, wait- that will never happen, because Taylor Swift is a miserable HACK. She is a horrendous... HORRENDOUS singer, and she is a terrible songwriter. She doesn't deserve any of the accolades that she is given. She doesn't deserve any of the success she is given. This album doesn't deserve the high-selling opening week that it had. It deserves to be abandoned in a burnt log cabin and never brought up in the media again until Judgement Day. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    I'm Sorry To Say This Is My Least Favorite Album Of 2012.. She Cant Sing, Some Of The Worst Lyrics I'v Ever Heard.. 1 Word For Taylor Swift's RED: Overrated
  4. Dec 15, 2012
    3
    Taylor's newest album is nothing like her previous ones. In the past, she had her own style of song, but with Red she adopted the stop motion jerky rhythm of other, lesser singers, and it does not work well with her voice at all. I highly recommend listening to the tracks on Red on www.youtube.com or www.vevo.com before you buy the album or any of the tracks on it.
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    I fail to see what's supposed to be so good about this record. It doesn't deserve all the hype. Bland and just boring in general. There's much better country, let alone pop, to be found.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did.
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    Taylor Swift! OMG drop acid to my ears, shoot me in the head, but spare me from the dumbness of this woman. Crap music, crap personality, a dumb person, sad! People support this freak with money, but this is how masses think...
  8. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    One for effort. This album is a huge disappointment to me. "We're Never Ever Getting Back Together" proves my point. She used to actually write her songs, with incredible lyrics! This album is still Taylor Swift, but she is doing what everyone else is doing; she's just listening to the record label. Her music is getting more generic everyday.
  9. Jun 28, 2014
    1
    Huge disappointment ! "Red" is even much worse than "Fearless", which i fisrt thought was Taylor Swift's gigantic step-down from "Speak Now", but now with this album, Taylor Swift is clearly showing that there is no litmits for her awful taste of writing and composing songs. It's just somehow getting worse and a lot wrose as time gose by, apparently she is no longer able to maintain theHuge disappointment ! "Red" is even much worse than "Fearless", which i fisrt thought was Taylor Swift's gigantic step-down from "Speak Now", but now with this album, Taylor Swift is clearly showing that there is no litmits for her awful taste of writing and composing songs. It's just somehow getting worse and a lot wrose as time gose by, apparently she is no longer able to maintain the excellent performance that we saw in "Speak Now" Expand
  10. Jul 21, 2016
    3
    This is kind of a strange album. It's basically just another country(ish) pop album in the same vein as her previous records, but now with a sprinkling of straight-up pop songs. Even though these latter songs don't really jibe with the rest of the album, they are what saves Red from being a complete failure, to be honest. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, for example, is actually aThis is kind of a strange album. It's basically just another country(ish) pop album in the same vein as her previous records, but now with a sprinkling of straight-up pop songs. Even though these latter songs don't really jibe with the rest of the album, they are what saves Red from being a complete failure, to be honest. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, for example, is actually a solid track. It's fun and catchy and memorable, but it also highlights just how not fun and catchy and memorable most of the other songs are. There are just too many dull ballads and too few hooks, and really there's not much of a progression from her previous albums. I feel like once you've heard one Taylor Swift song, you've heard them all, and Red just continues that trend. It's bland, sappy, middle of the road, and drags on way too long.

    Standout tracks: We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, I Knew You Were Trouble (but that's about it)
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Hearing Taylor Swift sing makes you remember these things, how you can wax poetic one day about the efficacy of love to change lives permanently for the better, and the next rail about how love leads only to pain and heartache.
  2. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    More varied in its offerings, but also more disjointed than her previous work, Red sounds like a transitional album for Swift.