Red

Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 668 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 122
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2017
    10
    I love the way how she delivers every song! In fact, Taylor Swift is the one and the only artist ever to produce a song by HERSELF not only aI love the way how she delivers every song! In fact, Taylor Swift is the one and the only artist ever to produce a song by HERSELF not only a song but a WHOLE ALUM. Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Taylor Swift despite how "in" it is to hate her proves once again that she is one of the most talented songwriters/composers of our time.Taylor Swift despite how "in" it is to hate her proves once again that she is one of the most talented songwriters/composers of our time. There is not a single song on this album that I would even consider mediocre, they are all exceptional. While Ms. Swift might be a bit overexposed by all the not-so-successful relationships she had in recent times, it does not take away from the quality of this album at all. She writes about her life, her experiences and it si shared by millions of your girls all over the world. I'm amazed that despite being a 36 yrs old divorced "grown up" man, I am also in love with this album and the feeling of youth, love that it radiates. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift has showed with this album that she is a musical force that is here to stay. Her ability to capture her state of mind at aTaylor Swift has showed with this album that she is a musical force that is here to stay. Her ability to capture her state of mind at a particular moment, match it with an insanely catchy melody and then allow listeners a glimpse of it while not being overly navel gazing or overly introspective is unmatched.

    Say what you will, her ability to churn out solid songs with frightening dependability will see her in good stead for years to come and ensure that she does not remain a footnote in music history.

    Those who decry her seemingly immature subject matter don't get it. Taylor is the consummate truth-teller in her songs. She does not put on a false persona or fake a situation in order for emo points. She tells her life in her lyrics and allows her listeners in on her private inner thought-life.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    Taylor Swift's best album, no doubts. It's mature and the songs are incredible, there are only two of them that I didn't like but it still incredible.
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    Love the songs '22', I knew you were trouble' and 'We are never ever getting back together', but the rest of the songs are too generic for myLove the songs '22', I knew you were trouble' and 'We are never ever getting back together', but the rest of the songs are too generic for my taste. All in all, great album, generic songs though. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself.huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 122 User Reviews