Red - Taylor Swift
Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 88
  2. Negative: 10 out of 88
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    RED
    The album is a blend of country, country pop and alternative songs.
    SHE IS STILL COUNTRY - every song has country influences and you can
    RED
    The album is a blend of country, country pop and alternative songs.
    SHE IS STILL COUNTRY - every song has country influences and you can hear them. Country is defined as story telling and you learn so much about her life from the 19 songs (including Deluxe Version). People that slate this album aren't being fair. Its her 4th album and you cant expect her to stick just to country she has to expand and grow as an artist and this album showcases her move into new country influenced genres.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great effort and full of surprise! Heart-touching country ballad - like I ALMOST DO and BEGIN AGAIN; The song with the best lyrics (descriptive/narrative) - like ALL TOO WELL; Funny country song - like STAY STAY STAY; Best country-pop stuff (a good combination of Country music and Pop/Rock music) - like RED; Good Duet - like EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED; Surprising breakthrough - like I KNEW YOU WERE TROUBLE and WE ARE NEVER EVER GETTING BACK TOGETHER. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Taylor Swift may not have a great voice, however she is a good singer and especially a very good songwriter. This is, without any doubt theTaylor Swift may not have a great voice, however she is a good singer and especially a very good songwriter. This is, without any doubt the best Taylor's album till date. We find in some beautiful romantic songs the talent for the lyrics like in "All Too Well", "Begin Again" and "I Almost Do". But we can find too, some very powerful pop songs like "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together", "I Knew You Were Trouble" and "22". Taylor is very much pop and I don't think that's a bad thing, her style is country pop and she do it very well. And to finish, this is absolutely the most mature Taylor's album ever. Collapse
  5. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    One of the best album, this transition from almost complete pop pro Taylor made great music, good to hear and in a soft voice like hers do notOne of the best album, this transition from almost complete pop pro Taylor made great music, good to hear and in a soft voice like hers do not have to get sick from that album, so good.
    Highlights: I Knew You Were Trouble and Holy Ground
    Lows: Treacherous (Demo) and The Moment I Knew
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    A simply and cute mix of country pop, each song makes you relax, dance and sing alone, a very good work, I'm surprised, this album show musicA simply and cute mix of country pop, each song makes you relax, dance and sing alone, a very good work, I'm surprised, this album show music of every times. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself.huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews