Remixes 2: 81-11 - Depeche Mode

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 28, 2011
    As far as excessive, inessential, borderline-cash-ins go, this one's a keeper.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    This anthology of both new and classic mixes reminds us, if nothing else, that Depeche Mode remain an inspiring and influential force in modern music. [Jul 2011, p.91]
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    The more successful versions tend to be of recent, less iconic songs--John The Revelator, Fragile Tension--but, despite the invention throughout hours of listening, not one version matches the original. [Jul 2011, p.112]
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    The compilation was offered on CD in three-disc and one-disc sets. The latter is more like a sampler with no discernible method to the selection process, and those who take that option will miss out on the Clarke and Wilder mixes, as well as numerous highlights.
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    Mostly, though, this is a depressing reminder of the distance between what Depeche Mode once were and what they've become.
  6. Jul 28, 2011
    An album made for judicious online cherry-picking. [Jul 2011, p.126]
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    How many bands in the world can release a 3cd REMIXES ALBUM??? How many bands in the world can make an excellent REMIXES album??? The answer can be only one. Long life to Depeche Mode. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    For those who never bought ALL the singles to get ALL the mixes, this is a great start. Also, it has some awesome new mixes as well. The new remixes of A Question of Time, Never Let Me Down Again and Puppets are amazing. Plus, Vince Clark returns to remix Behind the Wheel and Alan Wilder adds 2 versions of In Chains. There are some misses on here though such as the remixes for Fragile Tension or Freestate. But, just don't upload them to your iPod. Full Review »